Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: A3000 640x512 interlaced mode on PC VGA monitor

  1. #1
    Amibayer! SJBUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Country
    Uk
    Region:
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    472
    Feedback
    49 (100%)

    Default A3000 640x512 interlaced mode on PC VGA monitor

    Folks,
    I've got my A3000 running fine at 640x256 but any interlaced mode is a real colourful mess on either of my PC monitors. No amount of manual monitor tuning seems to help. Am I pushing it trying to get interlaced modes working on a PC monitor or am I missing something?

    Running KS 37.175 and WB 38.12. Will KS/WB 3.1 help?

    Steve

  2. #2
    Repairer Extraordinaire Amibayer!
    AmiDev
    Administrator
    TheCorfiot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Wales
    Age
    52
    Posts
    8,922
    Feedback
    227 (100%)

    Default Re: A3000 640x512 interlaced mode on PC VGA monitor

    @SJBUK

    There's a little fine tuning pot adjustment near the VGA connector on the back panel which you need to adjust whilst displaying an interlaced mode.

    Be gentle, go slowly & listen for a clicking noise as this tells you you have reached one end of the pot & will need to adjust in the opposite direction. It is multiturn & will have a good few rotations from one end to the other.

    TC
    Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow June 2016, I Was There

  3. #3
    Amibayer! SJBUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Country
    Uk
    Region:
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    472
    Feedback
    49 (100%)

    Default Re: A3000 640x512 interlaced mode on PC VGA monitor

    Thanks TC. I've tweaked that and managed to get 640x256 nice and stable but any interlace mode is a real mess, not just tearing but severe sync and colour problems. Tried both a Dell and Samsung monitor with exactly the same result.

  4. #4
    Repairer Extraordinaire Amibayer!
    AmiDev
    Administrator
    TheCorfiot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Wales
    Age
    52
    Posts
    8,922
    Feedback
    227 (100%)

    Default Re: A3000 640x512 interlaced mode on PC VGA monitor

    SJBUK

    Are you using a LCD or CRT monitor.

    You will find that the "Amber" flicker fixer still outputs at 50Hz in PAL mode which CRTs can cope with LCD's tend to not be able to go below 56-57Hz.

    test this by trying an NTSC interlaced mode (60Hz) such as 640x400 If that syncs OK then it's down to the LCD which I've a feeling is what you are using.

    These older systems really do function best with CRT's
    Even the new Indivision AGA performs much better with a CRT rather than LCD..

    Keep us posted

    TC


    edit --

    Check the link
    http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/search.pl? ... 0&company=

    You will find a manual & test utility disk here too... The A3000's Amber circuit is based on this card
    Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow June 2016, I Was There

  5. #5
    Amibayer! SJBUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Country
    Uk
    Region:
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    472
    Feedback
    49 (100%)

    Default Re: A3000 640x512 interlaced mode on PC VGA monitor

    They are LCD monitors, no room really for CRT anymore!

    Thanks for the link, I'll give it a spin later if I get time and post the results

    chiark mentioned it might be a buffer problem and on reflection it does seem similar to problems I've had on faulty PC display cards (dodgy VRAM) in the past.

    Cheers,
    Steve

  6. #6
    Repairer Extraordinaire Amibayer!
    AmiDev
    Administrator
    TheCorfiot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Wales
    Age
    52
    Posts
    8,922
    Feedback
    227 (100%)

    Default Re: A3000 640x512 interlaced mode on PC VGA monitor

    @Steve

    It's possible there is a fault as the Amber circuit works in 2 entirely different modes depending on whether it is de-interlacing & scandoubling or just scandoubling. The former being the most complex & full use of the circuit & the main reason for the tweaking.

    Mate I wish you all the best, the A2320 manual should give you a good understanding of the system function & does have some good troubleshooting tips, it is NTSC biased a bit (60Hz) just remember you are on 50Hz.

    Will be interesting to see if the LCD's display differently when the A3000 is outputing an NTSC 60Hz signal.

    Good luck
    TC
    Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow June 2016, I Was There

  7. #7
    Amiga fanboy VIP
    Amibayer!
    rkauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Brazil
    Region:
    São Leopoldo, RS
    Age
    53
    Posts
    11,967
    Feedback
    110 (100%)

    Default Re: A3000 640x512 interlaced mode on PC VGA monitor

    IF you really want to use it on a lcd panel, then a good measure is using a LCD-TV! It will sync down to the desired 50Hz vertical refresh.
    David Bradley made Ctrl+Alt+Del, Gates turn it mandatory
    16 Amigas at home :D
    3x C= 64 :smile:
    1 VIC-20 :smile:
    8 PC (argh) :thumbsdown: at least one is an AROS/Amithlon unit

  8. #8
    Amibayer! SJBUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Country
    Uk
    Region:
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    472
    Feedback
    49 (100%)

    Default Re: A3000 640x512 interlaced mode on PC VGA monitor

    Bah, NTSC interlace is just as bad. Haven't tried any tests yet, haven't got any way of transferring from PC to Amiga sorted out yet. I'll stick a floppy drive in and give it a go.

    Piccie uploaded to PhotoBooth topic:- viewtopic.php?f=89&t=2085

    Have no room for any more displays so will have to get all my miggy's talking to the LCD's somehow.

  9. #9
    BANNED Kin Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Country
    U.K.
    Region:
    Cornwall
    Age
    56
    Posts
    8,149
    Feedback
    48 (100%)

    Default Re: A3000 640x512 interlaced mode on PC VGA monitor

    @ SJBUK

    You might want to read here m8!

    Kin

Similar Threads

  1. A1200 video mode issues
    By RedDaemonFox in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th September 2009, 01:48
  2. Closed WTB: A500 Accel Must Have Switch to Go Back to 68K Mode
    By kjmann in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th March 2009, 05:18
  3. Corrup A3000 interlaced display on LCD monitor
    By SJBUK in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 20th March 2009, 23:40
  4. Closed 17inch tft monitor
    By jimbob005 in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th February 2009, 22:26

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •