Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: pal amiga 1200 in America

  1. #1

    Default pal amiga 1200 in America

    I'm a noob to amiga. I made a big mistake and bought a pal amiga 1200. The power supply is for Europe. Can I just get use this amiga in America? Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Thelemorf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Country
    Boden/Sweden
    Region:
    BD
    Posts
    109
    Feedback
    5 (100%)

    Default

    Just get a us psu and hook it up to a rgb monitor

  3. #3
    Mikele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    Lublin
    Posts
    188
    Feedback
    8 (100%)

    Default

    why mistake? Majority of software made after 93 or 94 is PAL only. Good solution might be getting Amiga to PC PSU adapter, so you dont need any step up down transformers. Alternatively you can use CISCO router power supply (which is dual voltage) with a proper plug. For monitor get a NEC Multisync monitor (like LCD VM series).
    Last edited by Mikele; 13th November 2017 at 22:08.

  4. #4
    Amibayer! demolition's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Copenhagen
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,032
    Feedback
    54 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mikele View Post
    Alternatively you can use CISCO router power supply (which is dual voltage) with a proper plug.
    From what I can see, those PSUs only have +5V and +12V and no -12V. While the Amiga will run, the audio and serial communication will be broken as that requires -12V.
    A1200 (NOS) : 030 33MHz 128MB fast RAM (ACA1232) : Indivision AGA MkII : 8GB CF : RR USB : Ethernet
    A600 #1 : 68080 V2 : 128MB fast : 2MB chip : Indivision ECS : 4GB CF : RR USB
    : Ethernet | A600 #2 : 010 : 2MB chip
    A500 : 68000 42MHz : 1MB chip : 8MB fast : 4GB CF | A500+ : 68080 V2 : 128MB fast : 2MB chip : 16GB SD

  5. #5

    Default

    So If I can find an American Amiga 1200 PSU I can just plug that into my PAL Amiga and it should work?

  6. #6
    rootboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    Tennessee
    Posts
    501
    Feedback
    34 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clashfan View Post
    I'm a noob to amiga. I made a big mistake and bought a pal amiga 1200. The power supply is for Europe. Can I just get use this amiga in America? Any help would be appreciated.
    My 600 is a PAL unit, and I replaced the UK power supply guts with a Meanwell power supply, and it works perfectly. I'll get the part number for you if you need me to. I had to sand down the corners to get it to fit, so it would behoove you to find one that fits without having to get the grinder out. ;>

    As for the monitor the old Sonys do PAL as well as NTSC, but I would recommend at least trying it out on a LED first (those old monitors weigh a ton, and you can't get rid of them). The NEC Accusync LCD71V will support 15kHz, and you can still get them new in the box for cheap. Watch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rbIrNzV_k_E
    Last edited by rootboy; 14th November 2017 at 07:43.

  7. #7
    Amibayer! demolition's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Copenhagen
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,032
    Feedback
    54 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clashfan View Post
    So If I can find an American Amiga 1200 PSU I can just plug that into my PAL Amiga and it should work?
    Yes. If you hook it up to an old NTSC CRT TV/monitor you might not get a picture, but a modern TV should have no problem displaying PAL.
    Last edited by demolition; 14th November 2017 at 07:44.
    A1200 (NOS) : 030 33MHz 128MB fast RAM (ACA1232) : Indivision AGA MkII : 8GB CF : RR USB : Ethernet
    A600 #1 : 68080 V2 : 128MB fast : 2MB chip : Indivision ECS : 4GB CF : RR USB
    : Ethernet | A600 #2 : 010 : 2MB chip
    A500 : 68000 42MHz : 1MB chip : 8MB fast : 4GB CF | A500+ : 68080 V2 : 128MB fast : 2MB chip : 16GB SD

  8. #8
    Mikele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    Lublin
    Posts
    188
    Feedback
    8 (100%)

    Default

    demolition: No, check out the one I am referring to, works perfectly fine, only needs DIY plug (I used broken Amiga psu cable)
    http://i833.photobucket.com/albums/z...ps60rkpa5g.jpg
    Last edited by Mikele; 14th November 2017 at 08:03.

  9. #9
    Amibayer! demolition's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Country
    Denmark
    Region:
    Copenhagen
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,032
    Feedback
    54 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mikele View Post
    demolition: No, check out the one I am referring to, works perfectly fine, only needs DIY plug (I used broken Amiga psu cable)
    http://i833.photobucket.com/albums/z...ps60rkpa5g.jpg
    Ok, that one looks good. What is the name of the router it comes with? The ones I could find either had a pure +12V supply or +5V/+12V (without -12V).
    A1200 (NOS) : 030 33MHz 128MB fast RAM (ACA1232) : Indivision AGA MkII : 8GB CF : RR USB : Ethernet
    A600 #1 : 68080 V2 : 128MB fast : 2MB chip : Indivision ECS : 4GB CF : RR USB
    : Ethernet | A600 #2 : 010 : 2MB chip
    A500 : 68000 42MHz : 1MB chip : 8MB fast : 4GB CF | A500+ : 68080 V2 : 128MB fast : 2MB chip : 16GB SD

  10. #10
    Mikele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Country
    Poland
    Region:
    Lublin
    Posts
    188
    Feedback
    8 (100%)

    Default

    demolition: it's Cisco 34-0874-01 to be precise.

Similar Threads

  1. Wanted Amiga 1200 - North America
    By tommy_riley in forum Amiga
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th January 2017, 07:48
  2. Wanted Amiga 1200/600 North America
    By 3583Bytes in forum Amiga
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th April 2014, 03:08
  3. Wanted Amiga 1200/600 North America
    By 3583Bytes in forum Amiga
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st April 2014, 03:58
  4. Closed Amiga 1200 or 4000 NTSC/110v (from America)
    By Nitz76 in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 14th September 2012, 20:42
  5. Closed Amiga 1200 (preferably from America)
    By Mattatron in forum Found Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th September 2012, 02:17

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •