Page 4 of 23 FirstFirst 1234567814 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 230

Thread: Amiga hardware repair, restoration and upgrade service

  1. #31
    Amibayer! hese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Country
    Finland
    Region:
    Savo
    Posts
    1,410
    Feedback
    203 (100%)

    Default Amiga 3000 recapped

    GregBR's Amiga 3000 motherboard rev 6 and daughterboard rev 4 arrived for recapping and upgrading.

    The motherboard had a minor battery leak. Mostly Denise, Paula and a few other components around the battery were affected by corrosion. The sockets of Denise and Paula were removed, the corrosion underneath them cleaned and new precision sockets installed. A CR2032 battery kit was installed for the motherboard.

    The motherboard was recapped with non-leaking polymer capacitors and also the capacitors of the daughterboard were replaced with new. The old PAL chips of the motherboard were replaced with new ATF chips.



    - - - Updated - - -

    MartinW's GBA1000 turbocard is finally ready. The original post has been updated.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by fnudde View Post
    Interested in GAL replacement set for A3000D, will send PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by gounderset View Post
    Payment sent for one set
    Thanks for the interest. Replacement chips have been sent to both parties yesterday.
    Last edited by hese; 2nd July 2017 at 12:24.

  2. #32
    MartinW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    West Somerset
    Posts
    415
    Feedback
    15 (100%)

    Default

    Not sure if I'm meant to be updating this thread but in case I am...

    Payment sent for Turbo Card build. You may be a couple of Euros short. Please just let me know and I will top it up with a Gift payment.

    I don't know why PP have made things so hard now? I can no longer send Euros, only GBP or USD (why USD!!) which means it's a guessing game how much you will get. Made even more difficult because they seem to keep it a very closely guarded secret how much you will receive after fees!!

    Oh well. Thanks for doing the work

  3. #33
    gounderset's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Country
    Norway
    Region:
    Bergen
    Posts
    284
    Feedback
    58 (100%)

    Default

    GAL chips are here. All good
    Positive feedback on the way

  4. #34
    Amibayer! hese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Country
    Finland
    Region:
    Savo
    Posts
    1,410
    Feedback
    203 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gounderset View Post
    GAL chips are here. All good
    Positive feedback on the way
    Thanks for the update. Feedback left also

    MartinW's turbocard was shipped today.

  5. #35
    MartinW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    West Somerset
    Posts
    415
    Feedback
    15 (100%)

    Default

    Amazingly the turbo card has arrived. No reason to suspect there is anything wrong as it was well packaged but will try and test over the weekend.


  6. #36
    MartinW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    West Somerset
    Posts
    415
    Feedback
    15 (100%)

    Default

    Board installed and working, positive feedback left.

  7. #37
    Amibayer! hese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Country
    Finland
    Region:
    Savo
    Posts
    1,410
    Feedback
    203 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MartinW View Post
    Board installed and working, positive feedback left.
    That's great to hear, enjoy the turbocard. Feedback left also.

  8. #38
    Amibayer! hese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Country
    Finland
    Region:
    Savo
    Posts
    1,410
    Feedback
    203 (100%)

    Default Cyberstorm MK2 68040 -> 68060 upgrade

    Cyberstorm MK2 arrived for 68060 upgrade. The card had originally a 68040 running at 40MHz.



    The card was converted to 68060 by moving the voltage jumper from 5V to 3.3V, adding a 3.3V regulator and installing three diodes. Conversion was finished by installing a rev6 68060 CPU.
    The card has two surface mount jumpers that control the speed of the on-board memory. When jumpered in 040 mode, the memory runs at half the speed of the oscillator. And when jumpered in 060 mode, the memory runs at the same speed as the oscillator.


    Memory speed jumpers in "040 mode", memory running at half speed of the oscillator.
    cd

    Memory speed jumpers in "060 mode", memory running at the same speed as the oscillator.
    e

    The fastest this card ran synchronously (CPU and memory at the same speed) was 66MHz. At 80MHz the card did not boot. When jumpering the memory to run at half speed, the card ran both at 80MHz and 100MHz. Below are a few benchmarks at different speeds.

    CPU 50MHz, memory 50MHz (50MHz oscillator)


    CPU 66MHz, memory 66MHz (66MHz oscillator)


    CPU 80MHz, memory 40MHz (80MHz oscillator)


    CPU 100MHz, memory 50MHz (100MHz oscillator)




  9. #39
    Amibayer! hese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Country
    Finland
    Region:
    Savo
    Posts
    1,410
    Feedback
    203 (100%)

    Default Blizzard 1240 68040 -> 68060 upgrade

    Blizzard 1240 rev II arrived for 68060 upgrade. The card had a 68040 CPU running at 40MHz.



    The upgrade was begun by first desoldering the old 68040 CPU off the card. Then the components (3.3V regulator, three diodes) for the 3.3V power supply were soldered in place and the voltage jumper moved from 5V to 3.3V.



    There was an smd 22Ohm resistor near one of the MACHs. The resistor was moved from left to right like it is on the Blizzard 1260s that arrived from the factory. I suspect with this resistor the memory speed is either halved (040 mode, jumper on the left) or run at the same speed as the oscillator (060 mode, jumper on the right). This resistor possibly enables running the 68060 CPU at higher speeds than usual, like with Cyberstorm MK2s. I'll have to investigate this more someday.



    The upgrade was finished by replacing the 80MHz oscillator with 50MHz and installing a rev6 68060 CPU. The angled SIMM socket was replaced with a right-angled socket for allowing the Blizzard 1260 to be installed in a desktop Amiga 1200.





  10. #40
    Amibayer! hese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Country
    Finland
    Region:
    Savo
    Posts
    1,410
    Feedback
    203 (100%)

    Default Amiga 1200 repaired and recapped

    Amiga 1200 motherboard arrived for repair and recapping.

    This first problem was the motherboard did not boot. The second problem was the electrolytic capacitors. The surface-mount capacitors had been replaced with through-hole capacitors and some of the pads had been ripped off during the process or were loose. The motherboard did not boot due to a few traces that were in a bad shape. One trace under the Kickstart socket was corroded broken and was fixed with wire. Also a few traces under one of the Chip RAM chips were corroded. They were also cleaned and fixed. The through-hole capacitors were removed and the missing/loose pads fixed. New surface-mount capacitors were soldered in place. After the service the motherboard works fine again.

    Last edited by hese; 20th July 2017 at 17:00.

Page 4 of 23 FirstFirst 1234567814 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Request Amiga service / upgrade ( UK , Edinburgh )
    By gebes in forum Services
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th October 2015, 15:16
  2. Found A3640 Repair, Service and Upgrade (x2)
    By Peckmore in forum Amiga
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 8th October 2015, 17:17
  3. SERVICE REQUEST: A3640 Repair Service USA
    By Voultar in forum Wanted Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th August 2015, 23:24

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •