Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Faulty USB Mouse Adapter Help

  1. #1
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    39
    Posts
    21,174
    Feedback
    1007 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Faulty USB Mouse Adapter Help

    Hi All,

    Hoping someone can help, I found this old USB Mouse adapter I used to use with my A4000, I recall it stopped working and upon testing today it still has the same issue (left mouse button does not work) Mouse has been tested on the PC of course. It used to exhibit this same behavior on my A4000 so I know it's not the A500+ either.

    I've attached a couple of pictures, firstly the soldering looks bad so maybe a re-flow of all joins would help? Anyone else have any other suggestions before I whip out the soldering iron?

    Thanks for looking

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180311_135602.jpg 
Views:	70 
Size:	64.5 KB 
ID:	132945

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180311_135555.jpg 
Views:	79 
Size:	76.2 KB 
ID:	132946
    My Website has moved to: https://fitzstevesamigaworld.000webhostapp.com/ It's now on Free Hosting to preserve the content.
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

  2. #2
    Junior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Country
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,243
    Feedback
    97 (99%)

    Default

    Did you check the welding point of pin 6 that's mouse button Left

  3. #3
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    39
    Posts
    21,174
    Feedback
    1007 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    Did you check the welding point of pin 6 that's mouse button Left
    Hi I will check
    Thanks
    My Website has moved to: https://fitzstevesamigaworld.000webhostapp.com/ It's now on Free Hosting to preserve the content.
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

  4. #4
    Chain`s H.Q. Amibayer! chain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Country
    Czech Republic
    Region:
    Vysocina
    Age
    44
    Posts
    253
    Feedback
    3 (100%)

    Default

    It can be dead PIC also
    Last edited by chain; 13th March 2018 at 20:41.
    Chain`s H.Q. - Amiga Repairments
    (DIY kits, repairs and more...for reasonable prices)

  5. #5
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    39
    Posts
    21,174
    Feedback
    1007 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Hey good news, I finally got round to re-soldering all the joins and it works like a charm now
    My Website has moved to: https://fitzstevesamigaworld.000webhostapp.com/ It's now on Free Hosting to preserve the content.
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

  6. #6
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    39
    Posts
    21,174
    Feedback
    1007 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Does anyone know if this adapter supports scroll wheel/third button?
    My Website has moved to: https://fitzstevesamigaworld.000webhostapp.com/ It's now on Free Hosting to preserve the content.
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

  7. #7
    8 Bit Dreams DjCook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Bavaria
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,073
    Feedback
    86 (100%)

    Default

    You need to install a driver to have this feature, Steve..
    If i remember correctly - WHDLoad setup offers it in the install phase.. Or was it WB 3.9? Not sure anymore..
    repairs of retro computers & hardware in Germany

  8. #8
    Online Gangster Amibayer! fitzsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Country
    UK
    Region:
    Sevenoaks, Kent
    Age
    39
    Posts
    21,174
    Feedback
    1007 (100%)
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DjCook View Post
    You need to install a driver to have this feature, Steve..
    If i remember correctly - WHDLoad setup offers it in the install phase.. Or was it WB 3.9? Not sure anymore..
    Cheers, I'm using CWB P96 which has scroll support already so was hoping it would work OOTB, maybe I need this other driver you mention - I'll have a search
    Last edited by fitzsteve; 31st March 2018 at 20:51.
    My Website has moved to: https://fitzstevesamigaworld.000webhostapp.com/ It's now on Free Hosting to preserve the content.
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/fitzsteve

  9. #9
    resistance is futile! Amibayer! roy_bates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Country
    england
    Region:
    birmingham
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,474
    Feedback
    102 (100%)

    Default

    probably needs its own driver

    then again its not much sue it steve ,apart from workbench?
    i have got too much hardware,it would only hurt your eyes to look at it here

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th November 2016, 23:03
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 5th September 2014, 05:15
  3. Closed Amiga PS/2 mouse adapter and nice retro mouse
    By Mohican in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 25th February 2014, 18:56
  4. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 29th October 2012, 12:58

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •