Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Scsi.device and optical drives

  1. #1
    "Takai desu ne." -"Jinsei da." VIP
    Amibayer!
    protek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Country
    Finland
    Region:
    Oulu, Pohjois-Pohjanmaa
    Age
    44
    Posts
    3,835
    Feedback
    62 (100%)

    Default Scsi.device and optical drives

    In theory, should the newer IDE optical drives work with the latest scsi.device? I've got OS3.9 with BB3 installed, so the scsi.device should be pretty new revision. Yet, the only thing that works on my A4000, is an old CD-ROM, which squeezes the cables pretty tight against the PSU.
    What kind of mechanisms the scsi.device contains to recognize the devices on the IDE chain?
    AMIGA 4000 060/50, AMIGA 1200 030/50, AMIGA 500, C128D, C128, C64C, C64, C16, Vic-20, Atari 520 STE, Atari 65 XE, Philips NMS-8250 MSX2, Sinclair Spectrum +3e, Sinclair Spectrum 48k, Amstrad CPC 6128, Apple Macintosh Classic, Apple IIGS, BBC Master, Memotech MTX500

  2. #2
    Amibayer! ajk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Country
    Finland
    Region:
    Helsinki
    Posts
    1,184
    Feedback
    211 (100%)

    Default

    I bought a brand new Samsung DVD drive for my A4000 just a few months ago, it worked straight away with the same settings as the old drive did. Sure it's not a faulty cable or something like that?

  3. #3
    Acceleration! Amibay Treasurer
    Amibayer!
    AmiDev
    Administrator
    AndyLandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Southampton
    Age
    37
    Posts
    11,001
    Feedback
    107 (100%)

    Default

    IDE CD drives should all conform to the ATAPI specs and should Just Work™ Are you sure that the drive and ribbon are good? I'd be surprised if it's the actual A4000 that's at fault here.
    Thinking about accelerating your A1200? Check out my buyer's guide.

    Projects past and present: Amiga 2000/030 | Amiga 3000/040 | Amiga 4000/060

  4. #4
    Amibayer! alexh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Oxford
    Posts
    945
    Feedback
    8 (100%)

    Default

    You obviously need more than the IDE driver which supports ATAPI. You need a file system too. Some sort of CDFS.

    I'm pretty sure there is one in WB3.9

    Could it be that you need to change some sort of mount list? And the reason the OLD CD-ROM works is because the existing one has the right settings for it?

  5. #5
    "Takai desu ne." -"Jinsei da." VIP
    Amibayer!
    protek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Country
    Finland
    Region:
    Oulu, Pohjois-Pohjanmaa
    Age
    44
    Posts
    3,835
    Feedback
    62 (100%)

    Default

    The ribbon is new, specifically bought for this use and the old drive works with it. One of the drives, I've tried has its tray stuck. Still, I believe that the electronics should be ok and I should not be getting "Can't find scsi.device unit 1" at startup. I have two devices on the cable. First is the CF-IDE, which is set to master and the second is the CD-ROM drive, which is set to slave. I have the CD0 in Devs and I've selected the Unit id to 1 from CD0.
    AMIGA 4000 060/50, AMIGA 1200 030/50, AMIGA 500, C128D, C128, C64C, C64, C16, Vic-20, Atari 520 STE, Atari 65 XE, Philips NMS-8250 MSX2, Sinclair Spectrum +3e, Sinclair Spectrum 48k, Amstrad CPC 6128, Apple Macintosh Classic, Apple IIGS, BBC Master, Memotech MTX500

  6. #6
    The 1 That Ribbits VIP
    Amibayer!
    cosmicfrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Leek, Staffordshire Moorlands
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,391
    Feedback
    80 (99%)
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Some times the cd/dvd drive will not work I`ve had this a few times, even if said dvd/cd drive works fine in say a pc
    The one that Ribbits Frist Ribbits Loudest :rainbow::boing::inlove:
    If it dos`t work Hit it with a Hammer, If that dost work get a bigger Hammer, If that dos`t work get the gas axe out :mad:
    Up Front and Central Takeing flack as usual so the rest of you can do that pincer movement

Similar Threads

  1. Found External Scsi CD Device
    By abraXXious in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 3rd May 2011, 09:23
  2. scsi.device xx : unexpected state yy:zz
    By pietro_tiberi in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26th August 2010, 23:52
  3. cannot open scsi.device unit 1
    By Kai in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25th August 2010, 19:28
  4. Sold Squirrel SCSI Device
    By fitzsteve in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23rd August 2010, 14:04

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •