Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Review:Kanaan HD solution for 16bit retro consoles and amiga

  1. #1
    Only Amiga makes it possible Amibayer! Snoozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,351
    Feedback
    48 (100%)

    Default Review:Kanaan HD solution for 16bit retro consoles and amiga

    Well, some of you will be aware that i (like many others) have been searching for the holy grail of bringing 16 bit consoles display capabilities to align with modern HD LCD or LED tv's. This search took me to maplin and beyond without success.

    I was fed up of using scart/composite for my tv as the picture quality was poor (especially for the megadrive). The amiga was partially sorted through the use of the gbs 8220. The super nintendo had a reasonable picture via standard scart.

    However, a few months ago i took a chance and purchased the Kanaan HD upscaler and this has been one of my most successful purchases. For the cost of errrrm a significantly unfortunate round at the pub (say 10 or 12 people) you have a decent piece of equipment. I got mine from amazon. I use it in conjunction with a 3 way scart selector box, both MD and SNES have RGB scart leads and my amiga 1200 is on a composite scart lead.

    The picture quality for all is good to very good (especially megadrive and amiga) I think it rivals my gbs 8220 for picture quality in terms of the 1200. No doubt not up to the standard of the indi II which I'm still waiting on the software release to bring compatability with my tv - well that's another story.

    I'll put the pics below and let them do the talking.

    (TV in use: Samsung 8 series 40" LED tv)

    Advantages:

    Reasonable price
    Versatility
    Significant improvement in picture quality

    Disadvantages

    Needs to be connected to power source
    Picture quality still not optimised

    Conclusion: Cancel the meal out and switch to kfc for the evening. Use the money saved to purchase one of these.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Amiga1.jpg   Amiga2.jpg   Amiga3.jpg   Lotus.jpg   Lotus2.jpg  

    MDSonic.jpg   MegaMickey.jpg   SFII.jpg   SNESMArioKart.jpg   Kanaan.jpg  

    Last edited by Justin; 19th October 2012 at 11:33.
    A1200 3.1 6GB HD OS 3.9, ACA1230 @ 28mhz 64mb RAM, PCMCIA Ethernet Card

    A1200 3.0 4GB CF OS 3.1, Blizzard 1220 8mb

  2. #2
    Mega AmiMod
    Staff Moderator
    keropi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Greece
    Region:
    Ioannina
    Age
    40
    Posts
    7,306
    Feedback
    150 (100%)

    Default

    I have seen the same device with different names on eBay too... how is a pal-50hz conversion? does it output a 50hz hdmi signal?
    Aacheron and slk486 are my heroes
    A1200D mfilos ed. : ACA 1231/42 , Indivision MK2 , IDEfix Express , Subway , PicoPSU 120w custom 3.9 ROM/OS

  3. #3
    Only Amiga makes it possible Amibayer! Snoozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,351
    Feedback
    48 (100%)

    Default

    I would avoid the cheap chinese ebay copies. I tried a chinese upscaler from maplin that gave the most horrific goldfish bowl picture that could induce sickness if looked at for too long - distorted and swaying on the MD and flickering and unstable on the SNES.

    This Kanaan upscaler i had imported from germany, it outputs at

    CVBS
    720P
    1080P all at 60Hz on my tv

    (Not sure about 50hz)

    It tends to auto select the best output for the console.

    I'll put the link here but if a mod thinks it necessary to remove then others can find it fairly easily:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Kanaan-Conve...1174255&sr=8-2
    A1200 3.1 6GB HD OS 3.9, ACA1230 @ 28mhz 64mb RAM, PCMCIA Ethernet Card

    A1200 3.0 4GB CF OS 3.1, Blizzard 1220 8mb

  4. #4
    Mega AmiMod
    Staff Moderator
    keropi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Greece
    Region:
    Ioannina
    Age
    40
    Posts
    7,306
    Feedback
    150 (100%)

    Default

    how is scrolling on this then? if you feed it a PAL sonic1 (50hz game) and it outputs at 60hz then you don't have smooth scrolling... (much like with the indivision @60hz)
    Are you sure it does not display 720p/1080p@50hz?
    Aacheron and slk486 are my heroes
    A1200D mfilos ed. : ACA 1231/42 , Indivision MK2 , IDEfix Express , Subway , PicoPSU 120w custom 3.9 ROM/OS

  5. #5
    Only Amiga makes it possible Amibayer! Snoozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,351
    Feedback
    48 (100%)

    Default

    well my tv tells me it is outputting at 1920 x 1080 @ 60Hz and sonic is scrolling 100% normally.

    Now i've played sonic 1 + 2, castle of illusion, ghouls and ghosts, golden axe since the age of 12 so i remember decent scrolling.

    I see no difference when using the Kanaan and hd tv for scrolling
    A1200 3.1 6GB HD OS 3.9, ACA1230 @ 28mhz 64mb RAM, PCMCIA Ethernet Card

    A1200 3.0 4GB CF OS 3.1, Blizzard 1220 8mb

  6. #6
    Miru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Oregon
    Posts
    916
    Feedback
    26 (100%)

    Default

    Do you think this would work with a NTSC Amiga if I connect a RGB to Scart and then use a us Power supply ? HDMI US and Europe should be the same or not ?

    Do you know how many V and A this device needs ?

  7. #7
    Asking the questions because I DON'T KNOW Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    slk486's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Sealand
    Posts
    6,321
    Feedback
    134 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Miru View Post
    Do you think this would work with a NTSC Amiga if I connect a RGB to Scart and then use a us Power supply ? HDMI US and Europe should be the same or not ?
    Yes, the NTSC/PAL/Whatever issues are thankfully over with HDMI. A HDMI signal is the same all over.

    Quote Originally Posted by Miru View Post
    Do you know how many V and A this device needs ?
    That should be easy enough to tell from the power adapter
    ^^^ IMHO... Always IMHO ^^^

    r0jaws is my hero
    Keropi is my supreme being

  8. #8
    Only Amiga makes it possible Amibayer! Snoozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,351
    Feedback
    48 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Miru View Post
    Do you think this would work with a NTSC Amiga if I connect a RGB to Scart and then use a us Power supply ? HDMI US and Europe should be the same or not ?

    Do you know how many V and A this device needs ?
    I think it should work ok with ntsc, looking at the power supply (which is supplied with it) its 5v 2a
    A1200 3.1 6GB HD OS 3.9, ACA1230 @ 28mhz 64mb RAM, PCMCIA Ethernet Card

    A1200 3.0 4GB CF OS 3.1, Blizzard 1220 8mb

  9. #9
    Miru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Oregon
    Posts
    916
    Feedback
    26 (100%)

    Default

    Thanks for the info! Similar to the gbbs then. Do you know where i could get scart amiga rgb cables?

  10. #10
    Only Amiga makes it possible Amibayer! Snoozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,351
    Feedback
    48 (100%)

    Default

    On here i think oge sells them, or on the other bay or pref amigakit (which is where i bought mine)
    A1200 3.1 6GB HD OS 3.9, ACA1230 @ 28mhz 64mb RAM, PCMCIA Ethernet Card

    A1200 3.0 4GB CF OS 3.1, Blizzard 1220 8mb

Similar Threads

  1. Closed Various Retro Consoles and Joysticks
    By Kwaz in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 14th January 2013, 22:25
  2. Closed Retro Computers n' Consoles
    By Beaps in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th June 2012, 00:49
  3. Closed Various retro consoles and games.
    By Groooover in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 29th July 2011, 08:55
  4. Closed Cables for retro computers and consoles
    By mrcomputer in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th March 2011, 13:45
  5. Sold Retro Consoles/Computer Stuff
    By Amiga Forever in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 27th January 2011, 19:01

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •