Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: CyberStorm Mk1 060

  1. #1
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,051
    Feedback
    56 (100%)

    Default CyberStorm Mk1 060

    Hi all,

    For sale is my CyberStorm Mk1 060 at 50mhz with 128MB ram. The 060 is an XC68EC060RC60 however both FPU and MMU appear to be fully operational, and tested with Quake (fpu) and mmulibs (mmu).

    This accelerator is fully working and is stable with all 128MB ram. I have recently soak-tested it for several hours in my A4000 and it works without issue. The machine has a mediator, 64mb motherboard hack, sfx psu, programmable EPROMs for kickstart roms plus a whole host of zorro and Pci cards, so I’m happy that the accelerator works in such a complicated system

    This accelerator does not have on-board roms, so kickstart roms will require the fpu patch for exec - buyers will require 3.1.4 roms or patched kickstart roms (similar to A3640/060 boards or A3660 boards). I can provide suitably patched A4000 roms.

    There are some issues to be aware of about this board: I bought it several years ago and it worked perfectly for me, however when I lent it to a friend it stopped working within a week (his entire machine stopped working at the same time too, so I suspect something happened to the machine which affected the accelerator). The board subsequently went to several well-known hardware gurus in the community to be fixed however none could help it even after much of the soldering was checked and reworked where necessary. Recently another well known and respected Amiga hardware guru worked out that some of the TTL chips on the cpu board needed replacing, and once this was done the board sprang back to life.

    So buyers must be aware that this is a resurrected accelerator, and the CyberStorm mk1’s design means it requires care when handling. The board also requires good support when installed, so stand-offs are highly recommended to ensure both main board and cpu board are level - I will provide stand-offs for the cpu board.

    I’m selling now because in the time the board has been away I have found replacements for all my big box amigas, so this lovely old board is surplus to my needs. Potential buyers must only express interest if they acknowledge this accelerator’s repaired status - it works now but if it stops working in one week or one month or year, you can’t say you didn’t know it’s history. Caveat emptor!

    UK and EU only as it is too expensive and risky to ship worldwide.

    £500 (was £550) plus postage, PayPal f&f or buyer pays additional fees. Express interest and PM if interested or require more information.















    Last edited by trixster; 18th October 2020 at 20:23. Reason: Rom clarification
    A1200 B1260 Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500 | AA3000+
    A4000 CSMk2 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 XVI | PC Engine | CD32

  2. #2
    stachu100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    mazowieckie
    Age
    47
    Posts
    3,381
    Feedback
    367 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by trixster View Post
    programmable EPROMs for roms
    I think it's worth to mention, that this card will not worki in standard A3000/A4000.

  3. #3
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,051
    Feedback
    56 (100%)

    Default

    I’m not sure what you mean, Stan? The EPROMs I mention are for kickstart, not roms on the CSMk1 itself. I highlighted them because there have been anecdotal accounts that programmable EPROMs might cause issues with some accelerators. This accelerator works fine with EPROMs and normal kickstart roms. I have amended the original post for
    clarity.

    it is worth mentioning that this is an A4000 only a accelerator - it is not designed to fit in a 3000
    Last edited by trixster; 16th October 2020 at 09:20.
    A1200 B1260 Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500 | AA3000+
    A4000 CSMk2 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 XVI | PC Engine | CD32

  4. #4
    stachu100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    mazowieckie
    Age
    47
    Posts
    3,381
    Feedback
    367 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by trixster View Post
    and normal kickstart roms.
    No, it will not work with normal KS3.0/KS3.1 ROM's.
    You must have special boot ROM installed on the CS MKI 060 card.
    See here:
    https://bigbookofamigahardware.com/b...t.aspx?id=1414

  5. #5
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,051
    Feedback
    56 (100%)

    Default

    Ok, I see, so this board is currently operating ok by virtue of the kickstart roms I’m using which have the 060 fpu disable code (which people use with their A3660 cards)? And without the original CSmk1 boot rom it will loop?

    so modified kickstart roms, or OS3.1.4 roms necessary?
    A1200 B1260 Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500 | AA3000+
    A4000 CSMk2 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 XVI | PC Engine | CD32

  6. #6
    stachu100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    mazowieckie
    Age
    47
    Posts
    3,381
    Feedback
    367 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by trixster View Post
    And without the original CSmk1 boot rom it will loop?
    Correct

    Quote Originally Posted by trixster View Post
    so modified kickstart roms, or OS3.1.4 roms necessary?
    Correct.

  7. #7
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,051
    Feedback
    56 (100%)

    Default

    Ok, thanks for the info! I will amend the first post accordingly

    I can supply suitable 4000 3.1 roms with the necessary patch
    Last edited by trixster; 17th October 2020 at 16:23.
    A1200 B1260 Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500 | AA3000+
    A4000 CSMk2 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 XVI | PC Engine | CD32

  8. #8
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,051
    Feedback
    56 (100%)

    Default

    Price drop! Now £500 plus postage.
    A1200 B1260 Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500 | AA3000+
    A4000 CSMk2 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 XVI | PC Engine | CD32

  9. #9
    Falcon_11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Country
    Slovakia
    Region:
    Kúty
    Posts
    39
    Feedback
    8 (100%)

    Default

    Interested, will send a pm

  10. #10
    GurúMeditating trixster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,051
    Feedback
    56 (100%)

    Default

    PM’s exchanged with Falcon_11 and a deal agreed, so awaiting payment and postage address.

    The accelerator has been packaged up ready for shipment. All double boxed, with memory board in its own box, accelerator in its own box, and roms/standoffs in own box. Main box has bubble wrap and filling plus foam and cardboard dividers.











    .
    Last edited by trixster; 19th October 2020 at 16:03.
    A1200 B1260 Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | A3000 WarpEngine060 CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | A500 | AA3000+
    A4000 CSMk2 PPC 950Mhz Voodoo3 Indi AGA Deneb | Saturn | PS1&2 | C64 | SNES | Neo Geo | 3DO | Enterprise 128
    A3020 | A3000 | BBC B | Master | Atom | CPC6128 | Jaguar | G5 | Atari Falcon | 2600 | X68000 XVI | PC Engine | CD32

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Closed Boxed Cyberstorm MK II +128MB RAM for Cyberstorm MKIII + $$$
    By tom256 in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st March 2015, 17:53
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28th January 2015, 23:49
  3. Sold Phase V Cyberstorm SCSI Option kit for Cyberstorm MKII boxed.
    By TorajaBoy in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22nd September 2014, 14:43
  4. Sold Phase V Cyberstorm SCSI Option kit for Cyberstorm MKII
    By TorajaBoy in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 6th September 2014, 13:11
  5. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 30th December 2013, 10:36

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •