Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 46

Thread: p96 new res rough guide (with radeon install)

  1. #1
    Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    johnim's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    birmingham
    Age
    42
    Posts
    11,733
    Feedback
    146 (100%)

    Default p96 new res rough guide (with radeon install)

    Hi guys here is a picasso 96 guide for making new screenmodes

    pics taken with my galaxy s ii (not the best)

    for this im using a voodoo3 2000 in a a1200 mediator v1
    but should work with any pci p96 rtg capable card and any monitor

    With help taken from here thanks guys
    http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...825#post325825

    I have been using this for a rough guide for res calculation

    http://www.arachnoid.com/modelines/index.html

    quick calculations tested on voodoo3/radeon 9250

    resoluton size # 640x480 @ 60.00 Hz
    clock 23.86
    width,horiz framesize 640,800
    height,vert framesize 480,497
    syncsize 17: [H SYNC (PIXELS)] : 64.000000


    # 640x480 @ 60.00 Hz

    23.86
    640,800 480,497
    17: [H SYNC (PIXELS)] : 64.000000

    # 800x600 @ 60.00 Hz
    38.22
    800,1024 600,622
    17: [H SYNC (PIXELS)] : 80.000000

    # 1024x768 @ 60.00 Hz
    64.11
    1024,1344 768,795
    17: [H SYNC (PIXELS)] : 104.000000

    # 1280x1024 @ 60.00 Hz
    108.88
    1280,1712 1024,1060
    17: [H SYNC (PIXELS)] : 136.000000

    # 1600x1200 @ 60.00 Hz
    160.96
    1600,2160 1200,1242
    17: [H SYNC (PIXELS)] : 176.000000

    # 1920x1080 @ 60.00 Hz
    172.80
    1920,2576 1080,1118
    17: [H SYNC (PIXELS)] : 208.000000


    colour depth modes
    voodoo 3 can use 8,15,16,24 bit modes
    radeon can use 8,15,16,32 bit modes

    8bit = chunky(256 colors)
    15bit = hicolor (32k colors)
    16bit = hicolor (64k colors)
    24bit = truecolor (16m colors)
    32bit = truealpha (16m colors)



    my quick rough guide

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/9o6wk0ottl...es%20guide.pdf


    I have been playing with this and now have a 1600x1200 res screen now

    started off with a 800x600 res and got a 1600x1200 res now well chuffed
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1.jpg   42.jpg  
    Last edited by johnim; 9th May 2014 at 23:28.
    A1200T 1d4:blizzard 1260/50/192mb/scsi kit:mediator 1200:radeon 9250:sb128:100mb net:spider usb clone:fastata-iv:amiga to ps2 mouse:80gb hd:zip100 ide:a4000 keyboard
    A1200D 1d4:blizzard1230mk4/50/64mb:indy mk ii:fastata mk ii:40gb*A1200 rev 2b*2 x A1200 1d4*A1200 1b*A600 2mb 4gb*A500

    sfs cf guide http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=19953 cwb3.9 guide http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=20315 mediator drivers http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=11993 p96 newres guide(radeon install) http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...905#post325905

  2. #2
    we live as we dream. Alone. VIP
    Amibayer!
    mjnurney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Country
    england
    Region:
    Milton Keynes
    Age
    46
    Posts
    8,577
    Feedback
    182 (100%)

    Default

    nice work John

  3. #3
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    38
    Posts
    21,028
    Feedback
    1001 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Awesome stuff John, very nice guide - I'll be using that to test out some nice Widescreen settings

    One thing for P96 RTG users to be careful of, most (if not all) Zorro RTG cards won't be able to do 1600x1200 @24bit so make sure you are within the spec of your card when making screen modes!
    My Website has moved to: https://fitzstevesamigaworld.000webhostapp.com/ It's now on Free Hosting to preserve the content.
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

  4. #4
    Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    johnim's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    birmingham
    Age
    42
    Posts
    11,733
    Feedback
    146 (100%)

    Default

    thanks guys

    its very basic but works

    steve i hope i havent stepped on your toes as you said you was going to do 1 i just wanted to show my findings and share


    thanks steve i have never had a zorro rtg card so did not know this
    A1200T 1d4:blizzard 1260/50/192mb/scsi kit:mediator 1200:radeon 9250:sb128:100mb net:spider usb clone:fastata-iv:amiga to ps2 mouse:80gb hd:zip100 ide:a4000 keyboard
    A1200D 1d4:blizzard1230mk4/50/64mb:indy mk ii:fastata mk ii:40gb*A1200 rev 2b*2 x A1200 1d4*A1200 1b*A600 2mb 4gb*A500

    sfs cf guide http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=19953 cwb3.9 guide http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=20315 mediator drivers http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=11993 p96 newres guide(radeon install) http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...905#post325905

  5. #5
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    38
    Posts
    21,028
    Feedback
    1001 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnim View Post
    thanks guys

    its very basic but works

    steve i hope i havent stepped on your toes as you said you was going to do 1 i just wanted to show my findings and share
    Not at all, it's very easy to follow and maybe I can take it the next step and use the findings for my Video guides

    @thread see my note in my last post - it could be very important
    My Website has moved to: https://fitzstevesamigaworld.000webhostapp.com/ It's now on Free Hosting to preserve the content.
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

  6. #6
    bdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Country
    United States of America
    Region:
    GU 96913
    Posts
    1,503
    Feedback
    101 (100%)

    Default

    As an "off topic" comment, I use a 32"
    HDTV with VGA input at its native 16:9 1920X1080 resolution and it is gorgeous (especially running OS4.1) with beautiful crisp text. I have a hard time going back to my office PC with its 22" monitor.

  7. #7
    Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    johnim's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    birmingham
    Age
    42
    Posts
    11,733
    Feedback
    146 (100%)

    Default

    i will try 1920x1080 on my dell24in 2moz
    A1200T 1d4:blizzard 1260/50/192mb/scsi kit:mediator 1200:radeon 9250:sb128:100mb net:spider usb clone:fastata-iv:amiga to ps2 mouse:80gb hd:zip100 ide:a4000 keyboard
    A1200D 1d4:blizzard1230mk4/50/64mb:indy mk ii:fastata mk ii:40gb*A1200 rev 2b*2 x A1200 1d4*A1200 1b*A600 2mb 4gb*A500

    sfs cf guide http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=19953 cwb3.9 guide http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=20315 mediator drivers http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=11993 p96 newres guide(radeon install) http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...905#post325905

  8. #8
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    38
    Posts
    21,028
    Feedback
    1001 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnim View Post


    thanks steve i have never had a zorro rtg card so did not know this
    No probs, for example I think the maximum non interlaced screen mode on a PicassoIV is 1280x1024 @ 24bit but I think even if you tried to make the higher mode the slider for clock speed just wouldn't go high enough.

    I wouldn't want to be the one to test the theory though

    Lower spec cards like the PicassoII I think it's 800x600 @24bit but of course users of these cards can make 8 or 15/16bit screen modes which will allow higher screen sizes, again just check the spec's of the card to be sure

    ---------- Post added at 23:38 ---------- Previous post was at 23:38 ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by johnim View Post
    i will try 1920x1080 on my dell24in 2moz
    I bet you try now

    There's no way you will be able to sleep till you tested it!
    My Website has moved to: https://fitzstevesamigaworld.000webhostapp.com/ It's now on Free Hosting to preserve the content.
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

  9. #9
    bdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Country
    United States of America
    Region:
    GU 96913
    Posts
    1,503
    Feedback
    101 (100%)

    Default

    Oh,

    GOOD JOB on the manual!

    It's a lot easier when we come together and make Ami's less intimidating. Although its coming together, calming folks new to SCSI and such is as important to the community as networking, intranet connectivity, and the other quirks of Amiga ownership.

  10. #10
    Check our website for retro game development! jvdw007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Hampshire
    Posts
    478
    Feedback
    29 (100%)

    Default

    Guys,
    I'm so glad we've finally worked together here to pin down some useful facts to get something like this sorted. As much as I love having a mediator, it's been a right pain to get going from the outset, and now, having a decent document to work from for screen modes, is nothing short of awesome.

    Many thanks!
    Couple of Amigas and C64's and a couple of consoles and handhelds.

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. A1200D, Subway install + Fast ATA install
    By 2E1 BZU in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th June 2011, 07:09
  2. Closed SOLD: Amiga 600 in Rough Shape
    By SkydivinGirl in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 7th February 2009, 21:00

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •