Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Cf PCMCIA question

  1. #1
    Hristos1975's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Country
    GREECE
    Region:
    EDESSA/PELLA/GREECE/PO 58200
    Posts
    16
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default Cf PCMCIA question

    Hello guys

    I have recently bought a PCMCIA adapter and transfer disc to pass adf from my pc to my A600 and I want to buy an cf and I don't know anything about cf compatibility with A600 so I d like to suggest me what cf to buy

    Sorry for my bad English

    Ps I want to use it to transfer files with PCMCIA and not as a internal hdd


    Thanks
    Gristle

  2. #2
    Allen1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Northumberland
    Posts
    548
    Feedback
    53 (100%)

    Default

    Hi there Gristle,

    SanDisk compact flash memory cards are about the most stable cards that I have found to work on the 600 or 1200 Amigas for the PCMCIA slot. If you only intend to use the card for transferring ADF files, a 256 or 512 MB card would probably be more than big enough

    All the best,
    Allen.

  3. #3
    Amiga fanboy Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    rkauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Brazil
    Region:
    São Leopoldo, RS
    Age
    48
    Posts
    11,969
    Feedback
    110 (100%)

    Default

    I'm using a 64Mb Iomega sometimes. Works all the times.
    David Bradley made Ctrl+Alt+Del, Gates turn it mandatory
    16 Amigas at home
    3x C= 64
    1 VIC-20
    8 PC (argh) at least one is an AROS/Amithlon unit

  4. #4
    Inactive Member xkonrado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    Warsaw
    Posts
    2
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    I'm using a 512MB SanDisk and it works fine

  5. #5
    Amibayer! keitha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Country
    Scotland
    Region:
    Scotland
    Posts
    416
    Feedback
    45 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
    I'm using a 64Mb Iomega sometimes. Works all the times.
    I'm using a 64mb (Cannon/Jessops)also! It does the job

    I do use something bigger and more serious for the 1200 tho
    It took them years to be this good

  6. #6
    paul1981's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Country
    England
    Region:
    East Midlands
    Posts
    98
    Feedback
    11 (100%)

    Default

    I'm using a Transcend 133x 4GB card on my A600 and A1200 with no problems at all.

  7. #7
    Amibayer! -Acid-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    South Shields
    Age
    38
    Posts
    2,757
    Feedback
    142 (100%)

    Default

    Kingston work fine, just make sure your card is a type I or II and it will most likely work I believe.
    A1260T@66/64MB | Large console stash
    Step by step video guide to setup WinUAE

  8. #8
    Amibayer! sneeker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Manchester!
    Posts
    545
    Feedback
    16 (100%)

    Default

    I had problems with getting a 4gb kingston (flower design) to work in pcmcia, works fine as a hard disk, but doesnt work in pcmcia, now using a small (256mb) kingston that just says compactflash in orange and it works fine.

    • ESCOM A1200 : DKB Cobra 030/28 @ 27 - 128Mb : Squirrel SCSi : 4mb A500 : 1.5mb A500+ : C64 + Oceanic 118 : Snes : Saturn : Dreamcast : GameGear : PS2 : Xbox


  9. #9
    Amibayer! -Acid-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    South Shields
    Age
    38
    Posts
    2,757
    Feedback
    142 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sneeker View Post
    I had problems with getting a 4gb kingston (flower design) to work in pcmcia, works fine as a hard disk, but doesnt work in pcmcia, now using a small (256mb) kingston that just says compactflash in orange and it works fine.
    I assumed if it worked in one it would be fine in the other.... guess I will find out soon as i've just got a pcmcia reader.
    A1260T@66/64MB | Large console stash
    Step by step video guide to setup WinUAE

  10. #10
    Amibayer! sneeker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Manchester!
    Posts
    545
    Feedback
    16 (100%)

    Default

    http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=61666&page=2

    More details regarding kingston flower design card and pcmcia..

    • ESCOM A1200 : DKB Cobra 030/28 @ 27 - 128Mb : Squirrel SCSi : 4mb A500 : 1.5mb A500+ : C64 + Oceanic 118 : Snes : Saturn : Dreamcast : GameGear : PS2 : Xbox


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale PCMCIA cards and PCI/PCMCIA adapter
    By ratfink in forum Other
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th April 2011, 10:30
  2. Another question.
    By sblurter in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 28th March 2011, 17:39
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th September 2010, 02:51

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •