Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Help with Cyberstorm Mk1 not working

  1. #1
    tihopop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Country
    Canada
    Region:
    Ontario
    Posts
    178
    Feedback
    19 (100%)

    Default Help with Cyberstorm Mk1 not working

    Hello to all Amibayers,

    I'm sure there are many knowledgeable people in here who can help with my situation. Anyhow, I've purchased Cyberstorm Mk1 060/50 late February from eBay in US. I had it shipped to my PO box right at Canadian Border, and finally went yesterday to pick it up. Item was in the original box, modules were of course disassembled, end everything looked nice except there was yellow smd component (tantalum capacitor apparently) broken off at the corner of the Simm socket (picture attached). So I decided to skip testing whole memory module initially.

    I carefully went over online manual, and did following:


    • Set Mobo jumpers both to EXT (it's Rev B)
    • Removed A3640 spacers as they were to high (otherwise carrier module wouldn't sit correctly inside the socket, would be angled)
    • Enabled IPEND and disabled CBR (no CPU on the mobo, motherboard is rev B).
    • ROM Size set to 2-3 (there is one booth rom installed at 0 location)
    • ROM CNT to 2-3 (one chip installed)
    • CLK jumper was enabled, I tried booting with both ON & OFF



    Motherboard is in excellent condition, recently recapped. I installed necessary libraries using my CF under UAE, so thats out of question. Even if system files (libraries) are not installed I'm assuming Amiga should at least boot, I should be able to enter boot menu (holding two mouse buttons). Even floppy doesn't react, video does turn on however it outputs empty gray picture (using Indivision AGA). I'm only able to do reset via keyboard, that's it. I'm really out of idea at this point of time. I have no reason to distrust seller, as it was advertised as "working pull". I can return it via ebay sellers protection ($700 US), but it is my intention to do whatever to make it work. My A3640 works just fine after being reinstalled. Help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20170318_212856.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	178.6 KB 
ID:	119604Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20170318_212911.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	139.9 KB 
ID:	119605
    Last edited by tihopop; 19th March 2017 at 15:13.

  2. #2
    volker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Nordrhein-Westfalen
    Age
    42
    Posts
    51
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default

    Try to set mobo jumpers to int

  3. #3
    tihopop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Country
    Canada
    Region:
    Ontario
    Posts
    178
    Feedback
    19 (100%)

    Default

    No difference. Indivision boots, screen goes to dark grey and nothing happens afterwards. I tried holding mouse buttons for boot menu, nothing. i can only do a reboot via keyboard, nothing else works. Diag roms, should they be enabled or disabled? As per this page:

    http://relay.pp.fi/Amiga/A4000/Cyberstorm/

    I have the jumper on 1-2 set for 060.

    As per manual, "DIAG Enable Pos 1-2 enable DIAGROM Pos 2-3 disable DIAGROM", so no mention of 040/060 CPUs, opposed to the linked page. What is correct setting?

    Also, does actual DRAM Board has to be installed for proper functioning or not, if of course motherboard RAM is installed?

    Thanks
    Last edited by tihopop; 19th March 2017 at 18:14.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 18th October 2015, 21:09
  2. Sold Cyberstorm PPC (working as MK III)
    By Sveta in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23rd June 2015, 01:52
  3. Closed Cyberstorm MKII 060 or other working in A3000
    By Rotzloeffel in forum Amiga
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th September 2013, 12:10
  4. Sold NON WORKING - CyberStorm MKIII 50MHz 060
    By domb in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 21st November 2012, 22:55
  5. Closed Cyberstorm MKI 040 - not working!
    By Sveta in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd April 2012, 06:55

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •