Thread: My Apple IIe arrived But ....?

Country
    UK
    Region:
    Manchester
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

Default My Apple IIe arrived But ....?

So once again I'm asking for help as I am a total Apple Newbie ..
    I assumed I simply had to connect the floppy drive ..
    pop in the DOS 3.3 floppy ..and power up ..
    Sadly ..nothing doing ..
    The floppy starts ok ...a couple of seconds in the screen fills with the letter E ..
    and then the system hangs..
    The are a couple of other disks with it ..
    for example ..
    System utilities
    Computer Inspector
    Print Shop
    etc
    which do appear to run ..so I'm assuming the floppy drive is OK ...and my worst thoughts ..
    The DOS disk is damaged..
    Ok ..
    I figured I could simply pop in the DOS 3.3 floppy I use for the Apple II Europlus ..but no ..
    That one will also not read ..and once again the screen fills with EEs
    I assume this floppy ,which works just fine in the older Apple ..is formatted with fewer sectors ..but assumed it would be backwards compatible ????
    So are there diffences between Floppy drives ? ...and/or have I got fubarred floppies ..
    Or IS there a simpler explanation ..
    I was looking forward to learning about Apple 8 bit compters ..but so far I'm finding the learning curve very steep..
    rgds
    VS
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DSCF0143.jpg   DSCF0144.jpg   DSCF0145.jpg  
    Last edited by ViperSan; 9th November 2017 at 20:20.

Country
    England-Shire, UK
    Region:
    High Wycombe,UK
    Feedback
    178 (100%)
    Blog Entries

Hi when you turn it on with not disk in what appears on screen?

and, if you boot without a disk in

and then control break

What happens, does the screen clear to a cursor?

good news about apples is yes they can break but are generally repairable.

Also, a list of what cards you have inside might help... especially if you have a super serial card.

cheers, good luck!

.. . Mouse . .. VIP
    Amibayer!