Page 1 of 13 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 122

Thread: A500 (r6a) 1MB CHIP RAM Modification: Caution dialup users: excessive H/W pr0n!

  1. #1
    Ya' Like it Retr0? VIP Zetr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    44
    Posts
    11,105
    Feedback
    137 (100%)

    Default A500 (r6a) 1MB CHIP RAM Modification: Caution dialup users: excessive H/W pr0n!

    Hello there my fellow AmiBayers

    Recently I put up for sale a 512KB A500 Upgrade -

    If plugged into a Basic A500+ it adds it to the CHIP ram (giving 1.5MB CHIP), however if plugged into a basic A500 it would add the 512KB as OTHER ram, thus leaving the precious CHIP ram at 512KB =(

    Well we cannot have this so here is a modification that you can do at home with just a craft knife, two track cuts and a soldering iron.


    Skills Required

    1. Ability to handle a *sharp* craft knife
    2. Basic multi-meter use *continuity mode*
    3. Ability to solder one point


    First Notice

    This (HOW TO) is based on a Rev6a A500 motherboard, with an 8372a Agnus, If I find an older board I will do a how-to as well.

    Second Notice

    If you perform these alterations it is on your OWN ONUS; that means if kill the A500, you hurt yourself or others,or blow-up the street its YOUR FAULT, you do this on your OWN responsiblity


    This disclaimer includes but is not limmited by you wanting or having the urge to sing anything by "Barbra Streisand", "Wham" or "Miami Sound Machine" has NOTHING to do with me.



    Now, with that in mind we can begin =)
    8)Flux Mastah' Zee8)
    50 L337 1'M W1R3FR4M3

  2. #2
    Ya' Like it Retr0? VIP Zetr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    44
    Posts
    11,105
    Feedback
    137 (100%)

    Default

    [update]

    Sadly the sever housing these images no longer exists, as such some images have been lost.


    Overview of the Mod



    With Jumper location JP2 (cut and soldered)



    with Jumper location JP7A (trace cut)
    Last edited by Zetr0; 13th August 2012 at 17:27.
    8)Flux Mastah' Zee8)
    50 L337 1'M W1R3FR4M3

  3. #3
    Ya' Like it Retr0? VIP Zetr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    44
    Posts
    11,105
    Feedback
    137 (100%)

    Default

    Before the Modifcation


    heres JP7A (click to enlarge)


    Heres what Workbench says (click to enlarge)



    Need to get a *before* shot of JP2.... I forgot.... wheres that time machine got to?... i know its around here somewhere...
    8)Flux Mastah' Zee8)
    50 L337 1'M W1R3FR4M3

  4. #4
    Ya' Like it Retr0? VIP Zetr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    44
    Posts
    11,105
    Feedback
    137 (100%)

    Default

    Modding Time


    JP2 CUT



    JP7A CUT



    JP2 SOLDER
    8)Flux Mastah' Zee8)
    50 L337 1'M W1R3FR4M3

  5. #5
    Ya' Like it Retr0? VIP Zetr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    44
    Posts
    11,105
    Feedback
    137 (100%)

    Default

    After Modification


    As they say on most cooking programs - is should look like this =D


    JP2 (click for larger images)



    JP7A (click for larger images)
    8)Flux Mastah' Zee8)
    50 L337 1'M W1R3FR4M3

  6. #6
    Ya' Like it Retr0? VIP Zetr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    44
    Posts
    11,105
    Feedback
    137 (100%)

    Default

    Testing the Modification


    JP2 - Cut (testing disconnection of pad 2 and 3)



    JP2 - Solder (testing connection of pad 1 and 2) *click to enlarge*



    JP7A - Cut (Testing disconnection of pad 2 and 3
    8)Flux Mastah' Zee8)
    50 L337 1'M W1R3FR4M3

  7. #7
    Ya' Like it Retr0? VIP Zetr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    44
    Posts
    11,105
    Feedback
    137 (100%)

    Default

    Making it Happen


    So finally -

    we have cut two traces and soldered two pads together -
    we have also tested (continuity) to make sure our work is sound -

    Whats next?

    Turning it ON!!!!



    Heres the Lashup - A500 with A501 and A500HC+ (8MB RAM)

    (going to point out that the SCSI controller is connected to a SCSI->IDE adapter with a WinUAE formatted and prepped (OS3.1) on a 4.1GB HDD)



    And there is LIFE!




    Whats Workbench Say? (tell me tell me TELL ME!!!!) *click to enlarge*




    And there you have it, this took no more than 25 minutes to do AND I was taking pictures... this shouldn't take anyore more than 15 minutes in thier own home... just remember if in doubt ask before blowing somthing up.
    8)Flux Mastah' Zee8)
    50 L337 1'M W1R3FR4M3

  8. #8
    Amibayer! inoel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Country
    uk
    Region:
    WALES
    Posts
    326
    Feedback
    32 (100%)

    Default

    dont have the ram cards yet can i pay any of you to do this for me ?
    I will be geting two a500 in march also need 3.1 roms in them

  9. #9
    Ya' Like it Retr0? VIP Zetr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    44
    Posts
    11,105
    Feedback
    137 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by keropi View Post
    this thread will be awesome to the max
    Thanks my friend, this was a quick one -

    Its important to note that IF one wanted to, you could populate the empty memory spaces at the bottom of the motherboard

    [I]

    if you notice in the above picture, at the bottom of the board is the chip-memory - you will also notice that there are 4 unpopulated spaces -

    With this mod - you can poluate those spaces with 4 20 pin 256x4 DIP memory modules - Thus rendering the trapdoor interface - for the most part - redundant.
    8)Flux Mastah' Zee8)
    50 L337 1'M W1R3FR4M3

  10. #10
    Mondeo Man VIP
    Amibayer!
    r0jaws's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Boston, Lincolnshire
    Age
    44
    Posts
    7,620
    Feedback
    160 (100%)

    Default

    Nice Tute chap,
    I think anyone should be able to give that a go.

Page 1 of 13 1234511 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Closed A500 / a500+ 512KB Chip Ram upgrade
    By Zetr0 in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 8th August 2010, 00:29
  2. AMMRAM v1 - 1MB+ A500 chip upgrade
    By Zetr0 in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th March 2010, 09:10
  3. 1200 pr0n for Zetro
    By Justin in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 7th November 2009, 11:12
  4. new 1200 pr0n
    By Justin in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 18th December 2008, 05:47

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •