Thread: Spectravideo SVI-318, saved from the dump, revived, and upgraded.

Country
    Malta
    Region:
    Xghajra
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

Default Spectravideo SVI-318, saved from the dump, revived, and upgraded.

Hello everyone, sorry for the long post, but I was thinking it might be better if I write all I did somewhere, and this seems to be a good spot just as any considering I don't have any blogs or youtube channels (or video editing skills) or stuff like that.

Ok, so here's something I wanted to share which I think might be of some help to other users in the future. I know I tried to find information online to help me work with this, but information was too sparse and not directly related to the issues or hardware that I needed to fix. This way it will be maybe cached by google or by the internet archive. Please keep in mind I am no expert in this field, I never ever had any power or electronics training. Ever. All I know is what I looked up on the internet, through trial and error, and through disassembling stuff trying to understand what's going on in the background. So please try to keep the criticism to a level where people can learn from if you really feel the need to indulge in some I'd be very happy with any constructive criticism you might come forward with.

I got hold of a Spectravideo SVI-318 from my friend who said he apparently saved it from outside, on the side of the street waiting for the garbage collecter to pick it up. I had never ever heard of this computer in Malta, let alone used one, but decided this is something I want to experience, look at, and if necessary fix. So when he offered it, I knew I just couldn't give up the opportunity. There was the outside box, half the polystyrene, the unit, and miraculously a small red joystick! There was no power supply, no datasette unit, no cables. Nothing else.