Page 3 of 29 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 281

Thread: My A1200D Project

  1. #21
    AmiJunkie Amibayer! portarinos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Country
    Hellas
    Region:
    Volos
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,227
    Feedback
    67 (100%)

    Default

    Maybe a silly idea, but i'll give it a try. Have you tried to give extra "juice" to your mobo by connecting/bridging directly the power connector to your floppy connector? I did the connection from the underneath part of the mobo so no extra wires to occupy valuable space. This trick helped me a lot with the same power issues i had while "building" my 1200 "monster".

  2. #22
    WipEout Fanboi VIP
    Amibayer!
    Phipscube's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Hillerød
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2,217
    Feedback
    60 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by portarinos View Post
    Maybe a silly idea, but i'll give it a try. Have you tried to give extra "juice" to your mobo by connecting/bridging directly the power connector to your floppy connector? I did the connection from the underneath part of the mobo so no extra wires to occupy valuable space. This trick helped me a lot with the same power issues i had while "building" my 1200 "monster".
    Hi portarinos

    Yeah I have made a link from the Power input to the floppy connector, thanks for suggesting though

  3. #23
    WipEout Fanboi VIP
    Amibayer!
    Phipscube's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Hillerød
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2,217
    Feedback
    60 (100%)

    Default

    Ok, I have tried plugging in with only the motherboard, BPPC and BVPPC connected using a 360 W converted ATX PSU. Doesn't boot, +5V directly on the BVPPC regulator is 4.51V using lead connected to floppy port from power connector. 3.3V is reading as 3.31V

    I tried connecting a floppy cable directly from the PSU to the mainboard. The system still didn't boot but the BVPPC now had 4.77V on the regulator and again 3.31V out of the regulator.

    I bought an A600 off QXL.dk for my son and it arrived today, so I took its power supply and tried that (It looks the same as my old A1200 unit, +5V is rated at 3A).... didn't boot and only 3.5V on the regulator for +5V. In all the above scenarios, if I take away the BVPPC and leave only BPPC the machine boots, even with the weedy A600 PSU.

    So is 4.77V on the BVPPC regulator too low? It seems to be to me...
    Last edited by Phipscube; 11th August 2010 at 13:35. Reason: Grammar

  4. #24
    Amiga fanboy VIP
    Amibayer!
    rkauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Brazil
    Region:
    São Leopoldo, RS
    Age
    53
    Posts
    11,967
    Feedback
    110 (100%)

    Default

    Anything less than 4.95V is simply not enough.

    Remember that after the motherboard connector/accelerator connector there'll be another small voltage dropout, and another one on the BVision socket.

    If you feel brave, solder a small wire to add +5V to some place directly in the board, next the 3.3V regulator AS A TEST ONLY! If no bananas, give up, the BVision is dead.
    David Bradley made Ctrl+Alt+Del, Gates turn it mandatory
    16 Amigas at home :D
    3x C= 64 :smile:
    1 VIC-20 :smile:
    8 PC (argh) :thumbsdown: at least one is an AROS/Amithlon unit

  5. #25
    stachu100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    mazowieckie
    Age
    46
    Posts
    3,227
    Feedback
    350 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
    Anything less than 4.95V is simply not enough.
    Well, I had 4,7V on BVision and still working properly

    Quote Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
    If you feel brave, solder a small wire to add +5V to some place directly in the board, next the 3.3V regulator AS A TEST ONLY! If no bananas, give up, the BVision is dead.
    Good method. You can try.
    But if card is not working with 2-3 different PSU's it means that BVision is dead, sorry.

  6. #26
    RISK is good Amibayer! Tomse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Oelstykke
    Age
    44
    Posts
    925
    Feedback
    56 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Phipscube View Post
    I will try with nothing but BPPC and BVPPC, then I will try and find a standard A500 or A1200 PSU locally. if that all fails maybe I can bug Tomse and see if he will try my BVPPC in his setup!
    well any time my friend
    (i'm having vacation next week and home.. hacking my amigas in case you want me to drop by )

    wow.. quite some time ago since I was online here.. hehe

    nice setup so far it seems except for the bvision
    Commodore Magazines, manuals, books and other goodies : http://retro-commodore.eu
    Get Compact Flash Rescue disk here http://www.retro-commodore.eu/files/...05)(Tomse).zip

  7. #27
    WipEout Fanboi VIP
    Amibayer!
    Phipscube's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Hillerød
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2,217
    Feedback
    60 (100%)

    Default

    I tried feeding +5V directly to BVision Regulator and still no joy I think its a dud. I made a bit of a risk buying from ebay a few months ago, I should have waited until after I got the Accelerator, but ah well I wont let it get me down (I am feeling a little sad though).

    Anyway, lots more other hacks to do yet, so I will switch focus to them

    Thanks for the offer Tomse! Be great to meet you and do a bit of hacking! I will talk to you on PM about meeting up

  8. #28
    Amiga fanboy VIP
    Amibayer!
    rkauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Brazil
    Region:
    São Leopoldo, RS
    Age
    53
    Posts
    11,967
    Feedback
    110 (100%)

    Default

    I think you can do a last resource try: snatching the Permedia chip from an old pc video card (a working one, of course!) and send the parts to Stan, as he have enough skills to dessolder and solder the chip over the BVIsion board. Of course if the board have just the Permedia chip dead.

    Stan, is that possible?

    Or give up and build a tower with a Mediator + nice video card.

    Or a GREX, in your case
    David Bradley made Ctrl+Alt+Del, Gates turn it mandatory
    16 Amigas at home :D
    3x C= 64 :smile:
    1 VIC-20 :smile:
    8 PC (argh) :thumbsdown: at least one is an AROS/Amithlon unit

  9. #29
    stachu100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    mazowieckie
    Age
    46
    Posts
    3,227
    Feedback
    350 (100%)

    Default

    No problem, I can replace Permedia 2 chip. Of course if defect will be elsewhere.....

  10. #30
    WipEout Fanboi VIP
    Amibayer!
    Phipscube's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Hillerød
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2,217
    Feedback
    60 (100%)

    Default

    Hi guys

    Well I checked all the tracks and solder joints today under a special magnifying glass at work, all these look great so if there is a problem its a definite component defect.

    I think I will try with Tomse to see how his cards work and then I think its a good idea of yours rkauer to find another Permedia 2 board. But i'm wondering with the risk of it NOT being the permedia if the cost to change this is not worth it and I should just try and find another BVision (this time through Amibay and not shitty Ebay!!!).

    I will arrange with Tomse something first. I've been doing some other bits an pieces too in the meantime so a few more photos soon

Page 3 of 29 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. My custom A1200D PPC...
    By mfilos in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 125
    Last Post: 8th August 2012, 09:51
  2. Help Requested for Project
    By Charlie in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 1st April 2010, 23:55
  3. My C128 Project
    By quarkx in forum Photo Booth
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10th March 2010, 18:07
  4. Closed CLOSED: clean A1200D and Blizzard 1230 MK IV
    By motorollin in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th September 2008, 17:36

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •