Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 45

Thread: Getting to grips with a Rock Lobster.

  1. #11
    Mega AmiMod
    Staff Moderator
    keropi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Greece
    Region:
    Ioannina
    Age
    40
    Posts
    7,382
    Feedback
    156 (100%)

    Default Re: Getting to grips with a Rock Lobster.

    nice job r0jaws !!!! Another amiga rescued!
    Aacheron and slk486 are my heroes
    A1200D mfilos ed. : ACA 1231/42 , Indivision MK2 , IDEfix Express , Subway , PicoPSU 120w custom 3.9 ROM/OS

  2. #12
    Positively negative VIP
    Amibayer!
    Justin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Country
    Cheltenham UK
    Region:
    Cheltenham
    Posts
    12,234
    Feedback
    142 (100%)

    Default Re: Getting to grips with a Rock Lobster.

    fantastic m8, really impressed, well done
    Official Amiga Walker
    join us on Facebook
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/170601321614/






  3. #13
    Mondeo Man VIP
    Amibayer!
    r0jaws's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Boston, Lincolnshire
    Age
    45
    Posts
    7,620
    Feedback
    160 (100%)

    Default Re: Getting to grips with a Rock Lobster.

    The Rock Lobster goes from strength to strength.

    Received an AlfaData Alfa Power Expansion from Rudi. For those who don't know what it is, it provides upto 8Mb Fast RAM and access to IDE ports.

    What makes it a bit special is that it has both a 40 AND 44 pin IDE connector with internal power supply available. This means that it can have an IDE hard drive and CD ROM hooked up simultaneously.
    It can also be powered entirely by the 500, but also has a power brick for hungry hard discs, or for when you have a CDROM attached.
    I have fitted this with a 4Gb CF Card with WB 2.05 installed, and it does not require the power brick as well, leaving you with a less cluttered desktop.

    It also has switches on the front enable you to switch the RAM or Hard Disc on and off as you wish.







    The only problem I have, is that I miss identified my ROMs as 2.05, I only have a 2.04 ROM! Unfortunately, that doesn't have the patch enabling it to boot from IDE. Bah!

    However, once I get these installed, and maybe even get hold of some patched 1.3 ROMs, I'm sure she will be good to go.

  4. #14
    Ya' Like it Retr0? Inactive Member
    VIP
    Zetr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    45
    Posts
    11,095
    Feedback
    137 (100%)

    Default Re: Getting to grips with a Rock Lobster.

    ROMS you say

    Looking great r0jaws!!!!
    8)Flux Mastah' Zee8)
    50 L337 1'M W1R3FR4M3

  5. #15
    Amiga fanboy VIP
    Amibayer!
    rkauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Brazil
    Region:
    São Leopoldo, RS
    Age
    53
    Posts
    11,967
    Feedback
    110 (100%)

    Default Re: Getting to grips with a Rock Lobster.

    Not a problem if the A500+ have just 2.04 ROM, Phil.

    The device will boot straight away with the 2.xx ROM, but not with 1.3 without some little hack or with a slightly modified 1.3 ROM.

    Just to remember the old times, all you need to do is setting a 1.3 partition using the tool from the A2091 install and then save changes to the RDB. This will make the first partition bootable (don't forget to put a copy of the AlfaData SCSI/IDE device into the EXPANSION drawer!). After that, all partitions you want to be available to the 1.3 ROM must be mount-listed. Pretty much the same for 2.1, IIRC. But 2.xx just need the wanted at-boot partitions saved to the RDB.

    Have a lot of fun with this piece of retr0-licious hardware history.
    David Bradley made Ctrl+Alt+Del, Gates turn it mandatory
    16 Amigas at home :D
    3x C= 64 :smile:
    1 VIC-20 :smile:
    8 PC (argh) :thumbsdown: at least one is an AROS/Amithlon unit

  6. #16
    BANNED Kin Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Country
    U.K.
    Region:
    Cornwall
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,149
    Feedback
    48 (100%)

    Default Re: Getting to grips with a Rock Lobster.

    Nice one r0jaws.

    Kin

  7. #17
    AmiNerd VIP
    Amibayer!
    chiark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    3,282
    Feedback
    85 (100%)

    Default

    I think an A500 or 500+ with KS1.3 will boot the alfapower without any problems at all... Apologies if I'm missing your point here rkauer

    I don't think you need the stuff in the expansion drawer either, as the driver is loaded at boot from the autoboot roms...

    (I know we're not talking about gayle emulation devices which would need 2.05 or a 1.3 with scsi.device embedded here )
    1k + Xebec + Spirit Insider | GBA1k | 3k | 4k | 500 + Spirit HDA-506 | 500 CSA030 +i68k | CDTV | 1200 ACA1230/56
    www.binarydevotion.com

  8. #18
    Amiga fanboy VIP
    Amibayer!
    rkauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Brazil
    Region:
    São Leopoldo, RS
    Age
    53
    Posts
    11,967
    Feedback
    110 (100%)

    Default

    You remember the old-school days? At least the RDB must have the (auto boot and necessary at boot time) partitions and file systems saved into for proper operation.

    Other partitions and devices can be invoked by mount list.

    But as I remember, the device driver must be tossed inside the expansion drawer even for those who have the ROM in memory (or was it from kick 1.2 time?). My memory fails on this...
    David Bradley made Ctrl+Alt+Del, Gates turn it mandatory
    16 Amigas at home :D
    3x C= 64 :smile:
    1 VIC-20 :smile:
    8 PC (argh) :thumbsdown: at least one is an AROS/Amithlon unit

  9. #19
    AmiNerd VIP
    Amibayer!
    chiark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Region:
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    3,282
    Feedback
    85 (100%)

    Default

    I do remember the old days . I stil live 'em . This is my experience/memory: I could be wrong...

    A lot of controllers from the old days didn't support RDB so had to have a single partition with particular geometry or used a non-standard RDB-style approach which only mounted 1 partition. The Spirit HDA-506 is like this.

    If the controller supports RDB, I believe it should mount everything under 1.3. I think. Certainly the SupraDrive mounts 3 partitions under 1.3 without an apparent mountlist... I'll give this another check to see what exactly is happening

    The device driver is needed in the Expansion drawer is for 1.2 boot disks for hard drives, or for other devices which don't have enough space to load their drivers (such as bridgeboards, which do need the right driver in expansion).

    I could be horribly wrong!
    1k + Xebec + Spirit Insider | GBA1k | 3k | 4k | 500 + Spirit HDA-506 | 500 CSA030 +i68k | CDTV | 1200 ACA1230/56
    www.binarydevotion.com

  10. #20
    Acceleration! Amibay Treasurer
    Amibayer!
    AmiDev
    Administrator
    AndyLandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Southampton
    Age
    38
    Posts
    11,006
    Feedback
    107 (100%)

    Default

    If you need a Kickstart 2.05 ROM, I can send you a 37.300 for the cost of postage. Alternatively, you have enough FastRAM that you could put Kickstart 3.1 in there and install Workbench 3.5/3.9

    Actually, I might even have a spare 2MB ChipRAM expansion for the A500+ lying around somewhere if you are interested.
    Thinking about accelerating your A1200? Check out my buyer's guide.

    Projects past and present: Amiga 2000/030 | Amiga 3000/040 | Amiga 4000/060

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. WTB: Chuck Rock
    By orange in forum Amiga
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th July 2009, 01:15

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •