Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Tutorial:- Large Disk Support for Amiga OS (Workbench)

  1. #1
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    41
    Posts
    21,844
    Feedback
    1027 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Tutorial:- Large Disk Support for Amiga OS (Workbench)

    Hi!

    This is my first attempt at a tutorial Video for Large Disk support, I've always avoided doing this due to the complexity but as so many people have asked... Please note I cannot accept any liability if you misuse tools like Diskpart and loose your Data. I recommend you read up on the documentation for all software demonstrated.

    The aim of this guide is to show you the steps to prepare a large drive for Amiga use, as you might know the original IDE device has a 4gb limit so we need to patch this and the file system to allow larger drives to be used. The Video covers this along with partitioning the drive, adding the file system and even getting Workbench onto the drive.

    I hope the tutorial helps and is not overly complicated, please note you will need to have a reasonably good understanding of AmigaOS and be familiar with WinUAE/Windows. I'm using Classic Workbench for my guide, the steps will be similar in a normal Workbench releases but the scsi.device patching in 3.1 would be a little more complex.

    I will try and help with any questions but there are a lot of different file systems and eventualities involved, some can be extremely complex depending on your target Amiga.

    Thanks for watching! =D



    If you're a beginner and need a step by step guide to setting up a more basic install you can see my other tutorial here:

    http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=42411
    My YouTube Channel:
    https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

    CD32 + TF330, A500+ Vampire V2, A1200T Black Box + Mediator B1260 + Killer K1 PPC

  2. #2
    Confused retro man Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    scrappysphinx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Nottingham
    Age
    35
    Posts
    7,180
    Feedback
    495 (100%)

    Default

    Hi Steve, I haven't watched the tutorial yet but managed to set up a 60gb 2.5" hdd using sfs file system and patched scsi.device which is working on the SX1 and appears to be fine. I was wondering though, do you need to change the max transfers with a real hdd like a CF card cause i don't remember changing them.
    Last edited by scrappysphinx; 27th March 2014 at 18:43.

  3. #3
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    41
    Posts
    21,844
    Feedback
    1027 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scrappysphinx View Post
    Hi Steve, I haven't watched the tutorial yet but managed to set up a 60gb 2.5" hdd using sfs file system and patched scsi.device which is working on the SX1 and appears to be fine. I was wondering though, do you need to change the max transfers with a real hdd like a CF card cause i don't remember changing them.
    Yes you do, only some very old HDD and with real SCSI setups you can leave them safely.
    My YouTube Channel:
    https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

    CD32 + TF330, A500+ Vampire V2, A1200T Black Box + Mediator B1260 + Killer K1 PPC

  4. #4
    Inactive Member
    VIP
    johnim's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    birmingham
    Age
    44
    Posts
    11,850
    Feedback
    153 (100%)

    Default

    nice steve sticky again
    Gone but not forgotten. RIP John.

  5. #5
    Truth, Justice, all that stuff. Inactive Member
    VIP
    Amibayer!
    Tajmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire
    Posts
    5,671
    Feedback
    289 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnim View Post
    nice steve sticky again
    Quote of the month!!!!!
    :boing:OS4Depot http://www.os4depot.net/ - Its like Aminet for OS4! :D
    :rainbow: RunInUAE http://cshandley.co.uk/ - No NextGen Amiga should be without this!

  6. #6
    Inactive Member
    VIP
    johnim's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    birmingham
    Age
    44
    Posts
    11,850
    Feedback
    153 (100%)

    Default

    Gone but not forgotten. RIP John.

  7. #7
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    41
    Posts
    21,844
    Feedback
    1027 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnim View Post
    nice steve sticky again
    Cheers John
    My YouTube Channel:
    https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

    CD32 + TF330, A500+ Vampire V2, A1200T Black Box + Mediator B1260 + Killer K1 PPC

  8. #8
    The 1 That Ribbits Inactive Member
    VIP
    Amibayer!
    cosmicfrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Leek, Staffordshire Moorlands
    Age
    53
    Posts
    3,390
    Feedback
    80 (99%)
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    watchd ya pFS vid a few times now steve yep and a few after in the play list, well done

    Ive just come across this site with the majic number 911
    have no need to try his disk but as I done a search for it on here n no 1s posted I might as well do it, he also has utube vids all 4 of em


    this is probably the wrong place to post about a boot disk but its as good as any and am sure some 1 with better skills than me can move it to an aproperate place if needed, well heres the linky
    http://amiga911maker.site11.com/index-1024.htm
    The one that Ribbits Frist Ribbits Loudest :rainbow::boing::inlove:
    If it dos`t work Hit it with a Hammer, If that dost work get a bigger Hammer, If that dos`t work get the gas axe out :mad:
    Up Front and Central Takeing flack as usual so the rest of you can do that pincer movement

  9. #9
    Inactive Member Aysel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Mansfield
    Posts
    808
    Feedback
    78 (100%)

    Default

    Hi Steve, thanks for this guide, going to have a bash tonight with a Buddha Flash Pheonix and a 16gb CF.

    just one question, when you updated the SCSI device the three options were for 600/1200/4000... Does classic workbench have a 2000 equivalent too?

    thanks
    [CENTER][SIZE=1][B]*A4000 [/B][COLOR=#000000]CYBERSTORM 060,CYBERVISION 64/3D [/COLOR][/SIZE][COLOR=#000000][SIZE=1][SIZE=2][SIZE=1][B]*A3000[/B] WARPENGINE 040,PICASSO IV,A2386 *[B]A4000[/B] 040,QUADDOUBLER @57,PICASSO II,INDIV AGA,256MB *[B]A2000[/B] GVP G-FORCE 040 @44mhz 64MB,PICASSO II,INDIV ECS,BUDDHA *[B]A1200[/B],1230IV50 *[B]A1000[/B] SIDECAR *[B]A500[/B] A590,A570,ACA500 *[B]CD32[/B] PARAVISION SX1,FMV[B] *A600 *C64MK1 [/B]REU512K,SID2 *[B]C128D[/B] SD2IEC,1581,NIC+[B] *PET 8032SK [/B][FONT=Tahoma]8850[B][B] *PET8032 *C16 [/B][/B]1551[B][B] *C+4 *VIC20 *RISC PC *SX64[/B][/B][/FONT][/SIZE][/SIZE]
    [/SIZE][/COLOR][/CENTER]

  10. #10
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    41
    Posts
    21,844
    Feedback
    1027 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Hi Mate,

    Check the Buddha flash doc's but I'm pretty sure it supports TD64 commands already and also comes with IDEFix97 package. All you need to do is make sure you use SFS or PFS3aio and you're good to go.

    So just follow the bit about preparing the drive and then install IDEFix97

    No need to patch any scsi.device unless you are using the native Amiga IDE
    My YouTube Channel:
    https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

    CD32 + TF330, A500+ Vampire V2, A1200T Black Box + Mediator B1260 + Killer K1 PPC

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 28
    Last Post: 4th May 2016, 12:40
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 18th March 2013, 17:03
  3. Wanted Amiga Workbench 3.0 Install Disk??
    By Aezeroony in forum Amiga
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th February 2013, 01:27
  4. Closed A1200 Floppy disk support, HD support and Metallic shield.
    By Marmes in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th July 2012, 00:03
  5. Closed FREE large disk collection + disk cases
    By pkillo in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th December 2010, 08:29

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •