Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 46

Thread: Gotek Floppy Emulator - How to use it?

  1. #21
    GuyLateur's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Country
    Belgium
    Region:
    Gent
    Age
    46
    Posts
    68
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thelemorf View Post
    Try another USB stick, I had to try 3 different ones before it worked..
    Thank you very much for your answer/suggestion, I really appreciate it!

    I've tried with 2 other (older) sticks I had lying around (both 1Gb). Formatting them on FAT32 gave the same problem. I did get an extra format file system on them, though: 'FAT (standard)', which unfortunately didn't work either. I've also tried 'exFAT', to no avail.

    Somebody told me I may want to check my CIA chips. Could that be it? This is a 30 year old A500, after all. Although I can still get it to boot some intros from the external 5.25 FDD..

  2. #22
    Thelemorf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Country
    Boden/Sweden
    Region:
    BD
    Posts
    119
    Feedback
    5 (100%)

    Default

    Did it work with the onboard fdd?
    Try changing place on the cia chips.
    Is it properly flashed and jumpered for amiga?

  3. #23
    GuyLateur's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Country
    Belgium
    Region:
    Gent
    Age
    46
    Posts
    68
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Unfortunately, I can't test the internal drive, as I have no 3.5 disks. It is making the repeated 'insert disk' noise, though.

    And yes, it's supposed to be amiga ready flashed. Can't find much info on the jumpers, though. I'm under the impression they're not that important for end users like me, but I could be wrong..

    Does changing those cia chips involve soldering? It does, doesn't it? *sigh*

  4. #24
    Thelemorf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Country
    Boden/Sweden
    Region:
    BD
    Posts
    119
    Feedback
    5 (100%)

    Default

    No the cia chips are in sockets

  5. #25
    GuyLateur's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Country
    Belgium
    Region:
    Gent
    Age
    46
    Posts
    68
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Beneath the floppy data connection, and on top of each other, right? So I just wiggle them out with a screwdriver and push the new ones in?

  6. #26
    Math inside Amibayer! BLTCON0's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Country
    Hellas (Greece)
    Region:
    Chania, Crete
    Age
    44
    Posts
    2,317
    Feedback
    105 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GuyLateur View Post
    Beneath the floppy data connection, and on top of each other, right? So I just wiggle them out with a screwdriver and push the new ones in?
    Definitely not on top of each other. They are marked ODD CIA (A) [far away from the floppy cable] and EVEN CIA (B) [in the floppy cable region].
    The only other large chip close to the floppy cable is Gary.

  7. #27
    GuyLateur's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Country
    Belgium
    Region:
    Gent
    Age
    46
    Posts
    68
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BLTCON0 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by GuyLateur View Post
    Beneath the floppy data connection, and on top of each other, right? So I just wiggle them out with a screwdriver and push the new ones in?
    Definitely not on top of each other. They are marked ODD CIA (A) [far away from the floppy cable] and EVEN CIA (B) [in the floppy cable region].
    The only other large chip close to the floppy cable is Gary.
    Ok thanks, I'll have a look tonight.

  8. #28
    Amibayer! UberFreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Country
    Israel
    Posts
    1,122
    Feedback
    43 (100%)

    Default

    Make sure the 'S0' jumper is present, and remove the 'S1' jumper, if there's any.
    I've seen many pre-flashed Goteks shipped configured as drive 1 instead of 0 (which you need for internal use).

  9. #29
    GuyLateur's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Country
    Belgium
    Region:
    Gent
    Age
    46
    Posts
    68
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BLTCON0 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by GuyLateur View Post
    Beneath the floppy data connection, and on top of each other, right? So I just wiggle them out with a screwdriver and push the new ones in?
    Definitely not on top of each other. They are marked ODD CIA (A) [far away from the floppy cable] and EVEN CIA (B) [in the floppy cable region].
    The only other large chip close to the floppy cable is Gary.
    Ok, I localised them (8520A-1). There's one to the lower left of the keyboard connector. The other one sits on top of something else (Gary?), and is located beneath the floppy connector. There's a mini-daughterboard inbetween them. I could post a pic if you like.

    Btw, those chips are identical, right? So there's no odd or even chips, but odd and even locations/functionalities? I see no mention of odd/even or A/B on my mobo, btw.

    Also, I saw there are multiple variations of this chip, with varying clock frequencies. So maybe it would be possible to replace them with some other (better/faster/more-readily-available) variant?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by UberFreak View Post
    Make sure the 'S0' jumper is present, and remove the 'S1' jumper, if there's any.
    I've seen many pre-flashed Goteks shipped configured as drive 1 instead of 0 (which you need for internal use).
    It came like this: https://cortexamigafloppydrive.files...ek_pcb_top.jpg
    Which appears to be what you're saying. Thanks for the headsup, though.

    I must say I'm a little disappointed with the info that came with it. I mean, the documentation on the cd leaves a lot to be desired for. Whatever happened to including a manual/user guide? I had to dig pretty hard to find out which one is the S0 pair -- I can't read it on the drive because the case is over it..

  10. #30
    Amibayer! demolition's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Copenhagen
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,362
    Feedback
    67 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GuyLateur View Post
    Btw, those chips are identical, right? So there's no odd or even chips, but odd and even locations/functionalities? I see no mention of odd/even or A/B on my mobo, btw.
    Also, I saw there are multiple variations of this chip, with varying clock frequencies. So maybe it would be possible to replace them with some other (better/faster/more-readily-available) variant?
    Yes, the two chips are identical which is why they can be switched around if you are unsure whether one is broken. There are 1 MHz and 2 MHz versions of those chips, however they will always run at 1 MHz inside the Amiga so there is no difference whether you use one or the other type.

    Regarding the quality of the documentation, you basically get what you pay for. You would likely get better documentation if you had bought an HxC instead of a Gotek but then the price is also different..
    A1200 (NOS) : 030 33MHz 128MB fast RAM (ACA1232) : Indivision AGA MkII : 8GB CF : RR USB : Ethernet
    A600 #1 : 080 V2 : 128MB fast : 2MB chip : Indivision ECS : 32GB CF : RR USB
    : Ethernet | A600 #2 : 010 : 2MB chip
    A500 : 68000 42MHz : 1MB chip : 8MB fast : 4GB CF | A500+ : 080 V2+ : 128MB fast : 2MB chip : 32GB CF

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Gotek Floppy Emulator in external housing :)
    By TroelsDK in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd March 2018, 00:05
  2. For Sale GOTEK floppy emulator with SOUND modification
    By robinsonb5 in forum Amiga
    Replies: 67
    Last Post: 28th March 2016, 18:16
  3. Closed Gotek Floppy Emulator Programmer Amiga USB
    By Friend_plus in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd August 2014, 00:25
  4. Closed gotek floppy emulator
    By oldman1000 in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 1st June 2014, 21:46
  5. Sold Gotek Floppy Emulator Flashed For Amiga
    By kaini in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 8th May 2014, 19:57

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •