Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: I perform Re-Cap's / Mod's / Fixes (Mainboads PSU's)

  1. #1
    I can perform re-caps. Uniserver's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Southfield, Mi
    Posts
    8
    Feedback
    0

    Default I perform Re-Cap's / Mod's / Fixes (Mainboads PSU's)

    Hey there,
    I have been doing alot of work with vintage Apple Computers.

    You can check out my website www.maccaps.com

    I'm rather new with Amiga's, However, A cap is a cap.
    Some boards are known for errors in the silkscreening.

    Make sure to let me know, just to make sure i'm aware.

    Located in Michigan, USA.

    To give you an example of one of my international transactions:

    I just did a Basic Re-cap to a Quadra 840av for a gentleman in Normandy, France. I'm not aware of what he spent to send it to me, However it was just a normal re-cap with OEM replacement caps, I used high quality panasonic caps.

    My charge was only 35 dollars, and return shipping in a small box, 2.6 Lbs was 41.13 USPS Priority (international)

    Domestic:
    The medium Flat rate boxes for 12 bucks are great.
    USPS Padded Flat rate can be use as well 6 bucks.

    If the PCB is under 13oz's you can send First Class, Padded envelope
    for 3-4 dollars.


    Lots of re-caps will be around 35 dollars (+ return shipping) including quality, and a reasonable quantity of caps. Some of the larger boards with lots of various cap values and packages, will be closer to 45 dollars. Like the Amiga 4000 or Macintosh Portable 5120.

    Here is a very kind video review of an Amiga 4000, This Re-Cap i did turned out fantastic! http://youtu.be/ZTij3AT7Mkw

    Also i have a Re-Cap thread over at 68kmla.org, In this thread is requests and reviews of my work.
    http://68kmla.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=20193

    Let me know what you need, I'm here to help, I do a great job.

    Also, I'm known to take on boards that have damage including rotted traces and via's, I charge a flat rate of $50 Over a re-cap has been preformed, that includes 2 hours of Diagnostics/Troubleshooting/Repair.
    Good news is there is a decent amount of technical instructions and electrical schematics out there for this vintage hardware on the net.

    Most of the time I can take care of whatever the additional issues are with in the $50 Flat Rate charge. However, before I would even consider offering the $50 Flat Rate Service, I wold determine wether or not its viable to even fix.

    There Has been a case or two, Where the board was just destroyed and not viable to fix. I'm sure you get what I am saying, Those PRAM battery explosions can be very nasty.

    Most of the time I can determine this with a reasonable quality picture of the PCB. - Only necessary if you are concerned there is additional damage due to leaking battery, or corrosive cap goo, or any other kind of various damage.

    Obviously you have to gage how much you are spending, and determine what the value of what needs to be fixed, either nostalgic value or money value.
    Sometimes saying, Hey this is bad, I need to find another one. Lots of times with this vintage hardware, If the replacement has not been properly serviced with new Capacitors installed, you will be in the same boat soon.

    PM me and let me know what i can do for you.
    Charles


    PS:
    All Re-Caps include a professional clean, and Anti Corrosion / Polish Treatment.
    Last edited by johnim; 29th May 2013 at 18:52. Reason: email removed please keep it to pm

  2. #2
    amiman99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Country
    San Antonio
    Region:
    Texas
    Age
    43
    Posts
    52
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    I'll keep an eye on you just in case I need your service.

  3. #3
    I can perform re-caps. Uniserver's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Southfield, Mi
    Posts
    8
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    ok, sounds good, also if you would like to try and re-cap it your self I have some info/links to help you on my site.
    www.maccaps.com

  4. #4
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    37
    Posts
    20,545
    Feedback
    989 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Hi & welcome. It's nice to see a re-cap service in the US as quite a few people have asked

    If you are asked to do timing fixes there is a lot of useful info here:

    http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/am..._mobo_fix.html

  5. #5
    NJRoadfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Union, NJ
    Posts
    73
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    I was the one that made the video review above. The recap service was fast and friendly. If you are in the US, this is the "go to" service for capacitor replacement as shipping is much cheaper with no need to worry about customs.

    Charles also had no problem with properly installing the caps in the correct direction on the Commodore Rev 3.1 A3640 card and with installing non-polarized caps on the audio output circuit. The boards also came back professionally cleaned.

  6. #6
    I can perform re-caps. Uniserver's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Southfield, Mi
    Posts
    8
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Sorry to be off topic, but this hobby looks like an expensive addiction

    I am still looking to finally own an Amiga of my own, I would be willing to accept a trade, maybe you have a few extras?(hopefully you didn't pay a fortune for) and Would like to send me one in trade for some re-caps?

    Let me know, Thank You.
    Charles

  7. #7
    NJRoadfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Union, NJ
    Posts
    73
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    Post a thread in the Wanted forum and scour the For Sale forum daily. Worked for me.

  8. #8
    nekonoko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    California
    Posts
    74
    Feedback
    18 (100%)

    Default

    Do you do chip upgrades such as Super Buster rev 09 to rev 11? The Buster chip on my A4000 is soldered down rather than in a socket, and it's surface mount.

  9. #9
    I can perform re-caps. Uniserver's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Southfield, Mi
    Posts
    8
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    I am pretty decent with a heat gun,

    I would mask the area really well with tin foil.
    Flux it up and sweat old one off and new one on.

    I have done this with I/C's before, and ram.

    Let me know if you think that might work out for you...

  10. #10
    armalyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    14
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Sending PM

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 3rd June 2013, 19:14
  2. Replies: 179
    Last Post: 21st January 2013, 11:59
  3. A1200 2B board timing fixes
    By ByteRyder in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 26th August 2012, 20:01

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •