Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: 4116 Dram memory chips

  1. #1
    we live as we dream. Alone. VIP
    Amibayer!
    mjnurney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Country
    england
    Region:
    Milton Keynes
    Age
    47
    Posts
    8,603
    Feedback
    182 (100%)

    Default 4116 Dram memory chips

    wanted 4116 Dram chips for an Apple II .

    C64 has the same ram (no it doesnt )as do some other 8 bit machines...

    mike.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Screen Shot 2012-11-09 at 12.53.04.jpg  
    Last edited by mjnurney; 9th November 2012 at 14:23.

  2. #2
    Keeper of the Valiant Turtles. Amibayer! thecellartroll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Country
    Scotland
    Region:
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    995
    Feedback
    36 (100%)

    Default

    C64 has 4164s. If you need those, how many?
    Commodore VIC20 & SD2IEC, 64x5 & Chameleon, 64Cx4, C128, Plus4 & SIDcard C16, C16@64K, Sinclair Spectrum+ 128K & divIDE2k11 +2 +3 ZX81 &ZonX, Amstrad CPC 464x2 6128x2 6128+, Acorn RiscPC 600 (StrongARM + 586), Electronx3, +1, +3, BBC Master128 + MMC & Valiant Turtle, C64 DTV, Atari 800XL.

  3. #3
    we live as we dream. Alone. VIP
    Amibayer!
    mjnurney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Country
    england
    Region:
    Milton Keynes
    Age
    47
    Posts
    8,603
    Feedback
    182 (100%)

    Default

    does it? no the Apple has 4116... wonder what the difference is?

    it seems they do work , just the extra capacity isnt used. i need 8

    or maybe not , maybe different voltage

    ---------- Post added at 14:21 ---------- Previous post was at 14:05 ----------

    just found this...

    I saw some posts recently about replacing 4116 RAM with 4164,
    which is more reliable (it uses only one voltage, not three!) and
    is cheaper (if you know where to look!). I wanted to come up
    with a solution that works for all boards (no board hacking or
    harness tricks involved). So here it is:

    Take your 4164 chip and bend pin 8 up and over the top of
    the chip. Solder a small wire from that pin to pin 9 (which
    is directly across from it, and has +5V on it). Pin 1 of the
    4164 is not used... just snip it off so you don't have to worry
    about the -5V on the board. That's it. The chip is ready
    to plug into the socket of the 4116.

    You can do almost the same thing with a 41256 (also known
    as TMS4256, MCM6256, HM51256, MB81256, etc., 256k*1).
    In addition to flipping up pin 8 and connecting it to pin 9,
    bend up pin 1 and connect it to pin 16 (that'll tie the high
    address line to ground... you can't leave it floating).

    I used TMS4256 to replace some blown out 4116 in my
    Juno First, and it works great. Runs much cooler!!!
    Soldering the wires is a little bit of work, but worth the effort.

  4. #4
    Amibayer! Bryce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Nordrhein Westfalen
    Posts
    2,231
    Feedback
    78 (100%)

    Default

    There's a huge difference. The 4116 is a 16K x 1Bit DRAM. It needs a 5V, -5V and 12V supply. It was used in the Spectrum 48K too (for the lower 16K only).

    The 4164 is a 64K x 1Bit and only needs a 5V supply.

    For obvious reasons, the pinout is different too.

    4116 are quite often on offer on the other bay.

    Bryce.

  5. #5
    we live as we dream. Alone. VIP
    Amibayer!
    mjnurney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Country
    england
    Region:
    Milton Keynes
    Age
    47
    Posts
    8,603
    Feedback
    182 (100%)

    Default

    Ordered a bulk batch 4116 from the states - thanks all.

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale DRAM Chips for video card (fast > 50 ns)
    By vibros in forum Amiga
    Replies: 74
    Last Post: 10th July 2016, 08:36
  2. Closed A500 DRAM chips or Broken A500 mobos
    By DelboyJay in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 3rd July 2011, 04:04
  3. Dram chips for Piccolo
    By protek in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13th July 2010, 12:49
  4. Closed 2 meg or more fastram / 1Mx4 DRAM chips
    By Photon in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th October 2009, 22:39

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •