Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: A1200 Black Box Tower Project

  1. #11
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    40
    Posts
    21,527
    Feedback
    1015 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrazyC View Post
    Yeah I am currently not cooling my 1260 either. If I cant get warp3d running I might drop the voodoo 3 and go for a cooler running radeon so i can lose the noisy pci exhaust fan.
    If you want to loan me the Voodoo I can see if Warp3D works on my setup. I'm surprised they haven't redone 3D drivers for classics though, OS4 has 3D on the radeon so it's a bit annoying but with the mediator they're 3rd party drivers. I need to get myself USB, sound and LAN at some point.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Lol I just search for some PCI cards and realise the Radeon I bought is actually 256mb. Sweet, I'll adjust my envarc settings for some more Ramz

  2. #12
    Damn these amiga bills keep adding up Amibayer! CrazyC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Kent
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,238
    Feedback
    33 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default

    Well I might get a radeon anyway and then let you play with the voodoo
    As I have the older mediator I dont have a spare slot to run both and need a 5v card I think. Might put a thread up.
    A1200 (1D4) (Recapped by Bad_Ad84 in Nov 2012) -3.1 Roms,CWB 3.9, Blizzard 1260 (60mhz - Rev6 Latest Mask),SCSI Kit (SCSI-IDE Bridge + 8Gb CF), 256mb, Mediator + soundcard, USB, NIC, Voodoo 3. A1200 (1A) 3.0 Roms (recapped and modded by TheCorfiot in December 2015) Indy Mk 2, ACA1221 (Round the World), Best WB 1.3 8Gb CF. My Amibay Blog is here.

  3. #13
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    860
    Feedback
    48 (100%)

    Default

    If it’s 256mb then it’s a 128bit Radeon, which is a good thing
    A1200 B1260 80Mhz Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500
    A4000 CSMk2 G3 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 MOS | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 | PC Engine | CD32

  4. #14
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    40
    Posts
    21,527
    Feedback
    1015 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by trixster View Post
    If it’s 256mb then it’s a 128bit Radeon, which is a good thing
    Yeah it was this one:

    http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...tor-compatible

    Good card I'm well pleased. Do you know if the DVI work on these or just the VGA?

  5. #15
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    860
    Feedback
    48 (100%)

    Default

    I think dvi should work with the elbox driver.

    I’m guessing that card is configured as 1x256mb rather than 2x128mb which means that from a ppc point of view (if you go that route) you’ve only got 256mb of the 512mb zorro window left to play with. Not an issue if your ppc board has less than 256mb ram but if you get a ragnarok then you’re missing out on ppc ram.
    A1200 B1260 80Mhz Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500
    A4000 CSMk2 G3 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 MOS | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 | PC Engine | CD32

  6. #16
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    40
    Posts
    21,527
    Feedback
    1015 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by trixster View Post
    I think dvi should work with the elbox driver.

    I’m guessing that card is configured as 1x256mb rather than 2x128mb which means that from a ppc point of view (if you go that route) you’ve only got 256mb of the 512mb zorro window left to play with. Not an issue if your ppc board has less than 256mb ram but if you get a ragnarok then you’re missing out on ppc ram.
    Cheers, I'll try with a DVI screen at some point. If I got a PPC card I would go for Voodoo anyway for the Warp3D.

    I setup the Tower in my spare room for some more tests today:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191215_153046.jpg 
Views:	122 
Size:	114.7 KB 
ID:	152256

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191215_153811.jpg 
Views:	125 
Size:	134.7 KB 
ID:	152257

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191215_153108.jpg 
Views:	124 
Size:	136.7 KB 
ID:	152255

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191215_153136.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	78.9 KB 
ID:	152258Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191215_153622.jpg 
Views:	25 
Size:	91.2 KB 
ID:	152259Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191215_153634.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	147.7 KB 
ID:	152260Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191215_153026.jpg 
Views:	25 
Size:	79.3 KB 
ID:	152261

    Getting Sound Card, Voodoo and Networking soon hopefully

  7. #17
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    40
    Posts
    21,527
    Feedback
    1015 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Some updates to this project, I have now installed Sound (FM801) Spider 2 USB and a Network Card, all setup and working now. Has taken me some time over Christmas to get everything how I want it and working but all working great, I have a Card reader mounted at the front hooked up to the internal USB port on the Spider with a small adapter I got from Amigakit. I managed to find a cable for the CD audio and confirmed working today all mixing with Paula & 16bit Audio, CD is hooked up to the internal AUX port and CD tracks were playing on T-Zer0 (After some fiddling around!)

    Very pleased with this build overall. Would be nice to have a Sonnet PPC card or Warp3D on the Radeon. I do have a Voodoo 3 2000 here but I like the Radeon setup, I don't think I'll mess with it.

    A few more pics, case closed for now:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191221_213401.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	125.8 KB 
ID:	152583
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191221_213039.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	87.7 KB 
ID:	152584Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191221_223442.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	127.2 KB 
ID:	152585
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191229_181124.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	175.9 KB 
ID:	152586Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20191229_181152.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	124.9 KB 
ID:	152587

  8. #18
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    40
    Posts
    21,527
    Feedback
    1015 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    My Killer Networks K1 arrived today, took a bit of messing around but managed to get it up and running!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20200113_191027.jpg 
Views:	65 
Size:	200.8 KB 
ID:	153077
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20200113_215818.jpg 
Views:	69 
Size:	130.7 KB 
ID:	153078
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20200113_190926.jpg 
Views:	64 
Size:	131.4 KB 
ID:	153076
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20200113_221212.jpg 
Views:	67 
Size:	190.0 KB 
ID:	153079

    Took a short Video running QuakeWOS, more tests tomorrow as it took all evening just to get it running!


  9. #19
    Amibayer! timtheloon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Country
    United Kingdom, England
    Region:
    Hampshire
    Posts
    2,310
    Feedback
    137 (100%)

    Default

    Happy Days Steve, I'll be asking you a few question when i sort out my build

    - - - Updated - - -

    I've added your achievement on EAB's Sonnet programming thread
    Last edited by timtheloon; 14th January 2020 at 00:02.
    Happy New Year Retro Users


  10. #20
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    40
    Posts
    21,527
    Feedback
    1015 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by timtheloon View Post
    Happy Days Steve, I'll be asking you a few question when i sort out my build

    - - - Updated - - -

    I've added your achievement on EAB's Sonnet programming thread
    Cheers bud - I'll pop over and say Hi. It seems to be running fine even with sound through the FM801 the only issue I have is that I can't run the USB and PPC at the same time or it hard locks up, this means I have to run the PPC Innit from script when I want to use it and/or disable USB first.

    Next job will be to install a Voodoo 3 and see if I can get Warp3D going...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Amiga A1200 Tower Project.
    By Ed.D in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 112
    Last Post: 10th March 2018, 18:30
  2. Wanted Black (CDTV) keyboard for A1200 project
    By Berry in forum Amiga
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th December 2013, 21:26
  3. Closed A1200 Tower Project
    By DavidP in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 14th June 2013, 07:53
  4. Closed A1200 Tower project
    By sjwaller in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 4th April 2012, 15:33
  5. My A1200 Black project
    By J.T.Kirk in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 1st October 2010, 23:12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •