Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: A600 RAM upgrades…

  1. #1
    Inactive Member RobGoodison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Suffolk
    Age
    46
    Posts
    6
    Feedback
    0

    Default A600 RAM upgrades…

    Hi Guys,

    I'm looking for a 1MB Chip RAM expansion for the Amiga 600, preferably with a working, good condition battery backed-up clock.

    I'm also looking for a PCMCIA 'Fast' RAM expansion too - either 2MB or 4MB. Again, good condition required.

    Good prices paid.

    Best regards,

    Rob.

  2. #2
    I look like Gizmo Amibay Treasurer
    Mega AmiMod
    Administrator
    davideo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Boston, Lincs
    Posts
    13,626
    Feedback
    175 (100%)

    Default Re: A600 RAM upgrades…

    Rob,

    You're a week too late - I just sold a (4GB) should have been 4MB Ram card on Amiga.org for £12. All the way to USA!!

    Sorry you missed out. I'll keep my fingers crossed for you.

    Dave G

    Edited: out my typo

  3. #3
    VIP
    Amibayer!
    Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Country
    Australia
    Region:
    Belco
    Posts
    530
    Feedback
    12 (100%)

    Default Re: A600 RAM upgrades…

    Quote Originally Posted by davideo
    I just sold a 4GB Ram card
    4GB?

  4. #4
    I look like Gizmo Amibay Treasurer
    Mega AmiMod
    Administrator
    davideo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Boston, Lincs
    Posts
    13,626
    Feedback
    175 (100%)

    Default Re: A600 RAM upgrades…

    Ooops

    Sorry I got carried away with my MB and GB.

    I meant 4MB.

    Dave G

  5. #5
    Elite ranking Inactive Member
    VIP
    Amibayer!
    meega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    2
    Posts
    1,100
    Feedback
    5 (100%)

    Default Re: A600 RAM upgrades…

    Quote Originally Posted by davideo
    I should think so...

    Flying Spaghetti Monster wrote: noodle noodle noodle

    I am not a democracy.

  6. #6
    Inactive Member RobGoodison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Suffolk
    Age
    46
    Posts
    6
    Feedback
    0

    Default Re: A600 RAM upgrades…

    Quote Originally Posted by davideo
    Rob,

    You're a week too late - I just sold a (4GB) should have been 4MB Ram card on Amiga.org for £12. All the way to USA!!

    Sorry you missed out. I'll keep my fingers crossed for you.

    Dave G

    Edited: out my typo
    Hi Dave,

    Story of my life…

    I've managed to pick up an Amiga 600 with a 1MB Chip RAM upgrade locally, and I've sourced a 2MB PCMCIA RAM upgrade from eBay,
    so I'm hoping that it should be enough for the WHDLoad games I want to run on that machine. All I've got to do now is score a decent A1200 with a Blizzard 1230 accelerator, and I'll be sorted out for my retro Amiga needs.

    Thanks, mate.

    Rob.

  7. #7
    Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge VIP
    Amibayer!
    Merlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Manchester
    Age
    57
    Posts
    16,395
    Feedback
    38 (100%)

    Default Re: A600 RAM upgrades…

    @ Rob,

    If you are struggling, take a look over at EAB or Oldskool UK for the 2Mb piggyback hack that can take an A600 to 2Mb, Zetr0 and I did a post on this hackery. It depends how good your soldering skills are though....
    The future's so Retr0bright, I gotta wear shades.....

    As rkauer said:-
    "Retro computers seems like an orgasm: it is always better to have a real one than fake it".

  8. #8
    I look like Gizmo Amibay Treasurer
    Mega AmiMod
    Administrator
    davideo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Boston, Lincs
    Posts
    13,626
    Feedback
    175 (100%)

    Default Re: A600 RAM upgrades…

    @Rob

    I'm slowly decreasing my ownership of my various Miggys

    I've just agread a deal for my 2000HD, offered my complete CDTV for sale and still have loads left. 2 * desktop 1200 and 2 * 500+ and a 1.2 500. Our house is tooooooooo small to use them on a regular basis and so I've decided to concentrate on my 4000D

    Including (if you're interested) an Infinity towered 1200

    Dave G

  9. #9
    Inactive Member RobGoodison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Suffolk
    Age
    46
    Posts
    6
    Feedback
    0

    Default Re: A600 RAM upgrades…

    Quote Originally Posted by Merlin
    @ Rob,

    If you are struggling, take a look over at EAB or Oldskool UK for the 2Mb piggyback hack that can take an A600 to 2Mb, Zetr0 and I did a post on this hackery. It depends how good your soldering skills are though....
    Thanks Merlin,

    I wouldn't trust my soldering skills with something like that - the very basics, and only then, at a push.

    At least I know there are options available.

    Rob.

  10. #10
    Inactive Member RobGoodison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Country
    England
    Region:
    Suffolk
    Age
    46
    Posts
    6
    Feedback
    0

    Default Re: A600 RAM upgrades…

    Quote Originally Posted by davideo
    @Rob

    I'm slowly decreasing my ownership of my various Miggys

    I've just agread a deal for my 2000HD, offered my complete CDTV for sale and still have loads left. 2 * desktop 1200 and 2 * 500+ and a 1.2 500. Our house is tooooooooo small to use them on a regular basis and so I've decided to concentrate on my 4000D

    Including (if you're interested) an Infinity towered 1200

    Dave G
    I've been down the towered A1200 route in the past - but as I'm only after a WHDLoad machine, it would be overkill.

    I'm trying to keep relatively basic - an A600, or preferably, an A1200 with a Blizzard 1230 Mk. IV accelerator with 32MB RAM.

    It's all a far cry from my A4000T, with CyberStorm 604e PPC/68060, 144MB RAM, Picasso IV+Pablo+Concierto, Algor Pro+Norway…but it will probably play SWOS better

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Desktop 1200 PPC Upgrades, a picture story.
    By r0jaws in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 114
    Last Post: 1st May 2014, 19:09
  2. Closed SOLD:FS: A1200PPC + upgrades + OS4
    By createcoms in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 24th November 2008, 20:56
  3. Closed Wanted: A2000 Accelerator + any other upgrades?
    By AlaCarcuss in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd February 2008, 02:22

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •