Page 1 of 11 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 106

Thread: Cloning an MIF ISA Card

  1. #1
    Amibayer! Bryce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Nordrhein Westfalen
    Posts
    2,126
    Feedback
    73 (100%)

    Default Cloning an MIF ISA Card

    Hi all,
    PeterNY was looking for someone to build him an MIF-IPC-A card here: http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=56345
    So I thought, why not? Nice mini project. All the details I need are there, just need to get the parts. This morning the last of the parts arrived, so I've set up this thread for Peter (and any one else who's interested) to follow the project. The parts can bee seen below. The PCB was ordered from the other bay from a guy in Thailand. The back-plate didn't come with the PCB, but luckily, the connector positions are exactly the same as a standard RS232 backplate, which are easy to find. So it will look like a proper card when finished, without me having to hack away at a blank back-plate.
    Unfortunately, I own neither an ISA PC nor an MPU thingy to test it with, so it's going to be a case of building it "blind" and sending it to Peter for testing. I've ordered enough parts to build two of them, so if Peters doesn't work, I can check my copy here, which might help to find the problem (I hope).
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails MIF_Parts.jpg  

  2. #2
    Mega AmiMod
    Staff Moderator
    keropi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Greece
    Region:
    Ioannina
    Age
    39
    Posts
    7,192
    Feedback
    138 (100%)

    Default

    amazing, please keep the pics coming Bryce
    Aacheron and slk486 are my heroes
    A1200D mfilos ed. : ACA 1231/42 , Indivision MK2 , IDEfix Express , Subway , PicoPSU 120w custom 3.9 ROM/OS

  3. #3

    Default

    Looks great! I look forward to testing the first prototype. Thanks again Bryce!

  4. #4
    Amibayer! Xanxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Country
    France
    Region:
    Paris
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,557
    Feedback
    116 (100%)

    Default

    Great project.
    I don't have any ISA PC but i do have ISA Amiga and bridgeboards: that could be a direct way of testing it for you.
    A4000/CSMKII60/C643D/Deneb/CatWeasel/A2386/STBNitro/SB16/MT32
    A500+/Viper520CD/KCSPowerPC


  5. #5
    Mega AmiMod
    Staff Moderator
    keropi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Greece
    Region:
    Ioannina
    Age
    39
    Posts
    7,192
    Feedback
    138 (100%)

    Default

    ^ you can't really test the card without a MPU401 Break-Out-Box and some midi synth connected to it , the BoB holds all the important stuff inside, the ISA card is a simple interface one
    Last edited by keropi; 8th February 2014 at 14:11.
    Aacheron and slk486 are my heroes
    A1200D mfilos ed. : ACA 1231/42 , Indivision MK2 , IDEfix Express , Subway , PicoPSU 120w custom 3.9 ROM/OS

  6. #6
    Amibayer! Bryce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Nordrhein Westfalen
    Posts
    2,126
    Feedback
    73 (100%)

    Default

    Due to a small boy (2.5 years old) who seems to think that my "raison d'etre" is to entertain him, it doesn't look like I'm going to get all that much done today. So here's a few pics of what's done. I've positioned the ICs (same positions as the real card here: http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-ZepyfIOh6Y...615_171440.png as I assume that they at least spent some time working out where the best positions for routing are) and I've wired up the GND to all ICs and have started on the VCC. I intend wiring all power on the lower side and all data wires on the top side.

    Bryce.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails MIF1.jpg   MIF2.jpg  

  7. #7

    Talking

    Looks great already! I have an almost 2 year old and a 4 month old son so I know how distracting that is.
    Last edited by PeterNC; 8th February 2014 at 14:55.

  8. #8
    Amibayer! Bryce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Nordrhein Westfalen
    Posts
    2,126
    Feedback
    73 (100%)

    Default

    Quick update. It turns out that the back-plate I've shown above doesn't fit the card properly. Although the plate lines up perfectly with the 25pin and 9pin connectors, the plate is positioned too high on the card. However, it looks like a plate with a single 25pin hole in the centre will fit. I'll search one out from my box of PC scraps later and confirm this. Luckily I only need the 25pin connection

    Bryce.

  9. #9

    Default

    Excellent Sir. In case you need me to pick up super cheap PCBs on eBay and mail you 2 backplates let me know.

  10. #10
    diskers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    Maz
    Posts
    1,008
    Feedback
    66 (100%)

    Default

    Hi guys,
    I know a company here that can make one or two layer PCBs from eagle format and as I remember well also from KiCad format at quite reasonable prices and in a quiet good quality as I have some midi modules this project seems quite interesting to me. Anyway let me know the exact dimensions of the PCB and I will ask the prices and the minimal order (I ordered from them one day a single layer PCBs and payed 12 or 15€ - they are counting at
    1 dm²).

Page 1 of 11 12345 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 47
    Last Post: 1st October 2017, 18:08
  2. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 26th July 2013, 10:43
  3. Closed Sound Card | Firewire Card | ISDN Card
    By af1 in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th May 2012, 14:40
  4. Cloning Amiga Hard Drives.
    By Mendel in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 8th March 2012, 09:05

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •