Page 1 of 17 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 165

Thread: C128 CGA to RGB adapter

  1. #1
    Pyrofer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Region:
    London
    Age
    44
    Posts
    62
    Feedback
    9 (100%)

    Default C128 CGA to RGB adapter

    Update - Please place all purchases through my webshop at,
    http://www.pyrofersprojects.com/blog/shop

    I will leave this thread open for now so people can ask questions about the device/installation etc and share their installation photos. There should probably be a proper place for that and any suggestions are welcome as to where!
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I have been making and selling these in small numbers. I just improved my PCB and wanted to judge interest in how many more I could sell.
    Details,
    All Digital processing stage using a programmable logic chip (GAL). This means that there is no loss of quality by mixing signals, also the brown fix is done in logic providing the correct output of brown and yellow instead of 2 yellows.
    6bit DAC output. Each of the output channels, R,G,B is output as 2bits and goes into 2 resistors. There is no "Pull up" or "Pull down" mixing the intensity signal across channels. It's a simple 6bit RGB DAC for the best quality no bleed picture.
    Correctly mixed Composite sync. A very reliable sync signal by using the 'correct' logic for mixing H and V sync inputs.

    9pin CGA plug onboard. Simply plug it directly into the back of the C128, no 9pin cable needed.
    15pin RGB output onboard. It uses a VGA style connector so monitors that support 15khz can plug directly in to it. So called "CGA to VGA" adapters like the Gonbes board also have an input that uses the VGA connector, Somebody tested this and the adapter works fine with the gonbes and a straight VGA cable. The standard VGA pinout is used with composite sync on H sync pin. Pin 9 carries 5v for use in SCART (euro) connector cables that trigger the fast blanking pin to put the display into RGB mode.
    S-Video connector onboard. The signals from the VIC can be passed through this board via a pin header to allow the use of standard S-Video cables.
    3.5mm Audio Jack onboard. As with the VIC video signals the audio signal can be accessed easily with a stanard 3.5mm jack.
    6pin header for VIC DIN connector (not supplied). As the board needs 5v and the 128 supplies 5v via the video DIN output I put a 6 pin header on with inputs for, Ground, 5v, Audio, Composite (not connected), Chroma and Luma (Fed to the S-Vid connector). This allows for a very neat installation with this board plugged directly into the 128 and a single cable to the video DIN plug for all other signals. Output is then out via the VGA plug and S-Video plug for 80 and 40 columns.

    I can't overstate the difference of using a logic system to convert the 4bit input to 6bit output. The high speed GAL used produces an amazing quality output that you really have to see and compare to a lot of other DIY solutions to understand.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	14055122_10157320219885608_2838891942733823945_n.jpg 
Views:	481 
Size:	101.2 KB 
ID:	112563Click image for larger version. 

Name:	14054974_10157320487930608_7381928756297242619_n.jpg 
Views:	452 
Size:	71.9 KB 
ID:	112564Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pluggedin.jpg 
Views:	511 
Size:	193.2 KB 
ID:	112583Click image for larger version. 

Name:	14466885_10202110583123716_1812842163_o.jpg 
Views:	445 
Size:	199.2 KB 
ID:	112677
    1) The adapter 2)My testcard image 3)how it connects 4) a customer running it through a gonbes adapter.

    The price is £30+post. I have been posting internationally but currently have no stock as I hand assemble them. Please register your interest here.
    UPDATE - Price is £40+post due to an increase in parts costs and assembly difficulty - Apologies for this.

    *The din cable shown cannot be provided as I don't have a source for the plugs. It is up to the buyer to provide a connection between the video out and the pin header. To use 80 col only you simply need 5v on pin2 which can come from the user/tape or video ports.

    Tested direct to a SCART TV, working fine.
    Tested direct to a gonbes VGA adapter (using a normal VGA cable) and works fine.
    Tested with a cheap SCART to HDMI adapter from eBay, works fine.
    Should in theory work with any normal RGB monitor such as used on Amiga.
    Last edited by Pyrofer; 5th July 2017 at 15:10.

  2. #2
    Keeper of the Valiant Turtles. Amibayer! thecellartroll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Country
    Scotland
    Region:
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    985
    Feedback
    36 (100%)

    Default

    Sweet. Interest declared.
    Commodore VIC20 & SD2IEC, 64x5 & Chameleon, 64Cx4, C128, Plus4 & SIDcard C16, C16@64K, Sinclair Spectrum+ 128K & divIDE2k11 +2 +3 ZX81 &ZonX, Amstrad CPC 464x2 6128x2 6128+, Acorn RiscPC 600 (StrongARM + 586), Electronx3, +1, +3, BBC Master128 + MMC & Valiant Turtle, C64 DTV, Atari 800XL.

  3. #3
    freaktmp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Country
    Greece
    Region:
    Patra
    Age
    41
    Posts
    198
    Feedback
    42 (100%)

    Default


  4. #4
    frakswe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Country
    Sweden
    Region:
    Skåne
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    Yes,sign me up for one.

  5. #5
    We Will Never Forget.. Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    ChrisUnionNJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Union,NJ
    Age
    55
    Posts
    4,089
    Feedback
    79 (100%)

    Default

    in one please..
    Never Bin or sell your old computer's you will regret it!!
    Vic 20 x3,C64 x2,128D,C128 flat deck,A1000 x2,A500 x3,A2000,A600,A1200,Apple ][e,2x Apple][ GS rom 01,03,Apple ][c x4 with only 1 PSU,2x Laser 128EX EX2,Atari 600XL,2x 800XL,130XE w/320 mod With a MyIDE plus,Atari 1040stf w/2.5meg..

  6. #6
    (Not actually from Tokyo). VIP
    Amibayer!
    tokyoracer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Region:
    Norfolk
    Age
    28
    Posts
    5,168
    Feedback
    168 (100%)

    Default

    Count me in, though could be a month or so before I can afford it so only accept me of that's okay with you!
    C= VIC20, C64, C64c, C128D, Plus/4, A500, A500+, A600, A1200, A1200T, A1000, A1500, A4000, CD32, CDTV Mac Plus, SE/30, Classic II, ColourClassic, II, IIci, IIsi, IIvi, IIvx, LC, LCIII, P475, P630 DOS, Q840AV, PM6100/66, PM7600/132, G3 Tower, PB145b, PB165, PB540C Acorn BBC B, A3000, A3010, A3020, A5000, A7000+, RiscPC Sinclair ZX81, Spectrum 48k, +, +2, +3, QL Amstrad CPC464, MegaPC Atari 65XE, 520STFM, 1040STE Dragon 32 Tandy TRS-80 CoCo 2 Texas Instruments - TI-99/4A IBM 5160 Toshiba T2150CDSPC 386, 486, 5x86, PII


  7. #7
    Amibayer! storhemulen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Country
    Sweden
    Region:
    Gothenburg
    Age
    44
    Posts
    554
    Feedback
    41 (100%)

    Default

    One for me, please!

  8. #8
    kerkyra2007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Country
    Greece
    Region:
    Athens/Glyfada
    Posts
    327
    Feedback
    39 (100%)

    Default

    Interested in one also

  9. #9
    Mega AmiMod
    Staff Moderator
    keropi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Greece
    Region:
    Ioannina
    Age
    37
    Posts
    6,971
    Feedback
    129 (100%)

    Default

    this would work with a CGA signal from a PC right? It is the better equivalent of this, correct?



    I have built the one above and it works fine with pc/cga , if the adapter on sale is also the same function-wise I'd like one as well
    Last edited by keropi; 28th September 2016 at 08:58.
    Aacheron and slk486 are my heroes
    A1200D mfilos ed. : ACA 1231/42 , Indivision MK2 , IDEfix Express , Subway , PicoPSU 120w custom 3.9 ROM/OS

  10. #10
    Pyrofer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Region:
    London
    Age
    44
    Posts
    62
    Feedback
    9 (100%)

    Default

    Yes, it's a similar function to that circuit but done with a true 2 bit per colour output for the DAC for a better picture.
    It takes RGBIHV in and does RGBs out. I see no reason it wouldn't work with PC CGA cards.

    I would love to see somebody using it on an original CGA card on their PC photos must be provided !

Page 1 of 17 1234511 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale C128 CGA to RGB adapter - Custom case now available
    By COREi64 in forum Commodore
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th May 2017, 05:04
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th April 2016, 07:37
  3. C128 PSU Advice - Suitable 9vAC 1a Adapter
    By wmsteele in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th September 2014, 12:23
  4. Sold C128 RGBi to RGB adapter
    By unholy in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 19th March 2014, 14:01
  5. Closed Working C128 or only C128 PSU
    By Sallinen in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th October 2012, 23:50

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •