Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: C64 problems

  1. #1
    29xthefun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Country
    Glasgow
    Region:
    Scotland
    Posts
    58
    Feedback
    4 (100%)

    Default C64 problems

    Hi all,
    Looking for advice/info on two c64 machines I have. First one is a breadbin model 1983 REVB 250407. Switching it on gives nothing on screen but their is something going out as the screen does go black. Kind of very light distortion on the screen. Opened up the system and one of the small capacitors is split the C200 one. Also chip 906114-04 (U17) is very very hot. I have a new capacitor on order but wondering if this chip is also away?

    Second is the 64C and has a flickering screen. The details on screen are all correct but as if the machine is going off and on again. I can type and the characters come up ok.

    Thanks for any info/help.
    C16, C64, Atari Lynx, SNES, Amiga 600, PC, Amiga 1200

  2. #2
    mrr19121970's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Hessen
    Age
    46
    Posts
    1,262
    Feedback
    230 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    1st one. Replace the PLA. Ask @eslapion here.

    2nd one. Check the on/off switch.
    See www.amibay.com/entry.php?176-My-Offerings
    Speed up the transaction ?? PayPal.me/mrr19121970 as family'n'friends and PM me with what you want and where to send it.

  3. #3
    29xthefun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Country
    Glasgow
    Region:
    Scotland
    Posts
    58
    Feedback
    4 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrr19121970 View Post
    1st one. Replace the PLA. Ask @eslapion here.

    2nd one. Check the on/off switch.
    Ah that chip is the PLA googled it and I see it goes all the time so will get another. Switch on the second seems ok.
    C16, C64, Atari Lynx, SNES, Amiga 600, PC, Amiga 1200

  4. #4
    mrr19121970's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Hessen
    Age
    46
    Posts
    1,262
    Feedback
    230 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    1
    See www.amibay.com/entry.php?176-My-Offerings
    Speed up the transaction ?? PayPal.me/mrr19121970 as family'n'friends and PM me with what you want and where to send it.

  5. #5
    29xthefun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Country
    Glasgow
    Region:
    Scotland
    Posts
    58
    Feedback
    4 (100%)

    Default

    Oh cheers will check this out when i get paid next.
    C16, C64, Atari Lynx, SNES, Amiga 600, PC, Amiga 1200

  6. #6
    Only Amiga..... fordav1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Country
    Australia
    Region:
    WA
    Posts
    145
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    get a dead test cart, easy to figure out what's wrong with one (if it doesn't work either CPU, PLA or VIC is bad, it only needs 3 chips to work)
    If it works it may give you some hints with startup screen flashes or on-screen info.

    Diagnose by picture....
    http://derbian.webs.com/c64diag/
    A4000,A3660,IndAGA4k,AriadneII,BIGRAM256,DenebUSB A3000,A3640,PicassoIV,XSurf100+RRoad,A2386,A1011 A2000,AdSCSI2080/8MB,A2286,A1010 A2000,A2630,A2091,GoldnGate A1000 A1200,eMatrix 030/50+32M,8G CF,Gotek A500(x9) A500+,Kipper2k 8MB+8GB CF A600 C64+1541(x5) C128D+1541U2 SX64(x3) ColecoVision A2600 N64 Saturn(x3) MasterSystemII MegaDriveII Dreamcast(x2) XBox PS1 PS2(x3) C= Monitors=13

  7. #7
    CentralPerk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Country
    Argentina
    Region:
    Buenos Aires
    Posts
    97
    Feedback
    15 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fordav1
    Diagnose by picture....
    http://derbian.webs.com/c64diag/
    Nice find. Thanks for sharing and good luck to OP.
    A1200 APOLLO1260@80MHZ|64MB|INDIMK2|IDE2SD|SD16GB|PFS3|KS3.1|OS3.9|SUBWAY|WLAN
    A500 E-MATRIX530@40MHZ|32MB|INDIECS|SCSI2CF|CF16GB|PFS3|KS3.1|OS3.9|GOTEK|DELL2001FP
    C128 SCPU128@20MHZ|MMU|16MB|CMD-HD|SCSI2CF|CF4GB|EASYFLASH3|1541U2|1581|VDC64KB

  8. #8
    29xthefun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Country
    Glasgow
    Region:
    Scotland
    Posts
    58
    Feedback
    4 (100%)

    Default

    Little update on my C64s The PLA replacement has not solved the problem but I do now get less distortion on the screen and if I leave it on I get a screen of garbled stuff so thinking it could be a ram problem.
    The newer one is still a puzzle as I put in a new switch and it still flickers off and on, now it seems to stay off after a few flickers.
    Any ideas on the newer one would be great.
    C16, C64, Atari Lynx, SNES, Amiga 600, PC, Amiga 1200

  9. #9
    Only Amiga..... fordav1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Country
    Australia
    Region:
    WA
    Posts
    145
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    check news 13th march 2017 here
    For other issues check post #6 above for the answer.....
    Last edited by fordav1; 27th August 2017 at 22:23.
    A4000,A3660,IndAGA4k,AriadneII,BIGRAM256,DenebUSB A3000,A3640,PicassoIV,XSurf100+RRoad,A2386,A1011 A2000,AdSCSI2080/8MB,A2286,A1010 A2000,A2630,A2091,GoldnGate A1000 A1200,eMatrix 030/50+32M,8G CF,Gotek A500(x9) A500+,Kipper2k 8MB+8GB CF A600 C64+1541(x5) C128D+1541U2 SX64(x3) ColecoVision A2600 N64 Saturn(x3) MasterSystemII MegaDriveII Dreamcast(x2) XBox PS1 PS2(x3) C= Monitors=13

  10. #10
    29xthefun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Country
    Glasgow
    Region:
    Scotland
    Posts
    58
    Feedback
    4 (100%)

    Default

    Hi all, quick update on my two C64 machines. Got a new switch for the newer one and seems it is still flickering.
    Now I am using one of those scart to HDMI things and decided to try the C64 on a normal TV that takes scart and it works great. No flickers at all so seems the box is to blame for the flickers.
    The old machine I have got some output that shows the RAM chips are to blame. So will get new ones and try them.
    C16, C64, Atari Lynx, SNES, Amiga 600, PC, Amiga 1200

Similar Threads

  1. cd rom problems
    By zooup1972 in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 2nd May 2013, 20:53
  2. cf problems with sfs
    By johnim in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 20th June 2011, 00:43
  3. OWB problems and sorry..
    By jvdbossc in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th October 2010, 22:39

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •