Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: amiga HD CF card - will it also work in PCMCIA adaptor?

  1. #1
    68060 80mhz RobA1200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    watford
    Age
    41
    Posts
    443
    Feedback
    15 (100%)

    Default amiga HD CF card - will it also work in PCMCIA adaptor?

    hi all

    not to boot - altough that would be nice - can I access the files on a cf card that has been set up to plug into and ide adaptor via a PCMCIA adaptor?

    thanks!
    A1200 : Apollo 060 80mhz : OS3.9 : 64 mb : CF : indivision mk2 cr : BenQ BL912
    BBC model B : 32k : twin 5.25 : watford electronics : turbo MMC : - A600HD 20MB HD
    A2000 : ECS : 68010 : GVP HC+8 : XT bridge board : A2630 25mhz : supra 4mb card
    A4000/040 : 256mb RAM : M1438S : ---- macintosh SE 4mb : 80MB HD : ext 20MB HD

  2. #2
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    39
    Posts
    21,349
    Feedback
    1011 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Yes it should but you might need to edit the CF0 file as possibly it points to FAT95 as the file system expected. But I'm sure someone who knows will be along, it probably wont be hot swappable like FAT tho, you might have to have it in at boot time.
    My Website has moved to: https://fitzstevesamigaworld.000webhostapp.com/ It's now on Free Hosting to preserve the content.
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

  3. #3
    Amibayer! -Acid-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    South Shields
    Age
    42
    Posts
    3,841
    Feedback
    218 (100%)

    Default

    Some cards (such as Kingston 4GB flower design card) work on the ide connector but do not work in the pcmcia slot. It's completely down to the card if it will work or not the only way to know for sure is to try it or find someone who has. Also I'm not sure if you can read Amiga formatted cards in the pcmcia slot as far as I know only fat95 file system works, (i'd like to be enlightened if that isn't the case).
    Last edited by -Acid-; 6th April 2014 at 20:04.

  4. #4
    Nobby_UK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Liverpool, Lancs
    Age
    62
    Posts
    741
    Feedback
    24 (100%)

    Default

    It is possible --- I have just done it using X file sytem (xfsd)

    (Quick)Grabs:






    Changed the names and device IDs to avoid conflict
    IE Maxell 1&2 and DH0&1 vs SYTEM (SDH0) + STUFF (SDH1)

    Last edited by Nobby_UK; 8th April 2014 at 20:39. Reason: Updated Grabs
    Atari 2600, Sega Master System + Mega Drive, PlayStation, PS2 + PS3.
    ZX Spectrum +, Amiga 500, A500 Plus, A600, A1200 + CD32.
    Also lots of self built (AMD+Nvida) PC's... + Raspberry & Orange Pi's.

  5. #5
    Amibayer! fgh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Country
    Norway
    Region:
    Lindesnes
    Posts
    748
    Feedback
    85 (100%)

    Default

    As Acid said a few CF cards do not work with compactflash.device.
    Otherwise it works, you just need to create an appropriate mountfile.
    For amiga file systems you need to define the size of the card in the mountfile (FAT95 does this automagically.)
    Use Giggledisk on aminet to create the mountfile.

    (It would also be possible to start the boot process from floppy or hdd, load compactflash.device and then load the system from the PCMCIA)

    Edit: Two days ago, a new version of compactflash.device was uploaded to aminet. Now it is rommable to allow booting with a custom kickstart ROM.
    Last edited by fgh; 7th April 2014 at 11:56.

  6. #6
    68060 80mhz RobA1200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    watford
    Age
    41
    Posts
    443
    Feedback
    15 (100%)

    Default

    sounds good!thanks - wil try this tonight
    A1200 : Apollo 060 80mhz : OS3.9 : 64 mb : CF : indivision mk2 cr : BenQ BL912
    BBC model B : 32k : twin 5.25 : watford electronics : turbo MMC : - A600HD 20MB HD
    A2000 : ECS : 68010 : GVP HC+8 : XT bridge board : A2630 25mhz : supra 4mb card
    A4000/040 : 256mb RAM : M1438S : ---- macintosh SE 4mb : 80MB HD : ext 20MB HD

  7. #7
    Sautebroussailles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Country
    Belgium
    Region:
    Brussels
    Age
    43
    Posts
    283
    Feedback
    17 (100%)

    Default

    I remember my first A1200 back in 1993. She was joined a few months later with a 125MB Archos Overdrive pcmcia to IDE harddrive : http://www.bboah.com/index.php?action=artikel&cat=59&id=2508&artlang=en&highlight=overdrive

    I guess if it was relatively easy to boot from an IDE HD connected to the pcmcia slot, I don't expect to be too hard to do it with a CF/SD. Maybe you'd have to mess around a bit with the mountlist to convince compactflash.device and cf0 to work together.

    Though one might point out that having your system partition accessible via the pcmcia connector is even slower than the internal PIO 0 IDE...
    It certainly worked well for me on Workbench 3.0 and 8 colors Magic Workbench on my stock A1200.
    But anything fancyer than that will feel kinda sluggish

    My 2 cents.
    Last edited by Sautebroussailles; 7th April 2014 at 10:18.
    A1230-A1260T-A3040D-A520(ACA500+1221)-A600-µAOne-CPC464/6128/6128+/PCW8256-C64/128-Msx Sony-Thom. T08D/T09/M05-Sinclair 48/+/+2A/QL-Atari 1040STF/Falcon030-Apple II clone-GX4000-Atari 2600/7800/Jaguar- Intellivision -Sega MS/MD/MegaCD/32X/Saturn/DC-Nintendo Nes/GBA/SNes/N64/Gamecube/Wii-PCengine/SuperGrafX/Duo-RX -Sony PS 1/2/3-XBox-Amiga CD32-NeogeoCD-3DO

  8. #8
    Amibayer! fgh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Country
    Norway
    Region:
    Lindesnes
    Posts
    748
    Feedback
    85 (100%)

    Default

    As far as I understand the overdrive uses carddisk.device as its driver. It is bootable since carddisk.device is in the kickstart ROM.

    Carddisk.device does not work with flash cards, this is why compactflash.device was created.

    Edit: Two days ago a new version of compactflash.device was uploaded to aminet. Now it is rommable, to allow booting with a custom kickstart ROM.
    Last edited by fgh; 7th April 2014 at 11:57.

Similar Threads

  1. I can't get PCMCIA to work on my a1200
    By Memphis in forum AmigaKit.com
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 31st October 2013, 16:28
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th March 2013, 14:05
  3. Closed PCMCIA Wireless Network Card and PCMCIA 90 degree adaptor
    By tribz in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th March 2013, 07:43
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 17th June 2012, 22:09
  5. PCMCIA NIC work on amiga?
    By RedDaemonFox in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th June 2009, 23:18

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •