Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: A4000 Connection To Modern Monitor

  1. #1
    panzerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Country
    England, United Kingdom
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Posts
    7
    Feedback
    0

    Question A4000 Connection To Modern Monitor

    Hello, I have an A4000/030 that I use on a 1942 monitor, well I did. Said monitor is now kaput !! can anyone recommend a modern monitor / tv that I could use and what cables etc required.
    Any pointers in that direction would be welcome.
    I have a Samsung C27F390 27-inch Curved LED Monitor - HDMI, VGA, a BenQ GW2270H 21.5 Inch Flicker Free LED Monitor and an LG L1811S Monitor at my disposal and a Cello TV/Monitor.
    Any help will be a Godsend, Thank You.
    Panzerman


  2. #2
    Lead Moderator
    Administrator
    Sardine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Merseyside
    Posts
    9,513
    Feedback
    237 (100%)

    Default

    why not get it repaired.

    I suggest contacting Roy

    http://www.amibay.com/member.php?4968-roy_bates

    an absolute start when it comes to the old CRT stuff.
    Last edited by Sardine; 5th September 2020 at 19:59.

  3. #3
    panzerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Country
    England, United Kingdom
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Posts
    7
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Thank you for the info. I was just wondering about using a modern monitor and what was needed. On place like YouTube etc the information is sketchy at best. As I was considering selling the A4000 I was just contemplating a cheap option.
    Thank you very much for the response, it is greatly appreciated.
    Regards
    Philip

  4. #4
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    40
    Posts
    21,822
    Feedback
    1026 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    You have quite a few options with the A4000, you get get a Zorro Graphics Card such as the Picasso or Cybervisions, they will use VGA and the Picassio IV if you have deep pockets will scan double and pass through the native AGA as well.

    If you just want to output the normal RGB there are a few VGA screens out there that are compatible with 15khz so you would just need an RGB-VGA adapter if you find an appropriate screen. (Your BenQ might be a candidate)

    If you would like to use HDMI then you need either an OSSC Upscaler or something like an Indivision AGA

    A cheaper solution if you don't mind a slightly older TV is one that has a RGB Scart Socket, you will get a lovely picture with an RGB-Scart Lead, I have a nice Sony 32in TV that has Scart/HDMI/etc and it's perfect for my Retro kit.
    Last edited by fitzsteve; 6th September 2020 at 20:13.
    My YouTube Channel:
    https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

    CD32 + TF330, A500+ Vampire V2, A1200T Black Box + Mediator B1260 + Killer K1 PPC

  5. #5
    KBQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Country
    Netherlands
    Region:
    Nijmegen
    Posts
    254
    Feedback
    5 (100%)

    Default

    It's possible but awkward to use Amiga with a normal LCD TV like steve says. You use SCART connection for games or PAL screen resolution, and VGA cable for highres modes like productivity or super72.

    But honestly I think best is to get the 1942 repaired.

  6. #6
    panzerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Country
    England, United Kingdom
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Posts
    7
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Thank you very much for your input, it is appreciated. Someone has suggested getting it repaired but at the minute with present restrictions and my own circumstances it would be difficult. I also use Raspberry Pi for some Amiga gaming aspects so I may just sit on my problem for a bit. There are a lot of nice decent folk on here. Maybe I might just sell the 4000 as is.. we'll see. xx

  7. #7
    quantum8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Country
    Australia
    Region:
    QLD
    Posts
    117
    Feedback
    11 (100%)

    Default

    I have a zz9000 in my 4k. Works great with it's HDMI output .

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th July 2013, 23:10
  2. a4000 led connection?
    By Justin in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th October 2010, 17:30

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •