Page 1 of 12 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 120

Thread: Apollo 1240/60 64 mb single simm

  1. #1
    Amibayer! Marmes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Country
    Portugal
    Region:
    Amadora
    Posts
    1,920
    Feedback
    250 (100%)

    Default Apollo 1240/60 64 mb single simm

    I made this mod to my apollo, because I don't have a tower and want to see some nice demos that require 64mb ram.
    Apollo didn't accept more than 32mb per simm, now it does I don't know if it will accept 128mb because I don't have one but will make some more tests.
    Did some mem tests, all ran fine! Tested with 4mb, 16mb, 32mb and 64mb.
    Here are some pics.
    I used a a gal22v10, because it was what I had here.
    More info will come soon..
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20140412_002553.jpg 
Views:	679 
Size:	195.5 KB 
ID:	67271Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20140412_002608.jpg 
Views:	533 
Size:	170.3 KB 
ID:	67272Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20140412_002616.jpg 
Views:	702 
Size:	195.7 KB 
ID:	67273Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20140412_003726.jpg 
Views:	524 
Size:	204.9 KB 
ID:	67274
    Last edited by Marmes; 12th April 2014 at 03:14.

  2. #2
    Amibayer! jcarvalho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Country
    Portugal
    Region:
    Oporto
    Age
    46
    Posts
    720
    Feedback
    49 (100%)

    Default

    I want one for my Apollo!!!! YOU ARE THE MAN!
    Consoles: 2x DC, 1x XBOX360 Xenon jtag, 2x XBOX1, 2xPS3 CFW, 2x Sega Saturn, 2xGameCube, 2x PS1 Fat CBM: 2x A500, 1x500+, 1200, 2000, 2xC64, 64 breadbin boxed, 2xC128 Atari: 1x Atari STe 4Mb, Atari 1040STFM, Atari 800XL Sinclair:48K boxed, +2,+3, 128k Timex: 3xTC2068, 2xTC2048, non-working Timex 2048 Amstrad: CPC6128.

  3. #3
    Amiga fanboy VIP
    Amibayer!
    rkauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Brazil
    Region:
    São Leopoldo, RS
    Age
    52
    Posts
    11,967
    Feedback
    110 (100%)

    Default

    Simply awesome.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	legendary.jpg 
Views:	152 
Size:	22.0 KB 
ID:	67275

    Moar! I want to know moar!
    David Bradley made Ctrl+Alt+Del, Gates turn it mandatory
    16 Amigas at home :D
    3x C= 64 :smile:
    1 VIC-20 :smile:
    8 PC (argh) :thumbsdown: at least one is an AROS/Amithlon unit

  4. #4
    resistance is futile! Amibayer! roy_bates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Country
    england
    Region:
    birmingham
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,474
    Feedback
    102 (100%)

    Default

    ok,you got my attention


    have you connected the missing address line,if so it should accept 128mb.

    the question that beckons is: did you do it for both sockets?
    Last edited by roy_bates; 12th April 2014 at 09:39.
    i have got too much hardware,it would only hurt your eyes to look at it here

  5. #5
    Amibayer! Marmes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Country
    Portugal
    Region:
    Amadora
    Posts
    1,920
    Feedback
    250 (100%)

    Default

    Hi!
    I could use both sockets, but I choose to use only one. I used the missing adress, as I said I only tested with the above memories, I don't have an 128mb ram simm that's why I can't confirm if it works or not, but will have soon. I need to find a good design so it can fit an apollo nicelly. I also think we need to remove 27c socket and solder the eeprom directly, so we can fit the simm, or just find a nice 64mb or 128mb (to be tested) simm.
    I just don't understand why didn't they do this in the begining.
    Last edited by Marmes; 12th April 2014 at 16:20.

  6. #6
    resistance is futile! Amibayer! roy_bates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Country
    england
    Region:
    birmingham
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,474
    Feedback
    102 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marmes View Post
    Hi!
    I could use both sockets, but I choose to use only one. I used the missing adress, as I said I only tested with the above memories, I don't I have an 128mb ram simm that's why I can't confirm if it works or not, but will have soon. I need to find a good design so it can fit an apollo nicelly. I also think we need to remove 27c socket and solder the eeprom directly, so we can fit the simm, or just find a nice 64mb or 128mb (to be tested) simm.
    I just don't understand why didn't they do this in the begining.
    let us know if you do a run of boards with programmed gals as im interested.
    or offer a service for programming the gals,will you be releasing the schematic?
    i suppose you will be as it needs a few flying leads soldered on the board.

    please,please let us know if you connected the missing address line for the second socket as well.

    #finger over the buy it now button for two 128mb simms#

    please test it with a 060 on board as well,as i think the bootrom is slightly different.
    Last edited by roy_bates; 12th April 2014 at 13:51.
    i have got too much hardware,it would only hurt your eyes to look at it here

  7. #7
    Ya' Like it Retr0? VIP Zetr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    44
    Posts
    11,105
    Feedback
    137 (100%)

    Default

    Wow, NICE Marmes!

    I shall be getting / making a couple of these =)
    Last edited by Zetr0; 12th April 2014 at 14:33.
    8)Flux Mastah' Zee8)
    50 L337 1'M W1R3FR4M3

  8. #8
    Acceleration! Amibay Treasurer
    Amibayer!
    AmiDev
    Administrator
    AndyLandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Southampton
    Age
    37
    Posts
    11,001
    Feedback
    107 (100%)

    Default

    Oh, nice! There's some tasty hackery right there! Nicely done, sir!

    Thinking about accelerating your A1200? Check out my buyer's guide.

    Projects past and present: Amiga 2000/030 | Amiga 3000/040 | Amiga 4000/060

  9. #9
    Amibayer! Marmes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Country
    Portugal
    Region:
    Amadora
    Posts
    1,920
    Feedback
    250 (100%)

    Default

    I still don't know what to do, I never tested with 2 simms, only one, but here's what I have in mind:
    1- Make a small board with a SOIC gal and a PLCC connector to put on top of MACH210 chip, like an indivision.
    You would need to remove one resistor, solder mach210 directly on board and solder 2 wires.
    2- The same as above, but instead of using plcc , I would be puting a small board soldered on the oposite side of ram connector, remove the resistor and solder 4 wires.
    What would be more interesting?
    I am still not posting nothing because I need a bit more testing. something like 2 or 3 days
    Last edited by Marmes; 12th April 2014 at 16:35.

  10. #10
    resistance is futile! Amibayer! roy_bates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Country
    england
    Region:
    birmingham
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,474
    Feedback
    102 (100%)

    Default

    hi mate,if you can do it so it doesn't interfere with the second simm slot im fine.

    i wont be using it in a desktop machine,but i really want more memory.

    even if it just ends up being a board with jumper wires im fine with that also,i dont need to piggyback the mach.

    i haven't looked at mine for a while,does the missing line connect together on both simm sockets?
    i have got too much hardware,it would only hurt your eyes to look at it here

Page 1 of 12 1234511 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Closed Apollo 1240/40
    By Sveta in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 28th August 2013, 14:21
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th February 2013, 13:53
  3. Closed Need 64MB Simm for Blizzard 1240 T/ERC
    By Godspeed in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd February 2012, 10:00
  4. Sold Apollo 1240/40, 16 MB
    By Janne.P in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 20th December 2010, 16:26
  5. Closed Apollo 1240 68040 25MHz 16Mb SIMM
    By Jaymz in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th July 2010, 05:40

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •