Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 60

Thread: A1200 accelerator cards: A buyer's guide

  1. #21
    Stoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Wiltshire
    Posts
    79
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default

    Great write up, thanks for the info
    [FONT=Century Gothic][B]A1200 with 8GB CF HDD, Blizzard 1230 MkIV 32mb & FPU. More to come no doubt! [/B][/FONT]

  2. #22
    radu14m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Country
    Timisoara
    Region:
    Romania
    Posts
    231
    Feedback
    11 (100%)

    Default

    Is it worth to mention that the 1240 cards have some incompatibility issues ?
    I read a lot of opinions about the 1240 cards, and people are avoiding them.
    What are the reason:
    Games Compatibility ?
    WHDLOAD problems ?
    Heat ?
    PSU ?

    Or is different from Blizzard to Apollo ?

    As for the 1260 too, some people are running theyr Amigas with the original PSU. ( the heavy one ).

  3. #23
    temp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Bristol
    Posts
    63
    Feedback
    3 (100%)

    Default

    Does anyone know whether full 020 has got a MMU or that feature is only from 030 up?

  4. #24
    Amiga fanboy VIP
    Amibayer!
    rkauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Brazil
    Region:
    São Leopoldo, RS
    Age
    53
    Posts
    11,967
    Feedback
    110 (100%)

    Default

    020 CPU lacks a MMU, they are only present in the full 030.

    That said, there an external MMU for the 68020 (also works on 010 processors), called 68851. But as far as I know, the only card that make use of the external MMU is the Commodore A2620 (intended for the A2000).
    David Bradley made Ctrl+Alt+Del, Gates turn it mandatory
    16 Amigas at home :D
    3x C= 64 :smile:
    1 VIC-20 :smile:
    8 PC (argh) :thumbsdown: at least one is an AROS/Amithlon unit

  5. #25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by radu14m View Post
    Is it worth to mention that the 1240 cards have some incompatibility issues ?
    I never heard of that. But I only have experience with 2 040 cards so I am not some kind of expert.

    ---------- Post added at 23:05 ---------- Previous post was at 22:49 ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by AndyLandy View Post
    High-end 68040 and 68060 cards
    Be aware that once you get to this level you will likely find you need a bigger PSU for your Amiga and you should give some thought to air-flow and cooling...These CPUs get hot!
    Would you please change that. That is just not right.

    Amiga 68040 accelerators get very hot! 040s need heat sink and/or fan. The 040s used are based on 5v technology. They drink a lot of power and get hot.

    There were later editions of the 040 based on 3.3v tech but I never heard of any accelerator ever using them.

    Amiga 68060 accelerators are very cool! 060s do not need heat sink or fan. 060s are based on 3.3v technology. My Motorola manual says the original 50Mhz 68060 only dissipates 4.9 watts. (Compare that to your so-called "state-of-the-art" Intel Core i5. Ha!) But later editions of the 060 were die-shrunk and use less power. Because the later editions do use less power, they can be overclocked into the 80-110 Mhz range.

    68060. The Green CPU for the Green Amiga.

    ---------- Post added at 23:42 ---------- Previous post was at 23:05 ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by ptp170 View Post
    Apollo 1260's require an uprated PSU ...
    Don't all 040 and 060 and 030 accelerators need an upgraded Power Supply for guaranteed 100% reliability?

    I mean, sometimes you can get away with not upgrading the power supply... but sometimes you can't.

    The way I remember it, my A1200 came with a pathetic 40W powersupply and my A500 from many years before came with a 60W powersupply. The way I remember it I just tossed my A1200 power supply and plugged in the A500 one. But this was all a long time ago so this paragraph is fuzzy.


    Does anyone know how many watts a 50Mhz 030+128MB accelerator dissipates?

    Or how about 50Mhz 060+128MB?

    If you are trying to make a short simple guide and you are only going to recommend an upgraded powersupply for 1 thing then it should be for 040 cards. 040s drink the most power of any Amiga CPU.
    Wanna play a Wizards & Warriors, Swords & Sorcery Amiga fun-for-the-whole-family Board Game? Check my profile for info.

  6. #26
    temp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Bristol
    Posts
    63
    Feedback
    3 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
    020 CPU lacks a MMU, they are only present in the full 030.

    That said, there an external MMU for the 68020 (also works on 010 processors), called 68851. But as far as I know, the only card that make use of the external MMU is the Commodore A2620 (intended for the A2000).

    Thanks for that. I just wanted to be sure and now it's clear. Cheers

  7. #27
    Acceleration! Amibay Treasurer
    Amibayer!
    AmiDev
    Administrator
    AndyLandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Southampton
    Age
    37
    Posts
    11,006
    Feedback
    107 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ChaosLord View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by AndyLandy View Post
    High-end 68040 and 68060 cards
    Be aware that once you get to this level you will likely find you need a bigger PSU for your Amiga and you should give some thought to air-flow and cooling...These CPUs get hot!
    Would you please change that. That is just not right.

    Amiga 68040 accelerators get very hot! 040s need heat sink and/or fan. The 040s used are based on 5v technology. They drink a lot of power and get hot.

    There were later editions of the 040 based on 3.3v tech but I never heard of any accelerator ever using them.

    Amiga 68060 accelerators are very cool! 060s do not need heat sink or fan. 060s are based on 3.3v technology. My Motorola manual says the original 50Mhz 68060 only dissipates 4.9 watts. (Compare that to your so-called "state-of-the-art" Intel Core i5. Ha!) But later editions of the 060 were die-shrunk and use less power. Because the later editions do use less power, they can be overclocked into the 80-110 Mhz range.

    68060. The Green CPU for the Green Amiga.
    That's not right either. It's true of both 68040 and 68060 CPUs that the earlier revisions ran quite hot, whereas the later revisions tended to be much cooler. My A3640 in my A3000 doesn't get hot because the CPU was swapped for a newer revision. Conversely, my old Cyberstorm II/060 had a heatsink on the '060 because it was an earlier revision that did get hot. Don't forget that a lot of Amiga accelerators have early XC-core CPUs that run very warm.

    A lot of it is to do with cooling and airflow in the whole machine. In a great big spacious A4000 tower with airflow, you can probably run an '060 without a heatsink. I'd be far more wary of ramming one into the tiny trapdoor slot on an A1200.
    Thinking about accelerating your A1200? Check out my buyer's guide.

    Projects past and present: Amiga 2000/030 | Amiga 3000/040 | Amiga 4000/060

  8. #28
    resistance is futile! Amibayer! roy_bates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Country
    england
    Region:
    birmingham
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,482
    Feedback
    102 (100%)

    Default

    you can use a 040 thats 3.3 volt with a regulator in an amiga accellorator.

    it was only the early revisions of 040 and 060 that got hot even when not overclocked.
    i have got too much hardware,it would only hurt your eyes to look at it here

  9. #29
    temp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Bristol
    Posts
    63
    Feedback
    3 (100%)

    Default

    what's the max amount of memory you can install on apollo cards?

  10. #30
    resistance is futile! Amibayer! roy_bates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Country
    england
    Region:
    birmingham
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,482
    Feedback
    102 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by temp View Post
    what's the max amount of memory you can install on apollo cards?

    64mb's if its an 1200 card, 128mb's if its a 3000 and 4000 card.


    some 030 apollo cards for the 1200 can only have 8mb on board.


    so it depends on what apollo card your talking about.
    i have got too much hardware,it would only hurt your eyes to look at it here

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 7th June 2011, 10:43
  2. Sold 2 GVP A2000 Accelerator Cards
    By Nathanieltolbert in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 23rd June 2010, 23:47

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •