Akiko 32 - Amiga in miniITX format

ElrondMcbong

Country
Germany
Region
Bavaria
Just want to show you my "little" project: a "new" Amiga in miniITX format

As it is based on the Amiga CD32, it's name is Akiko 32.

I started in December 2018 with first drafts and now I built the 3rd prototype and it's working really good now :)
Matze helped me a lot with the CPLD code as this is my first project.
The IDE/Fastram part is based on the TF328 made by Stephen Leary.

akiko4.jpg

Specs:

- miniITX size (170x170mm), pc case compatible
- 68030 with 14MHz
- AGA chipset where Lisa, Alice, Paula and the DAC are placed in THT sockets
- Akiko Chip
- 2MB Chipram
- Experimental CD32/3.1.3 combined Kickstart
- IDE controller (Gayle compatible)
- 8MB Fastram
- Clockport
- "Custom-Chip" Florica
- 20 pin ATX power connector
- Connectors: Mouse, Joystick, Keyboard (A4000D style), Audio

I decided to use only SMD parts in 0805 or 1206 size. I think, this size can be soldered by hand very well.
Oh, and I don't like those resistor networks ;)
I replaced a few parts with newer ones, e.g. the resetgen and the OpAmp.

A few imagaes:

akiko11.jpgakiko13.jpgakiko14.jpgakiko16.jpgakiko18.jpgakiko19.jpg

Some of the images have been made during development ;)

The current prototype has still some problems:

- The power controller is not yet on the board as I decided to replace the NE555 switch with a power controller IC
- Power LED is not dimmed for active audio filter or at reset
- Pinout at the OpAmp is wrong
- Mouse/Joystick have to directions wrong
- Pinout for resetgen is wrong
- In theory, there is a floppy port, but I'm thinking of drop it in favor of other things
- Some traces have to be added from Florica to CPU
- Two mouting holes are too big and need adjustment

So, at the moment I'm working to get rid of all problems and try to remove all errors.
My plan is to open-source the whole thing when it's finished.

A case is also missing...

Great job! This looks amazing.

Some suggestions: