Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Archos GamePad 2 First Impressions

  1. #11
    Video Game Merchandise Collector Amibayer! NinjaRabbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    South Gloucestershire
    Posts
    1,267
    Feedback
    21 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    42

    Default

    Sorry for the double-post, but I just had to make a note about this: Today's Amazon Appstore for Android freebie, Super Crossfighter, doesn't work properly on the Archos GamePad 2. The game itself works fine, but once you exit it, it causes strange behaviour, like random inputs (such as changing the sound volume), and random reboots and power-downs, with no warning whatsoever. This continues after the tablet is powered back up, as the game seems to be running in the background once the tablet starts up, even though permission to do that is never asked for or even mentioned.

    For a moment I wondered if something was wrong with the tablet, but removing Super Crossfighter solved the problems instantly. So, yeah, just a heads-up if you happen to have this - it doesn't seem to be ok on this particular device.
    Last edited by NinjaRabbit; 11th November 2014 at 02:28.
    "No need to design a new game - just change the graphics in these few basic designs and put a picture of Indiana Jones on the box! You'll never have to think again!"
    --Jeff Minter, Llamatron Readme

  2. #12
    Only Amiga Makes it Happen Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    manic23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Country
    United Kingdon
    Region:
    Bromley, Kent
    Age
    49
    Posts
    2,346
    Feedback
    155 (100%)

    Default

    Thanks for the heads up in sure there are a load of other apps that also are not compatible with certain models of android devices.
    Commodore Amiga A600 - A601 1mb RAM Upgrade
    Commodore Amiga A500
    - A501 512k RAM Upgrade
    Commodore Amiga A1200 - Blizzard 1230 IV, SCSI Kit & FPU - 128mb Fast Ram
    Commodore Amiga A4000 - Picasso IV - X-Surf 100 - Rapid Road USB - WarpEngine 4040 & 128mb Fast Ram

  3. #13
    Video Game Merchandise Collector Amibayer! NinjaRabbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    South Gloucestershire
    Posts
    1,267
    Feedback
    21 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    42

    Default

    Most definitely, though in those cases they usually won't let you install them to begin with. It's certainly the weirdest incompatibility behaviour I've ever seen, at any rate.
    "No need to design a new game - just change the graphics in these few basic designs and put a picture of Indiana Jones on the box! You'll never have to think again!"
    --Jeff Minter, Llamatron Readme

  4. #14
    Only Amiga Makes it Happen Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    manic23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Country
    United Kingdon
    Region:
    Bromley, Kent
    Age
    49
    Posts
    2,346
    Feedback
    155 (100%)

    Default

    I think I'm going to order one today after seeing the PS1 emulator running on a YT vid I'm sold. I think N64 emulation is still a bit buggy though, mind you what N64 emulator isn't?
    Commodore Amiga A600 - A601 1mb RAM Upgrade
    Commodore Amiga A500
    - A501 512k RAM Upgrade
    Commodore Amiga A1200 - Blizzard 1230 IV, SCSI Kit & FPU - 128mb Fast Ram
    Commodore Amiga A4000 - Picasso IV - X-Surf 100 - Rapid Road USB - WarpEngine 4040 & 128mb Fast Ram

  5. #15
    Video Game Merchandise Collector Amibayer! NinjaRabbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    South Gloucestershire
    Posts
    1,267
    Feedback
    21 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    42

    Default

    Please do post back to say how you get on with it!

    As for N64 emulators, yeah, I've yet to see a super-accurate one, and most of them still run at far too high a frame-rate, the last time I checked, too.
    "No need to design a new game - just change the graphics in these few basic designs and put a picture of Indiana Jones on the box! You'll never have to think again!"
    --Jeff Minter, Llamatron Readme

  6. #16
    Only Amiga Makes it Happen Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    manic23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Country
    United Kingdon
    Region:
    Bromley, Kent
    Age
    49
    Posts
    2,346
    Feedback
    155 (100%)

    Default

    I didn't get one in the end I saw an NEC turbo stick controller for my PC Engine and got that instead! Maybe next month
    Commodore Amiga A600 - A601 1mb RAM Upgrade
    Commodore Amiga A500
    - A501 512k RAM Upgrade
    Commodore Amiga A1200 - Blizzard 1230 IV, SCSI Kit & FPU - 128mb Fast Ram
    Commodore Amiga A4000 - Picasso IV - X-Surf 100 - Rapid Road USB - WarpEngine 4040 & 128mb Fast Ram

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale Archos Gamepad tablet
    By zabrin in forum Other
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th May 2014, 02:10
  2. Review: Tajmaster goes AmigaNG!My first impressions of a SAM
    By Tajmaster in forum Retro Hardware Reviews
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11th February 2012, 09:15

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •