Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: mount an (amiga) ffs drive in ubuntu

  1. #1
    HypnusBE Inactive Member
    VIP
    Amibayer!
    jvdbossc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Country
    Belgium
    Region:
    Antwerp (province)
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,651
    Feedback
    81 (100%)

    Lightbulb mount an (amiga) ffs drive in ubuntu

    Well, for google purposes, the info found online forget's to tell about partition numbers so this is mine.

    Dump the disk information in a shell, you'll need to know the size to be sure it is the right disk, since fdisk does not display ffs partitions.

    sudo fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xbdca301f

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 2048 206847 102400 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda2 206848 409601379 204697266 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda3 409602046 667414527 128906241 5 Extended
    /dev/sda5 409602048 604913663 97655808 83 Linux
    /dev/sda6 604915712 667414527 31249408 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    Disk /dev/sdb: 16.0 GB, 16021192704 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1947 cylinders, total 31291392 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 * 8192 31291391 15641600 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)

    Disk /dev/sdc: 4009 MB, 4009549824 bytes
    124 heads, 62 sectors/track, 1018 cylinders, total 7831152 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    The disk is sdc, but not identified partitions are on it. First partition would be sdc1 but it is not listed, but you need to specify it anyhow Don't forget to imagine the partition number or it won't work.

    You need to make a mount point to mount the amiga ffs system.

    sudo mkdir /mnt/amiga


    sudo mount -t affs /dev/sdc1 /mnt/amiga

    Then you can go to there and read files. Though you won't be able to write to it.

    Best is to open a window to drop the files in, so run nautilus with root permissions. (now you can drag files in to the window)

    sudo nautilus

    Voila, writing to ffs in linux, no winuae needed (real fast!) It's also very fast to make a backup. Ubuntu does not seem to wait for writing to complete, it returns shell instantly.

    Before removal or cf card over usb best to unmount:

    sudo umount /mnt/amiga

    The execution bit gets lost, so you might need to extract files on amiga. Or label the proper file(s)
    Last edited by jvdbossc; 6th November 2012 at 06:25.
    Proud on the classics: A1000-A500-A2000-A600-030-A1200 PPC -A3000D(basic)-A4000D(060)
    Mac Mini 1.45 ghz 1 G RAM MORPHOS 2.6
    Pentium 3 1.4 ghz 512 sdram AROS

  2. #2
    RISK is good Inactive Member
    Amibayer!
    Tomse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Oelstykke
    Age
    45
    Posts
    925
    Feedback
    56 (100%)

    Default

    nice one.. thanks for info

    I didn't know ffs was compiled into the kernel
    Commodore Magazines, manuals, books and other goodies : http://retro-commodore.eu
    Get Compact Flash Rescue disk here http://www.retro-commodore.eu/files/...05)(Tomse).zip

  3. #3
    HypnusBE Inactive Member
    VIP
    Amibayer!
    jvdbossc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Country
    Belgium
    Region:
    Antwerp (province)
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,651
    Feedback
    81 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tomse View Post
    nice one.. thanks for info

    I didn't know ffs was compiled into the kernel
    Thanks!

    I did not know myself. But I did not install anything extra. Nice additions of course are lha and stuff, but execution bit seems to get lost when extracting on pc.

    ps: it's an ancient implementation so don't push it. (large drives etc not tested)
    Proud on the classics: A1000-A500-A2000-A600-030-A1200 PPC -A3000D(basic)-A4000D(060)
    Mac Mini 1.45 ghz 1 G RAM MORPHOS 2.6
    Pentium 3 1.4 ghz 512 sdram AROS

  4. #4
    Extr3m3ly l33t Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    mfilos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Country
    Greece
    Region:
    Glyfada/Athens
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,635
    Feedback
    72 (100%)

    Default

    A knew about it for some time now, but I always find using WinUAE the best scenario for my needs.
    It's too essential in my case
    Visit my Amiga Blog: http://www.mfilos.com
    - A600: Vampire V2, 128MB, A604n, 16GB CF, Indivision ECS, RapidRoad USB, Ratte's auto RTG/ECS switch, Gotek w/HxC-LCD + Slim floppy (internal)

  5. #5
    Nerdy arcadefan Inactive Member
    Amibayer!
    Elgen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Vanløse
    Age
    45
    Posts
    163
    Feedback
    6 (100%)

    Default

    Nice...very usefull indeed };-{P
    http://elgensrepairs.blogspot.dk/

  6. #6
    Inactive Member Johan1973's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Country
    Sweden
    Region:
    Västra Götaland
    Posts
    73
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default

    I am trying to do this right now. It is the only way I have to transfer files to my A3000, but I can not get it to work following your guide.

    I need to use ubuntu because the scsi card I have is not supported in windows anymore.
    So I run ubuntu 12.04 and mount the partition, then do the sudo nautilus, but I still do not get to see the files, it just loads endlessly "busy" pointer spinning..
    [I]Vintage Computer Collection:[/I] ZX Spectrum 128k +2, Issue 2 48K Spectrum (upgraded to 128K), Issue 4S 48K Spectrum, DivIDE, C64C, C64E, Amiga 500, Amiga 1200.

  7. #7
    Acceleration! Treasurer
    Amibayer!
    Site Developer
    Administrator
    AndyLandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Southampton
    Age
    38
    Posts
    10,962
    Feedback
    107 (100%)

    Default

    FFS support has existed in Linux for over 10 years now, but I've still never had cause to use it. I remember seeing it in the compile options when I was building Linux 2.2 kernels!

    Surprised that fdisk can't read RDB partition tables though. I wonder if there are other Linux partition tools which can...
    Thinking about accelerating your A1200? Check out my buyer's guide.

    Projects past and present: Amiga 2000/030 | Amiga 3000/040 | Amiga 4000/060

  8. #8
    Only Amiga makes it possible... Inactive Member
    Amibayer!
    liviux76's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Country
    Italy
    Region:
    BO
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,463
    Feedback
    161 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Johan1973 View Post
    I am trying to do this right now. It is the only way I have to transfer files to my A3000, but I can not get it to work following your guide.

    I need to use ubuntu because the scsi card I have is not supported in windows anymore.
    So I run ubuntu 12.04 and mount the partition, then do the sudo nautilus, but I still do not get to see the files, it just loads endlessly "busy" pointer spinning..
    Try changing the permits on the mount directory.

    Supposing that you want to mount your Amiga dh0: partition on /media/dh0 try this:

    mkdir /media/dh0
    mount -t affs /dev/sdc1 /media/dh0

    chmod -R 777 /media/dh0
    chown -R youruser:youruser /media/dh0

    Now you should be able to browse the directory as normal user.

    When finished:

    umount /media/dh0

    Bye,
    Liviux76

    PS:
    Be careful since your Amiga dh0: partition could be sdb1, sdd1 or something else and not necessarily sdc1.

  9. #9
    Inactive Member Johan1973's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Country
    Sweden
    Region:
    Västra Götaland
    Posts
    73
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default

    arioch@Mournbringer:~$ mkdir /media/dh0
    mkdir: cannot create directory `/media/dh0': Permission denied
    arioch@Mournbringer:~$ sudo mkdir /media/dh0
    [sudo] password for arioch:
    arioch@Mournbringer:~$ sudo mount -t affs /dev/sde1 /media/dh0
    arioch@Mournbringer:~$ sudo chmod -R 777 /media/dh0
    arioch@Mournbringer:~$ sudo chown -R arioch:arioch /media/dh0
    arioch@Mournbringer:~$

    And still I get, it loads forever just state "loading", and I never get to see the files...

    Update: I had an error mounting 0x0801, so I go to do manual recovery, which logs me in as root, and then I mount the file system, and I can see it. So I need to be root for it to work it seems.

    I am not at home in linux, so I dont know how to fix the 0x0801 error, though it seems to have nothing to do with the amiga harddrive.

    I will see if I can change things so that I can login as root, and mount the amiga partitions.
    [I]Vintage Computer Collection:[/I] ZX Spectrum 128k +2, Issue 2 48K Spectrum (upgraded to 128K), Issue 4S 48K Spectrum, DivIDE, C64C, C64E, Amiga 500, Amiga 1200.

  10. #10
    HypnusBE Inactive Member
    VIP
    Amibayer!
    jvdbossc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Country
    Belgium
    Region:
    Antwerp (province)
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,651
    Feedback
    81 (100%)

    Default

    sudo should be enough rights. Or sudo su. (as far as I know). No harm in trying it otherwise however.

    My personal bet is that the disk is not supported or is broken, or the partition is written differently on the amiga.

    Did you follow the guide a la lettre?
    Proud on the classics: A1000-A500-A2000-A600-030-A1200 PPC -A3000D(basic)-A4000D(060)
    Mac Mini 1.45 ghz 1 G RAM MORPHOS 2.6
    Pentium 3 1.4 ghz 512 sdram AROS

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 27
    Last Post: 13th August 2012, 21:13

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •