Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Converting NTSC A1000 to UK A1000

  1. #1
    Amibayer! SJBUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Country
    Uk
    Region:
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    444
    Feedback
    40 (100%)

    Default Converting NTSC A1000 to UK A1000

    I'm in the process of buying a US A1000 which I intend to use with a step-down transformer and TFT screen via some sort of scaler/scandoubler.

    Over time, though, I'd like to convert it to a UK PAL machine just for the hell of it. I know I'll need a UK PSU and an 8371 Agnus and probably have to change the crystal. I've had a google about but not come across anyone trying it before. Anyone here got any opinions?

    Steve

  2. #2
    vB Guru AmiDev
    Administrator
    Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Chichester / West Sussex
    Age
    45
    Posts
    12,527
    Feedback
    51 (100%)

    Default Re: Converting NTSC A1000 to UK A1000

    I've not heard of anyone converting an Amiga from NTSC to PAL before. Is that the only requirement to convert it? I would have thought there was more to it than that. Obviously you know that if you do manage to convert it, the CPU will be slower?
    Coming soon - ..
    =====================================
    C= Amiga: A4000T/PPC/060, | A1200 x2 | A600 x2 | A500 & Plus x6 | CD32
    Atari:
    520 STFM | 4160 STE | 2600 Woody || Nintendo: Wii | GCN | N64 + Everdrive | SNES + Everdrive | SNES Mini | GB | GBA | DS-XL
    Sega
    : Dreamcast | Megadrive + Everdrive || Microsoft: Xbox x2 | Xbox 360 Slim 250GB || Sony: PSX | PS2 | PS2slim | PS3 slim | PSP x2 | Vita

    PC:
    i7 4GHz, 32GB Ram, GTX 970, SSD | + many other PCs and Laptops ||Tablet: Samsung Galaxy TabPro 10.1 ||
    Phone: Samsung S8

  3. #3
    Positively negative VIP
    Amibayer!
    Justin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Country
    Cheltenham UK
    Region:
    Cheltenham
    Posts
    12,186
    Feedback
    141 (100%)

    Default Re: Converting NTSC A1000 to UK A1000

    50 Hz PAL and 60 Hz NTSC TV output by default versions available

    * 50/60Hz mode switchable by software, although switching a PAL Amiga to NTSC mode produces a 60Hz PAL display, and vice versa (this would usually suffice for software relying on a particular format)

    tbh i would have thought buying a uk A1000 would be easy and not too expensive, they don't seem to go for much money at the moment.

    cheers, JuvUK
    Official Amiga Walker






  4. #4
    Ya' Like it Retr0? VIP Zetr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    44
    Posts
    11,105
    Feedback
    137 (100%)

    Default Re: Converting NTSC A1000 to UK A1000

    SJBUK

    by far the easiest method would be to use a PAL A520 from the Video port job done no need to do anything else.

    although you could replace

    the Agnus to 8371 PAL,
    the 3.58 colour ouput clock to 4.43

    that would do it, I will hit up the specs later
    8)Flux Mastah' Zee8)
    50 L337 1'M W1R3FR4M3

  5. #5
    Amiga fanboy VIP
    Amibayer!
    rkauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Brazil
    Region:
    São Leopoldo, RS
    Age
    53
    Posts
    11,967
    Feedback
    110 (100%)

    Default Re: Converting NTSC A1000 to UK A1000

    I think you also need to modify a pair of traces on Agnus (need swapping 8361 to 8367) and on the video encoder, IIRC.

    I think Daphne (pre-Denise) don't need changing.
    David Bradley made Ctrl+Alt+Del, Gates turn it mandatory
    16 Amigas at home :D
    3x C= 64 :smile:
    1 VIC-20 :smile:
    8 PC (argh) :thumbsdown: at least one is an AROS/Amithlon unit

  6. #6
    Amibayer! SJBUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Country
    Uk
    Region:
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    444
    Feedback
    40 (100%)

    Default Re: Converting NTSC A1000 to UK A1000

    @Harrison
    Aye, I know i may be tad slower but it shouldn't matter for my purposes.

    @JuvUK
    I've not seen a UK A1000 going for a long time, one of the reasons I had a hunt around the other day and, luckily, found this forum. I've seen a couple on eBay over the last year or so but they've gone for silly prices. I may just have been unlucky and misssed some bargains.

    @rkauer Zetr0
    Cheers guys, the more info I can get the better

    Might be nice, just for once, if I can do something few others have!

Similar Threads

  1. Closed SOLD: Amiga A1000 (NTSC, 110V PSU)
    By chiark in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 17th March 2009, 13:49
  2. Closed WANTED: A1000 case and/or A1000/2000/3000/4000 keyboard
    By Andru in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th November 2008, 17:23
  3. Closed WTB: A1000 keyboard
    By webman in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th July 2008, 03:27

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •