Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: zip100 drive, pc - amiga - pc

  1. #11
    Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    johnim's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    birmingham
    Age
    43
    Posts
    11,771
    Feedback
    146 (100%)

    Default

    sorry i made the mistake you wanted a cheap solution insted of scsi card and cable for pc
    A1200T 1d4:blizzard 1260/50/192mb/scsi kit:mediator 1200:radeon 9250:sb128:100mb net:spider usb clone:fastata-iv:amiga to ps2 mouse:80gb hd:zip100 ide:a4000 keyboard
    A1200D 1d4:blizzard1230mk4/50/64mb:indy mk ii:fastata mk ii:40gb*A1200 rev 2b*2 x A1200 1d4*A1200 1b*A600 2mb 4gb*A500
    PC:8700k@4.8ghz, Msi sli plus mobo, Corsair 32gb ddr4 3000mhz, Evga 1080ti ftw hybrid, Evo 970 m2 500gb.

    sfs cf guide http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=19953 cwb3.9 guide http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=20315 mediator drivers http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=11993 p96 newres guide(radeon install) http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...905#post325905

  2. #12
    Amiga fanboy VIP
    Amibayer!
    rkauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Brazil
    Region:
    São Leopoldo, RS
    Age
    52
    Posts
    11,967
    Feedback
    110 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rs2klee View Post
    ok heres my icon.info
    maxtransfer = 0x001fe000
    All correct but this. Maxtransfer must be 0x001fe00.

    Using an old PCI SCSI card is no brainer, but you need to check if it have built-in termination (software-activated or via a jumper) and activate the term jumper on the ZIP drive.
    David Bradley made Ctrl+Alt+Del, Gates turn it mandatory
    16 Amigas at home :D
    3x C= 64 :smile:
    1 VIC-20 :smile:
    8 PC (argh) :thumbsdown: at least one is an AROS/Amithlon unit

  3. #13
    Amiga user & abuser since 1988 Amibayer! gavilan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Argentina
    Region:
    Buenos Aires
    Age
    43
    Posts
    578
    Feedback
    18 (100%)

    Default

    Back in the day, it was almost impossible to use a Parallel Zip on the Amiga. Scsi was the only way. I was lucky enough to find a Zip+ (Zip Plus), which had scsi ANd parallel ports

    I remember it was so so difficult to have the correct info, but once done it, it was so lovely to transfer files from/between PC/Amiga.

    If i find the harddrive with that relevant info, i will post it here i promise
    Dont give up! It can be done! Im no way a genious with Amiga but i can tell you i had it for more than 5 years, of course, asking and asking and asking on the afb mailing list.

    Regards
    Sebastian
    ""Still here, kicking some Ass!" --> Powered by Kin Hell ;)

  4. #14
    Amibayer! wurzel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Jersey, Channel Islands
    Posts
    99
    Feedback
    7 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rs2klee View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by johnim View Post
    you could also buy a cheap ide for the pc
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/iomega-IDE-Int...efaultDomain_3
    i allready have a Cheap ide zipdrive for the pc! i want to read the disks on the amiga`s scsi external zipdrive
    It has nothing to do with SCSI or IDE - it`s the formatting of the Zip disks that matter.

    I have an IDE Zip in my tower, with an IDE Zip in my PC. But the disks have to be formatted with FAT 32 (?) before both systems can read them.

    BTW I gave up on my ZIPs when USB came out - you can store far more on a thumb drive!
    A1200 towered with Mediator, Radeon 9200 with 256mb, USB & Blizzard 060 with SCSI & 196mb

  5. #15
    Amiga fanboy VIP
    Amibayer!
    rkauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Brazil
    Region:
    São Leopoldo, RS
    Age
    52
    Posts
    11,967
    Feedback
    110 (100%)

    Default

    @Wurzel: yes, but only buying a >£100 hardware to use pen drives (aka Subway/Deneb).
    David Bradley made Ctrl+Alt+Del, Gates turn it mandatory
    16 Amigas at home :D
    3x C= 64 :smile:
    1 VIC-20 :smile:
    8 PC (argh) :thumbsdown: at least one is an AROS/Amithlon unit

  6. #16
    Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    johnim's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    birmingham
    Age
    43
    Posts
    11,771
    Feedback
    146 (100%)

    Default

    here is my ide stuff for the zip drive
    if formated the zip on the pc with fat32

    also os3.9 has iomegatools in tools folder
    http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/Z100
    http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/Zip4mat
    http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/ZJTool12

    icon file

    C:Mount DEVICE=atapi.device *****this needs to be changed to your device******
    ACTIVATE=1
    UNIT=2 ***this needs to be changed to the unit number***
    DONOTWAIT


    mountlist

    /* $VER: ZPC0 1.0 (17.2.97)
    *
    * ZIP file system entry
    *
    * This file enables CrossDOSFileSystem on a 100M ZIP cartridge.
    */

    FileSystem = L:CrossDOSFileSystem
    Flags = 1
    Surfaces = 2
    BlocksPerTrack = 64
    Mask = 0x7ffffffe
    MaxTransfer = 0x100000
    Reserved = 1
    Interleave = 0
    LowCyl = 0
    HighCyl = 1535
    Buffers = 50
    BufMemType = 0
    StackSize = 2000
    Priority = 10
    GlobVec = -1
    DosType = 0x4D534800

    /* The Device and Unit fields are controlled by tooltypes in the ZPC0 icon.
    *
    * Device = scsi.device
    * Unit = 5
    */
    Last edited by johnim; 5th September 2010 at 02:55. Reason: added links and added discription
    A1200T 1d4:blizzard 1260/50/192mb/scsi kit:mediator 1200:radeon 9250:sb128:100mb net:spider usb clone:fastata-iv:amiga to ps2 mouse:80gb hd:zip100 ide:a4000 keyboard
    A1200D 1d4:blizzard1230mk4/50/64mb:indy mk ii:fastata mk ii:40gb*A1200 rev 2b*2 x A1200 1d4*A1200 1b*A600 2mb 4gb*A500
    PC:8700k@4.8ghz, Msi sli plus mobo, Corsair 32gb ddr4 3000mhz, Evga 1080ti ftw hybrid, Evo 970 m2 500gb.

    sfs cf guide http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=19953 cwb3.9 guide http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=20315 mediator drivers http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=11993 p96 newres guide(radeon install) http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...905#post325905

  7. #17
    Inactive Member rs2klee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Country
    U.K
    Region:
    London
    Posts
    145
    Feedback
    8 (100%)

    Default

    thanks for the info everyone, @johnim thanks clears it up a bit more now, i just thought using the fat95 would just work but seems now to get both zipdrives to play together and dont fight using the crossdos would be the answer will give this a go and let you know.. i have a ide zip100 in the pc and external scsi zip100 on the amiga, the idea im thinking would be quicker to trans files that i d/l from aminet ect. to load the zip disc in the amiga rather then the pcmcia just something different

    ---------- Post added at 22:01 ---------- Previous post was at 21:57 ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by wurzel View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by rs2klee View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by johnim View Post
    you could also buy a cheap ide for the pc
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/iomega-IDE-Int...efaultDomain_3
    i allready have a Cheap ide zipdrive for the pc! i want to read the disks on the amiga`s scsi external zipdrive
    It has nothing to do with SCSI or IDE - it`s the formatting of the Zip disks that matter.

    I have an IDE Zip in my tower, with an IDE Zip in my PC. But the disks have to be formatted with FAT 32 (?) before both systems can read them.

    BTW I gave up on my ZIPs when USB came out - you can store far more on a thumb drive!
    nice but i dont have usb on my A1200 and im just getting all my old hardware back up and running after 15 odd years in the loft, and its all still working.. its the operator thats struggling lol

  8. #18
    Amibayer! jimbob005's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Country
    swadlincote,uk
    Region:
    swadlincote
    Age
    38
    Posts
    461
    Feedback
    10 (92%)

    Default

    http://netti.nic.fi/~some-e/amiga/amizip/

    adapter to put the parallel zip on the amiga

    james
    IF IT DONT FIT, DON'T FORCE IT, MOD IT
    anythink is posable with AMIGA

  9. #19
    Amibayer!
    Staff Moderator
    johnim's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Country
    England
    Region:
    birmingham
    Age
    43
    Posts
    11,771
    Feedback
    146 (100%)

    Default

    got it, killed my disk then found it again

    install fat 95
    http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/fat95
    http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/Zip4mat
    http://rapidshare.com/files/417285879/DOSDrivers.rar mount icon mount list
    copy mountlist +icon to devs /dosdrivers and change icon types to your device and unit then reboot

    use the format zip in first link

    formatzip 1230scsi.device 5(unit no) to format zipdisk (make sure this is correct or will kill drives

    i hope this works now for you too

    ps if you use crossdos you get the 8.3 file problems
    if you use the fat95 you dont
    you can also format the disk in windows using fat only
    Last edited by johnim; 5th September 2010 at 23:54.
    A1200T 1d4:blizzard 1260/50/192mb/scsi kit:mediator 1200:radeon 9250:sb128:100mb net:spider usb clone:fastata-iv:amiga to ps2 mouse:80gb hd:zip100 ide:a4000 keyboard
    A1200D 1d4:blizzard1230mk4/50/64mb:indy mk ii:fastata mk ii:40gb*A1200 rev 2b*2 x A1200 1d4*A1200 1b*A600 2mb 4gb*A500
    PC:8700k@4.8ghz, Msi sli plus mobo, Corsair 32gb ddr4 3000mhz, Evga 1080ti ftw hybrid, Evo 970 m2 500gb.

    sfs cf guide http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=19953 cwb3.9 guide http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=20315 mediator drivers http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=11993 p96 newres guide(radeon install) http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...905#post325905

  10. #20
    Retro C= & /|\ addict Amibayer! TjLaZer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Country
    USA
    Region:
    Tacoma, WA
    Age
    47
    Posts
    1,006
    Feedback
    21 (100%)

    Default

    Wanted to mount a Zip 100 PC format on my A3000 WB 2.0

    Here is the mountlist that works great with CrossDOS v4

    /* This is an example of a mount list entry for using an Iomega Zip Drive with a PC formatted disk.
    */


    ZPC: FileSystem = L:CrossDOSFileSystem
    Flags = 0
    Surfaces = 1
    BlocksPerTrack = 1
    Mask = 0x7ffffffe
    MaxTransfer = 0x100000
    Reserved = 0
    Interleave = 0
    LowCyl = 0
    HighCyl = 196607
    Buffers = 256
    BufMemType = 0
    StackSize = 2000
    Priority = 10
    GlobVec = -1
    DosType = 0x4d534800
    Device = scsi.device
    Unit = 5
    #
    64, 128, & Amiga computers.

    >Compulsive Commodore & Atari computer collector<

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Amiga external drive
    By computerfreakgr in forum computerfreakgr
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st February 2011, 11:18
  2. Closed Amiga 3000 HD floppy drive...
    By mingle in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th January 2011, 06:33
  3. Sold Amiga External Floppy Drive
    By Bootay in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15th August 2010, 19:04
  4. Closed WTB: Amiga 500 Hard Drive
    By SkydivinGirl in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12th May 2009, 17:12
  5. Closed Amiga 1200 CD Drive
    By musojon74 in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th January 2008, 21:00

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •