Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Need Help on a Vortex Golden Gate 486slc/25

  1. #1
    Pior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    California
    Posts
    140
    Feedback
    15 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Need Help on a Vortex Golden Gate 486slc/25

    I was looking to upgrade my Vortex Golden Gate 486slc. I have two different cpu chips and was wondering which one of the two would be the best option and if I need any other special software or need to change anything else on the board.
    The two chips I have is a CX486SLC2-50MP and a TI486SXLC2-G50-PQ. Are they the same, if not what are the differences. I will take any help on this..

  2. #2
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,022
    Feedback
    55 (100%)

    Default

    Hi pior,

    I have done this upgrade on my GoldenGate 486SLC2.

    the TI486SXLC-G50-PQ is the better chip as it has 8K L1 cache compared to 1K on the CX486SLC2. This makes a high difference to the boards overall performance even though both chips can clock-double to 50Mhz. These 386SX-class processors have 486 instruction sets but they are limited by a 16bit external memory bus, so the additional cache on the TI makes a huge difference for games which require memory-bandwidth, such as Doom.

    you need to enable the clock-doubling and cache with software

    I can’t remember where the correct software came from but it is attached to a post in a thread on this forum. this line in autoexec.bat activates the clock doubling to 50Mhz and the cache:

    cache486 2+

    /edit software is here, bottom of post #7

    http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...-swap-question
    Last edited by trixster; 24th July 2020 at 11:12.
    A1200 B1260 Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500 | AA3000+
    A4000 CSMk2 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 XVI | PC Engine | CD32

  3. #3
    Pior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    California
    Posts
    140
    Feedback
    15 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Thank you That was a great help

  4. #4
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,022
    Feedback
    55 (100%)

    Default

    There is also a dram optimiser which is in an archive called FASTDRAM.zip which you can google. This contains qdram.com which seems to speed up the dram refresh. Benchmark speeds seem only fractionally higher but Doom is perceptibly more responsive.
    A1200 B1260 Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500 | AA3000+
    A4000 CSMk2 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 XVI | PC Engine | CD32

  5. #5
    Pior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    California
    Posts
    140
    Feedback
    15 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    OK thanks for the info on the FASTDRAM.zip. I will check it out.

    I solder on the
    TI486SXLC-G50-PQ and it works great alot faster once I added and enable the clock-doubling and cache software. What a difference

  6. #6
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,022
    Feedback
    55 (100%)

    Default

    Superb! Good work

    have you experimented by swapping the goldengate oscillator? A problem with the GG is that both cpu and bus derive their clock from the one oscillator, so I do not know how far the board can be over-clocked before the bus and ram start to fall over. The commodore bridgeboards have separate crystals for cpu and bus.
    A1200 B1260 Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500 | AA3000+
    A4000 CSMk2 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 XVI | PC Engine | CD32

  7. #7
    Milesunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Region:
    Bristol
    Posts
    159
    Feedback
    8 (100%)

    Default

    So I have had a TI 486SLC2 replace the 386 chip on my GG. Out of interest what speed should the Crystal be? My card is recognised but won’t run coming up with error code 98 “can’t find 486”. Wondering if the chip hasn’t been soldered properly or the Crystal might be incorrect.

  8. #8
    Pior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    California
    Posts
    140
    Feedback
    15 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    No I have not yet replaced the goldengate oscillator. If I do change it what size do I put in place of it the same or higher. I have been noticing some hangups installing DOS 7.1 and OS 2.1 where it will lock the install and have to do a cold reboot But Dos 5.0 and 6.2 install and work fine and est programs seam to work at lest the ones I have tried....

  9. #9
    Dancing with bridgeboards Amibayer! BlindGerMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Bavaria
    Age
    46
    Posts
    3,455
    Feedback
    319 (100%)

    Default

    The BIOS of the Goldengate has a 10 MHz switch for the ISA Bus, so the card itself will work with 10 MHz on ISA, if you have ISA cards working with this frequency. As the ISA bus is clocked at 8 up to 8.33 MHz normaly, you could try an oscillator with round about 20 percent more clock rate! But remember to set the ISA bus speed to low in the Goldengate BIOS!

    Good Luck!
    Last edited by BlindGerMan; 26th July 2020 at 08:48.
    A2000 2/128/-MB-OS3.9-DKB Wildfire-Picasso IV+Concierto+PabloII+Paloma-Deneb-A2386@TI486SLC2/66-ATI Mach64-Tekram DC600T
    A2500/30 2/112/6MB-OS3.1-A2630+BigRAM2630-A2091-A2410-A2065-A2286-A2320
    A1200 2/256/-MB-OS3.9-Blizzard 1230IV/SCSI-IDEfix Express-Indi AGA MkIIcr


  10. #10
    Pior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    California
    Posts
    140
    Feedback
    15 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Which oscillator would it be, there are three on the board. 50 Mhz with four legs, a 24 Mhz and a 14 Mhz with two legs.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Wanted Vortex Golden Gate 486SLC or 486SLC2
    By iRonNuke in forum Amiga
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th July 2017, 15:43
  2. Wanted Vortex: Golden Gate 486SLC / 486SLC II
    By zerec in forum Amiga
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th July 2017, 13:36
  3. Sold or Swap: Vortex Golden Gate 486SLC
    By drbrain in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30th January 2012, 00:49
  4. Sold Golden Gate Vortex 386sx + 486slc
    By abraXXious in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 18th January 2011, 18:28
  5. Closed Vortex Golden Gate 486SLC II
    By stachu100 in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 24th November 2010, 13:57

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •