Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 58

Thread: CF / SD and large drives FAQ

  1. #11
    :P Amibayer! Gouldin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Coventry, West Midlands
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,145
    Feedback
    65 (100%)

    Default

    Tried this method on a 1gb and a 2gb card. Max transfer left at the default hdtoolbox comes up with.

    My 4gb sandisk works happier this way also. Really weird stuff, would be great if anyone with a dodgy card could test this out.

    When trying 2 partitions I use the value above in your faq. Odd stuff.
    Amiga 500: A501 Ram Expansion, WB 1.3
    Amiga 600: Kick 3.1, ACA620, A604n, ClassicWB
    Amiga CD32: SX1, ClassicWB

  2. #12
    Amibayer! fgh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Country
    Norway
    Region:
    Lindesnes
    Posts
    749
    Feedback
    85 (100%)

    Default

    Ok, just to be clear: Maxtransfer setting of 0x1fe00 (or below) is required for all partitions, no matter how many partitions you have. (When using onboard IDE & scsi.device)
    When entering the maxtransfer setting, you also need to press enter while the cursor is in the input field, otherwise it will not save the value. (Strange old fashioned GUI behavior)

    If you use a higher value you will have file corruption when writing files larger than 128kb. (As long as the copy program has a buffer size >128KB and file system is not too fragmented)

    If you are sure this is done correctly, I agree it is weird.

  3. #13
    :P Amibayer! Gouldin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Coventry, West Midlands
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,145
    Feedback
    65 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frodegh View Post
    Ok, just to be clear: Maxtransfer setting of 0x1fe00 (or below) is required for all partitions, no matter how many partitions you have. (When using onboard IDE & scsi.device)
    When entering the maxtransfer setting, you also need to press enter while the cursor is in the input field, otherwise it will not save the value. (Strange old fashioned GUI behavior)

    If you use a higher value you will have file corruption when writing files larger than 128kb. (As long as the copy program has a buffer size >128KB and file system is not too fragmented)

    If you are sure this is done correctly, I agree it is weird.
    Yeah, for all partitions I usually use 0x1fe00 on the decent cards that haven't failed me before.

    Just these generic cheap cards that seem to get on better with the standard values and using 1 partition.
    Amiga 500: A501 Ram Expansion, WB 1.3
    Amiga 600: Kick 3.1, ACA620, A604n, ClassicWB
    Amiga CD32: SX1, ClassicWB

  4. #14
    Amibayer! fgh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Country
    Norway
    Region:
    Lindesnes
    Posts
    749
    Feedback
    85 (100%)

    Default

    Ok, that does not make any sense to me..
    Edit: No card should work better with maxtransfer higher than 0x1fe00. This only has to do with scsi.device, not the card.

    Quote Originally Posted by Gouldin View Post
    Would be great if anyone with a dodgy card could test this out.
    I' be very happy to test out those failing cards if you would send them here. I'd pay shipping and a few euros for them

  5. #15
    :P Amibayer! Gouldin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Coventry, West Midlands
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,145
    Feedback
    65 (100%)

    Default

    I can post one of them off, the other is in use
    No charge mate, as I'm curious to this also.

    Only possibility would be, does it make any difference that it's being used on a AlfaPower 500 and not the standard IDE?
    Amiga 500: A501 Ram Expansion, WB 1.3
    Amiga 600: Kick 3.1, ACA620, A604n, ClassicWB
    Amiga CD32: SX1, ClassicWB

  6. #16
    Amibayer! fgh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Country
    Norway
    Region:
    Lindesnes
    Posts
    749
    Feedback
    85 (100%)

    Default

    It might make a difference, I didn't notice you were on an a500. (Should have read your signature..)
    As I wrote in the first post I don't know status of maxtransfer problems in third party IDE controller drivers.
    But chances are old ones like yours also expect ATA-1 compliant devices and therefore require 0x1fe00.

    The Alfa Data IDE driver might cause different types of trouble, like your partition problems, but I don't know.

    If you want I can still have a look at the card and confirm if it works well on a standard setup or not.
    It would be nice if you had another go with it and described the problems you had with it as precisely as possible.

  7. #17
    :P Amibayer! Gouldin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Coventry, West Midlands
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,145
    Feedback
    65 (100%)

    Default

    Here's my 2 threads about my particular setup and problems I've faced.
    This solution appeared to work at 1st, but then fell over during heavy transfers: http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=19947

    This one was an ongoing thread:
    http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=19574
    Amiga 500: A501 Ram Expansion, WB 1.3
    Amiga 600: Kick 3.1, ACA620, A604n, ClassicWB
    Amiga CD32: SX1, ClassicWB

  8. #18
    Amibayer! UberFreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Country
    Israel
    Posts
    1,119
    Feedback
    43 (100%)

    Default

    @frodegh:

    Sorry, didnt notice you replied to me

    Here's the original thread of my problem:
    http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=14734

    The situation today, after much tweaking & experimentation: copying doesnt get "stuck" as often, but the files are mostly corrupt, except very small files of a few kilobytes.
    Even when trying to just read from the CF, without writing anywhere, the read data is corrupt (testing LHA/ZIP files nearly always fails).
    This happens only on my A1200/060/PPC/OS3.9 configuration, on another 1200 with 030 all is well.

    There was a suggestion in my original thread that it could be a HW problem, but since I only have a single A1200 board that works ok with my BPPC, I cant test this theory...

  9. #19
    Amibayer! fgh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Country
    Norway
    Region:
    Lindesnes
    Posts
    749
    Feedback
    85 (100%)

    Default

    Thanks Uberfreak. So in addition to the problems described in your thread you have data corruption on reading the CF.
    That should rule out the harddrive for now.

    It might be a physical problem with the PCMCIA of your a1200.

    There are some things you could try to narrow down the problem however:
    - Try booting without startup-sequence, mount CF0, and check
    - Try with WB3.0/3.1
    - Try without BPPC
    - Check that the CF mountlists (CF0 file) are identical on the two systems

    You could try with the harddrive from the other a1200. (If I recall correctly my ClassicWB 3.1 installation also worked on kickstart 3.0)
    Or you could even strip a wb-floppy, throw in compactflash.device and fat95, remove HDD and BPPC, boot from the floppy and copy from the CF to itself as a test.


    You also said above that this was a common problem. Do you have any other references?
    Last edited by fgh; 22nd October 2011 at 23:28. Reason: Typo

  10. #20
    Amibayer! -Acid-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    South Shields
    Age
    42
    Posts
    3,844
    Feedback
    218 (100%)

    Default

    Are Kingston 8GB CF cards (with the flower on the front) suitable for Amiga CFHD usage? and is 11 a good price do you think for a brand new one?

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th June 2012, 23:48
  2. Large HDD Problems
    By scrappysphinx in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 9th May 2012, 22:05
  3. Screen to large
    By xerfall in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 13th December 2011, 19:57
  4. Sold A large selection of PS1 games
    By davideo in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 10th March 2011, 23:13

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •