Colour A500+ composite output?

mjnurney

we live as we dream. Alone.
Country
england
Region
Milton Keynes
Is it possible to do this?

The A500 is bw but the 600/1200 & 1000 are colour.

Cheers

Does it ? I don't know with out digging an a520 out of storage.

Is the colour compisite signal missing on the 500?

The A520 does indeed have Colour Composite & RF. Naff picture though :(

No idea on what trickery is missing on the A500's built in composite port though. They even mention it being B&W in the manual, stupid idea.

Cheers guys. I don't mind a slightly hazy pic in games :)

It's not hazy, it's actually really clear, just pixely if that makes sense. You'll see when ya try it :)

Im no expert (by a long shot!) but would it be possible to just cut the mono line and take it from the RGB port and solder a wire from that to the old mono out line?

Im no expert (by a long shot!) but would it be possible to just cut the mono line and take it from the RGB port and solder a wire from that to the old mono out line?

Unfortunately not - there's no composite video available at the RGB port, and the A520 contains an RGB-to-colour-composite converter (which I presume is the first stage of generating an RF-modulated signal.)

As an aside, the A520's composite out is significantly better than that of my A1200, which is somewhat over-bright. The A520's output is much better, though maybe not quite as sharp.

Isn't the Amiga 500+ just an Amiga 500 with minor updates? If so the answer is no. ;)

It would need a whole new reworked mobo to do that.

@Mike

my friend, the composite port on the A500/A500+ is only monocrome as it doens't have an colour encoded into the comp signal, - the comp signal is derived from the video hybrid -