Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: A1200 Black Box Tower Project

  1. #1
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    40
    Posts
    21,522
    Feedback
    1015 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default A1200 Black Box Tower Project

    Hi All,

    Been a long time since I shared a project, almost going full circle here with this one!

    I recently bought Johnim's Blizzard 1260 and thought it deserved a little more than a Wedge A1200. Looking around for A1200 Towers used at first brought up the usual suspects such as the Elbox and EZ Z4 Towers however I found that Elbox now sell a brand new Tower, the Black Box 1200, I bought this along with a Mediator TX Black and a Radeon 9250.

    Here's the Hardware that will be going in the Tower:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191214_113904.jpg 
Views:	218 
Size:	145.9 KB 
ID:	152156

    A1200 + Blizzard 1260 + FastATA

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191214_113236.jpg 
Views:	221 
Size:	89.3 KB 
ID:	152155

    I have a few gripes with the build quality, it feels like a £50 tower and I'm sure that's what it would sell for if it wasn't adapted for an A1200, it does however come with all the bits you need such as keyboard adaptor, PSU and all connectors.

    Fitting all inside was a bit tricky to get all lined up, I had to experiment quite a bit with the spacers to get a square fit with the PCI card in place furthermore I'm not 100% pleased with the pressure put on the Blizzard by the case, they didn't think that through (it's pushed over a tad - this would make fitting a GREX difficult.)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191214_120057.jpg 
Views:	215 
Size:	100.8 KB 
ID:	152157

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191214_122112.jpg 
Views:	223 
Size:	111.2 KB 
ID:	152158

    The other small issue is the PSU doesn't fit back in very well however it was all functional on first power on so they (or I) must have done something right!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191214_123350.jpg 
Views:	217 
Size:	104.9 KB 
ID:	152159

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191214_123536.jpg 
Views:	212 
Size:	91.0 KB 
ID:	152160

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191214_125911.jpg 
Views:	214 
Size:	96.1 KB 
ID:	152154

    Next up - Setting the software

  2. #2
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    40
    Posts
    21,522
    Feedback
    1015 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I was a bit lost at first as it's been a while since I setup an RTG Graphics Card, I had forgotten how back to front the Mediator drivers are, but after a bit of fiddling I was able to setup a basic 640x480 RTG screen:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191214_130001.jpg 
Views:	35 
Size:	199.5 KB 
ID:	152161Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191214_131754.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	195.3 KB 
ID:	152162Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191214_140735.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	160.7 KB 
ID:	152163Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191214_141037.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	75.2 KB 
ID:	152164Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191214_141150.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	69.5 KB 
ID:	152165Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191214_142033.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	75.3 KB 
ID:	152166Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191214_142333.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	190.0 KB 
ID:	152167Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191214_142354.jpg 
Views:	25 
Size:	179.7 KB 
ID:	152168

    I was pleased to see the Radeon added some extra Fast Memory too, that's a nice touch. I just need to remember how to get the higher resolution modes working, I've got 800x600 32bit now so making progress...
    Last edited by fitzsteve; 14th December 2019 at 16:26.

  3. #3
    Damn these amiga bills keep adding up Amibayer! CrazyC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Kent
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,238
    Feedback
    33 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default

    Cool! It's good to see you back in the game Steve!
    A1200 (1D4) (Recapped by Bad_Ad84 in Nov 2012) -3.1 Roms,CWB 3.9, Blizzard 1260 (60mhz - Rev6 Latest Mask),SCSI Kit (SCSI-IDE Bridge + 8Gb CF), 256mb, Mediator + soundcard, USB, NIC, Voodoo 3. A1200 (1A) 3.0 Roms (recapped and modded by TheCorfiot in December 2015) Indy Mk 2, ACA1221 (Round the World), Best WB 1.3 8Gb CF. My Amibay Blog is here.

  4. #4
    Amibayer! timtheloon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Country
    United Kingdom, England
    Region:
    Hampshire
    Posts
    2,307
    Feedback
    137 (100%)

    Default

    Is that 1200 MB the one you got from me?

    Seen you declare interest on a M1 Killer but decided against it, I'm looking to use my M1 Killer with my 1200 Mediator TX Green Edition and Blizzard 1260 Just need someone to build this custom desk I want in my Man Cave first.
    Last edited by timtheloon; 14th December 2019 at 18:13.
    Happy New Year Retro Users


  5. #5
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    40
    Posts
    21,522
    Feedback
    1015 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by timtheloon View Post
    Is that 1200 MB the one you got from me?

    Seen you declare interest on a M1 Killer but decided against it, I'm looking to use my M1 Killer with my 1200 Mediator TX Green Edition and Blizzard 1260 Just need someone to build this custom desk I want in my Man Cave first.
    yeah it's your old mobo, all re-cappped now. Solid as a rock, done full 8hr days at shows. Only thing I've not dared try is the clockport! I will try and get a fake spider for my tower. The M1 didn't seem like a cost effective solution coupled with the lack of official support from the guy who done the drivers, some people have it working though. I'll definitely revisit if something cheaper comes up as it was a lot to gamble on might work, might not. Let me know how you get on with yours.

    Quote Originally Posted by CrazyC View Post
    Cool! It's good to see you back in the game Steve!
    Cheers mate, got a nice 720p screen rocking now so looking good over here

  6. #6
    Watson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Nottingham
    Posts
    30
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    Looks great Steve! ��

  7. #7
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    40
    Posts
    21,522
    Feedback
    1015 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Watson View Post
    Looks great Steve! ��
    Cheers! Glad to see you on the boards

  8. #8
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    860
    Feedback
    48 (100%)

    Default

    Top work there, Steve, as always
    A1200 B1260 80Mhz Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500
    A4000 CSMk2 G3 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 MOS | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 | PC Engine | CD32

  9. #9
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    40
    Posts
    21,522
    Feedback
    1015 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by trixster View Post
    Top work there, Steve, as always
    Thanks mate. Hoping to add sound, USB and network in due course and need to tidy the cables. Blizzard doesn't seem to need any cooling I noticed today it wasn't too hot to touch even after a couple of hours.

  10. #10
    Damn these amiga bills keep adding up Amibayer! CrazyC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Kent
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,238
    Feedback
    33 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default

    Yeah I am currently not cooling my 1260 either. If I cant get warp3d running I might drop the voodoo 3 and go for a cooler running radeon so i can lose the noisy pci exhaust fan.
    A1200 (1D4) (Recapped by Bad_Ad84 in Nov 2012) -3.1 Roms,CWB 3.9, Blizzard 1260 (60mhz - Rev6 Latest Mask),SCSI Kit (SCSI-IDE Bridge + 8Gb CF), 256mb, Mediator + soundcard, USB, NIC, Voodoo 3. A1200 (1A) 3.0 Roms (recapped and modded by TheCorfiot in December 2015) Indy Mk 2, ACA1221 (Round the World), Best WB 1.3 8Gb CF. My Amibay Blog is here.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Amiga A1200 Tower Project.
    By Ed.D in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 112
    Last Post: 10th March 2018, 18:30
  2. Wanted Black (CDTV) keyboard for A1200 project
    By Berry in forum Amiga
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th December 2013, 21:26
  3. Closed A1200 Tower Project
    By DavidP in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 14th June 2013, 07:53
  4. Closed A1200 Tower project
    By sjwaller in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 4th April 2012, 15:33
  5. My A1200 Black project
    By J.T.Kirk in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 1st October 2010, 23:12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •