Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Original CIA chip (391078-01) - not PLCC, for A1200

  1. #1
    Drag0nFly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Country
    Norway
    Region:
    Bergen
    Posts
    55
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default Original CIA chip (391078-01) - not PLCC, for A1200

    Hi,

    (disregard the title for this as it is misleading, thanks @Sveta. It should more accurately say "not PLCC socket")

    I am looking for an original (to be soldered) CIA chip (391078-01), with contact pins, for an Amiga 1200 motherboard. This is in order to use an adapter over the chip to provide wireless USB keyboard functionality (had mine placed in a socket as part of an upgrade, due to various miscommunication with the seller of the adapter which indicated that it was for the *keyboard MPU* on U13 and not the CIA-A chip on U7). As such I am in a bit of a dilemma and I see replacing the chip in the PLCC socket (and removing the socket) as the only option to fix this.

    Appreciate any thoughts and offers.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2019-11-30 at 14.02.20.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	16.3 KB 
ID:	151737
    Last edited by Drag0nFly; 2nd December 2019 at 17:05. Reason: another correction

  2. #2
    BANNED Sveta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Country
    Czech Republic
    Region:
    Ustecky kraj
    Posts
    6,592
    Feedback
    790 (100%)

    Default

    Hi,

    PM with offer. Btw. A1200 has only PLCC version 8520 ICs. (your title is wrong "not plcc, for A1200")

    Regards, Sveta
    Last edited by Sveta; 30th November 2019 at 13:33.

  3. #3
    Drag0nFly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Country
    Norway
    Region:
    Bergen
    Posts
    55
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    Just to further clarify, as all the chips I am seeing for sale are for use with mounting in a socket; I need the type with pins for soldering onto a PCB. I.e, *not* this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3438.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	203.9 KB 
ID:	151756

    In other words, an identical chip to what is on every unmodified A1200 mainboard (first picture in this thread), as mounting an adapter on these which sit in a socket is nigh impossible as the contact pins are not exposed.

  4. #4
    BANNED Sveta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Country
    Czech Republic
    Region:
    Ustecky kraj
    Posts
    6,592
    Feedback
    790 (100%)

    Default

    Hi,

    Yes. I have PLCC 8520 IC On your photos is 8520 PLCC in extra PLCC socket. This is not original.

    All A1200 MB has original/factory direct soledered without this socket.

    PM. Photos via PM sent.

    Regards, Sveta
    Last edited by Sveta; 1st December 2019 at 19:45.

  5. #5
    Drag0nFly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Country
    Norway
    Region:
    Bergen
    Posts
    55
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    @Sveta, thanks for the offer and your help, but I feel we're talking past one another here. The only reason I wanted to replace the chip was to use it with an adapter, which is impossible when it sits in a socket (hence the reference to the original CIA chip and the first picture in the thread). So I would need to de-solder the socket and solder in a CIA with contact pins (sourced from an unmodified A1200 mainboard) and put that in place instead.

    See below picture which shows USB-keyboard adapter mounted on top, on an unmodified non-socketed motherboard (piggyback, similar to Indievision for the Lisa chip). Also sent you a PM with this info.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3441.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	198.7 KB 
ID:	151757
    Last edited by Drag0nFly; 2nd December 2019 at 17:06.

  6. #6
    BANNED Sveta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Country
    Czech Republic
    Region:
    Ustecky kraj
    Posts
    6,592
    Feedback
    790 (100%)

    Default

    Hi,

    OMG

    You have on your A1200 PLCC 8520 in PLCC socket and this is due probably swap/fix with new 8520 BUT here is not possible plug any adapters on 8520 chip due socket. You must before unsoldered socket and soldered 8520 direct to board.

    8520 DIP is only for A500, CDTV or A3000, A2000

    Regards, Sveta
    Last edited by Sveta; 1st December 2019 at 20:04.

  7. #7
    Drag0nFly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Country
    Norway
    Region:
    Bergen
    Posts
    55
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    Exactly. (and again, this was primarily due to the seller of the keyboard adapter indicating it would mount over U13 (mpu), not U7, otherwise I would have kept the CIA-A as-is)

  8. #8
    Drag0nFly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Country
    Norway
    Region:
    Bergen
    Posts
    55
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    So if anyone has chips they've desoldered as part of an upgrade to socketed chips, do let me know. It would help tremendously, as I do need to use a wireless keyboard with this A1200.
    (I assume there are no NOS stock for these with contact pins underneath and will have to be fresh working pulls...)

  9. #9
    Amibayer! drbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Country
    Sweden
    Region:
    Helsingborg
    Age
    36
    Posts
    698
    Feedback
    57 (100%)

    Default

    You have a fully working A1200 now with an CIA 8520 in a socket, right?

    All you have to do is remove the chip from its socket, de-solder the socket and then re-solder the CIA you just removed directly to the motherboard.

    The CIA in a socket is EXACTLY the same as the ones you solder directly to the mainboard.

    There are only two variants of the CIA, Either the big DIP one (A500/2000/3000) or The smal square (A600/1200/4000)
    A4000DT: CSPPC 604e@330, 060@60, Mediator PCI 4000D, R9200 256MB, CVPPC, IndiAGA MKII, Deneb, PCI NIC+Sound, 144MB, Intel 40GB SATA SSD, AmigaOS 3.9/4.0/4.1
    A1200D: Blizzard1220@28MHz, 8MB, IndiAGA MKII, AmigaOS 3.9 A4000D: 030@25, IndiAGA MKI, 8MB, AmigaOS 3.9 A3000D: 030@25, 16MB, AmigaOS 3.9

  10. #10
    Drag0nFly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Country
    Norway
    Region:
    Bergen
    Posts
    55
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    Aha, really(!) From looking at the picture of the A1200 mainboard it seemed like it had pins underneath (solder-through). Obviously this would make the whole effort simpler for sure; and I also have spare CIAs and other chips in this format – thanks @drbrain. (Now I feel stupid!)

    - - - Updated - - -

    And this is natually a last-resort, as the benefit of having it mounted in a socket is very useful. This is good news as I also was thinking to replace the Lisa chip on a different, 1d, motherboard (which glitches *hard*/loses video output at the end of Virtual Dreams & Fairlight's "Love" demo, during the end screen render), which means I have spare NOS chips for that as well (assuming it actually is a fault w/ Lisa).
    Why did I think there were two different types? (wtf)

    Since there was a facepalm-deficiency above, I am including a couple more here to remedy the situation.
    Last edited by Drag0nFly; 2nd December 2019 at 20:06.

Similar Threads

  1. Closed Two CIA chip, 391078-02, A4000
    By Sld-SNaKe in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd November 2019, 17:50
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 20th August 2019, 15:48
  3. Closed Fat Gary (PLCC) custom chip
    By Zorro in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th February 2016, 20:05
  4. Wanted Paula chip PLCC package for A600 A1200 A4000
    By genny_flick in forum Amiga
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th February 2013, 17:34
  5. Found PLCC Chip remover to remove angus chip
    By limboy777 in forum Amiga
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 3rd February 2013, 20:30

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •