Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 46

Thread: memory help for my new pc

  1. #1
    Amibayer! morcar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    2,661
    Feedback
    57 (100%)

    Default memory help for my new pc

    my motherboard specs says this

    4 x DIMM, Max. 16 GB, DDR3 2200(O.C.)*/1600/1333/1066 Non-ECC,Un-buffered Memory
    Dual Channel memory architecture

    does this mean i have to buy 2 matching pairs or will a single stick work on it ?

    I am asking because i got all my pc parts and i placed the single stick in and i get nothing. The fan on the cpu starts and the gfx card fan goes but nothing on the screen at all.



  2. #2
    Asking the questions because I DON'T KNOW Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    slk486's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Sealand
    Posts
    6,321
    Feedback
    134 (100%)

    Default

    No you dont HAVE to have more than one stick in. The stick is either not properly seated, incompatible or broken

    Have you tried the mobo/gfx card with another stick?
    ^^^ IMHO... Always IMHO ^^^

    r0jaws is my hero
    Keropi is my supreme being

  3. #3
    Amibayer! drbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Country
    Sweden
    Region:
    Helsingborg
    Age
    35
    Posts
    651
    Feedback
    50 (100%)

    Default

    Most motherboards support a single memory stick. but it often has to be in a specific slot.
    Check the manual, usually there's some info on where a single stick should be placed.
    A4000DT: CSPPC 604e@330, 060@60, Mediator PCI 4000D, R9200 256MB, CVPPC, IndiAGA MKII, Deneb, PCI NIC+Sound, 144MB, Intel 40GB SATA SSD, AmigaOS 3.9/4.0/4.1
    A1200D: Blizzard1220@28MHz, 8MB, IndiAGA MKII, AmigaOS 3.9 A4000D: 030@25, IndiAGA MKI, 8MB, AmigaOS 3.9 A3000D: 030@25, 16MB, AmigaOS 3.9

  4. #4
    Amibayer! morcar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    2,661
    Feedback
    57 (100%)



  5. #5
    Asking the questions because I DON'T KNOW Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    slk486's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Sealand
    Posts
    6,321
    Feedback
    134 (100%)

    Default

    If it's a new mobo, often times these things can be fixed by reinserting the stick and making absolutely sure it's well seated. Blow on the socket, blow on the stick. Make sure there is no dirt on the socket/stick.
    ^^^ IMHO... Always IMHO ^^^

    r0jaws is my hero
    Keropi is my supreme being

  6. #6
    Amibayer! morcar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    2,661
    Feedback
    57 (100%)

    Default

    just so you know this is the mobo i have and i still cant get it going. I might have to buy new memory if i cant get this going.

    http://uk.asus.com/Motherboards/Inte...t_1156/P7P55M/



  7. #7
    :P Amibayer! Gouldin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Coventry, West Midlands
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,145
    Feedback
    65 (100%)

    Default

    Reset the bios via the jumpers, if you can't see the jumper, then pull the battery out for a few secs, put it back in and boot up, should load safe default values.
    Amiga 500: A501 Ram Expansion, WB 1.3
    Amiga 600: Kick 3.1, ACA620, A604n, ClassicWB
    Amiga CD32: SX1, ClassicWB

  8. #8
    Grumpy Old Man Amibayer! McVenco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    The Netherlands
    Region:
    Limburg
    Age
    42
    Posts
    1,499
    Feedback
    67 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slk486 View Post
    blow on the stick. Make sure there is no dirt on the stick.
    2012 Amibay Quote Contest topic, I'm hereby opening you!

  9. #9
    BANNED D.B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    UK
    Posts
    604
    Feedback
    17 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slk486 View Post
    If it's a new mobo, often times these things can be fixed by reinserting the stick and making absolutely sure it's well seated. Blow on the socket, blow on the stick. Make sure there is no dirt on the socket/stick.
    making sure you don't spray spit whilst you do.

  10. #10
    Fellow Amigan Lechuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Country
    Greece
    Region:
    Athens
    Age
    40
    Posts
    824
    Feedback
    70 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by D.B View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by slk486 View Post
    blow on the stick. Make sure there is no dirt on the socket/stick.
    making sure you don't spray spit whilst you do.
    Why not?I am sure the stick will apprecite it

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Closed Amiga 1200 cheap memory-only expansion or CPU/memory expansion
    By zzarko in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th October 2011, 14:07
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th January 2011, 09:04
  3. Closed WTB: DDR PC 3200 1GB memory
    By lopos2000 in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd March 2009, 21:22

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •