Page 36 of 40 FirstFirst ... 26323334353637383940 LastLast
Results 351 to 360 of 400

Thread: 68030 TK - Another accelerator card for Amiga A500/A1000/A2000 designed by Matze (aka Matthias Heinrichs)

  1. #351
    hlide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Country
    France
    Region:
    ESSONNE
    Posts
    46
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    Hi DjCook,

    as an early buyer of 4MB version, I would be interested to get a 64MB version extension board (well, let's wait for the update). I noticed I had issue with 4MB version: I had snow on the screen when there is a floppy disk activity, so I guess it may be explained by a shield failure.
    Amiga: A500+ / [x2] A500 / A600 Furia / [x2] A1200 / [x2] CD32, Commodore: C128 / C64C / C64R / U64,
    Amstrad: CPC 6128+ / GX4000 / CPC 464+ / [x2] CPC 6128 / CPC 464, SHARP: [x2] MZ-1500 / [x2] MZ-800 / [x2] MZ-700 / MZ-80 K

  2. #352
    8 Bit Dreams DjCook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Bavaria
    Age
    42
    Posts
    1,889
    Feedback
    189 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hlide View Post
    Hi DjCook,

    as an early buyer of 4MB version, I would be interested to get a 64MB version extension board (well, let's wait for the update). I noticed I had issue with 4MB version: I had snow on the screen when there is a floppy disk activity, so I guess it may be explained by a shield failure.
    I never ever seen nor heard of such issue before. That's very annoying. I have some questions:
    1. What power supply are You using?
    2. What kind of Video signal You are using?
    3. If it's RGB - what kind of GND is used in it for video, digital or analog?
    4. Is your cable shielded?
    Please let me know, im very interested to solve this
    8 Bit Dreams - computer & hardware repair in Germany

  3. #353
    upsnowman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    Michigan
    Posts
    114
    Feedback
    17 (100%)

    Default

    Just adding that snow on the screen with floppy access is trademark failed capacitor issue. If it only happens with the tk030 it is still likely the capacitors due to the extra power load and/or noise added when the tk030 is added to the system.
    Amiga enthusiast. Many A500's/A500+, A2000's, A1200's all upgraded in various ways.

  4. #354
    hlide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Country
    France
    Region:
    ESSONNE
    Posts
    46
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    Well, all my Amigas are in closed boxes so it would be hard... the last time I used tk030 was with my Amiga500+:

    - Long relocator
    - tk030 + 4MB
    - Boobip Gary adaptor under 4MB board pushing it up
    - Boobip 2MB trapdoor

    I think I had the issue only with 4MB plugged but I guess the details are lost a long time ago.

    1. The power supply has the usual commodore case for A500/A500+ but it is lighter - sure, I could use the others to check as well.

    2. RGBS through SCART.

    3. Well, pretty hard to say. I have several cables and they are not all connected the same way. Cannot answer quickly here. I don't think they are in fault though as I used them with other Amigas and didn't remember any issues.

    4. I believe at least two amongst three are shielded.

    I would need to get out a lot of stuff out of the boxes to be able to test thoses points thoroughly :/

    - - - Updated - - -

    @upsnowman, oh well speaking about snow... can you tell me more about the capacitor issue? especially the ones which may be in cause? what would be the solution. I believe when I unplug the 4MB board I don't have the issue but I need to check it again (if only they weren't packed in boxes ).
    Amiga: A500+ / [x2] A500 / A600 Furia / [x2] A1200 / [x2] CD32, Commodore: C128 / C64C / C64R / U64,
    Amstrad: CPC 6128+ / GX4000 / CPC 464+ / [x2] CPC 6128 / CPC 464, SHARP: [x2] MZ-1500 / [x2] MZ-800 / [x2] MZ-700 / MZ-80 K

  5. #355
    BigRed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Country
    Deutschland
    Region:
    Hessen
    Age
    37
    Posts
    14
    Feedback
    1 (100%)

    Default

    Parcel received!

    Very well packaged and also contained a CD with installation instructions. Very nice

    Due to time constraints testing will take some time

  6. #356
    8 Bit Dreams DjCook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Bavaria
    Age
    42
    Posts
    1,889
    Feedback
    189 (100%)

    Default 64MB RAM Upgrade


    Dear 68030TK users,
    will start an upgrade program to 64MB cards from february
    (as spoken previously in this thread)
    for the customers who bought 68030TK+4MB version from me

    unfortunately this card is still experimental and is not plug'n'play,
    this means that several things need to be done
    before You will be able to use this card without crashes

    Most important thing here is PSU -
    it need to be in good shape (recapped)
    heavy 2,5A version is too weak and doesn't work for me on any system

    Voltage (while system is on) measured on CPU socket should be not less than 4,8V

    CPU socket need to be clean and should make good connection to the board
    some systems need additional power & GND cables connected to the ram board(Some run without them)
    Also Your Amiga need to be recapped in some cases (most caps are dry 30 Years after production date)
    Also some boards need 3D Printed cover on the connector that acts like a shield (also piece of foil wrapped in a paper can do the trick)

    Unfortunately also TK itself needs some resitor to be changed and
    Firmware (Lattice cpld) need also to be updated
    this leads to the situation that Your 68030TK card need to be sent to me
    (to change 5 resistors to different value and Firmware update)
    If You are interested to take a part in this experiment - please let me know!
    with best Regards,

    -8 Bit Dreams


    Last edited by DjCook; 9th January 2020 at 20:40.
    8 Bit Dreams - computer & hardware repair in Germany

  7. #357
    bandan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Country
    Germany
    Region:
    Rheinland-Pfalz
    Posts
    7
    Feedback
    0

    Default

    Hi, I‘d be interested in the 64MB expansion. Aiming for a 2000 with an ATX PSU with matzes atx Adapter.

  8. #358
    rmzalbar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Country
    United States
    Region:
    CA
    Posts
    56
    Feedback
    7 (100%)

    Default

    Interested!
    I have Rev. 5 NTSC and Rev 6A PAL motherboards. I currently use the TK with the Rev. 5, which also has your 2MB Agnus upgrade. Both MBs are fully recapped. TK is working 100% stable on both.

    Original 5A PSU. I get almost 5.1V at the output side of the input coil, and 5V at the CPU pins. It has also been fully recapped last year.

    CPU sockets are tight, but I have spare 64-pin CPU sockets if I need them.

    I had to replace the CPU you originally shipped with the TK, as it never worked with the IDE, it crashed every time it tried to access the IDE, rarely would it boot all the way to WB. But it works perfect with all my spare ceramic 68030 CPUs, 33mhz to 50mhz (I have 3 CPUs all working at 50mhz.) I can ship a good CPU along with the original one back.
    Last edited by rmzalbar; 9th January 2020 at 21:31.

  9. #359
    voyager2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Country
    Nederland
    Region:
    Alkmaar - Noordholland
    Posts
    62
    Feedback
    9 (100%)

    Default

    I would also like to get the 64MB expansion. I wrote you a PM some months ago, that I can design and print the shields you need, but never got any reaction.
    If you still need them let me know.

  10. #360
    Vypr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Country
    Scotland
    Region:
    East Kilbride
    Posts
    33
    Feedback
    9 (100%)

    Default

    I'd be interested in updatig mine. I originally got it for my 2000 but found that the IDE did not like the A2091 SCSI card I was using at the time. I eventually replaced it with a Blizzard 2060. I am puttiging htis card in my A500++ which is waiting for a Checkmate case to arrive so power, caps and grounding shouldn't be a problem.

Page 36 of 40 FirstFirst ... 26323334353637383940 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale Matze gfx card a500
    By Flare in forum Amiga
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30th November 2018, 14:58
  2. Closed Amiga b5000 a500/1500/2000 accelerator 68030
    By Flynnsarcade in forum Sales Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th February 2016, 22:53
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th January 2016, 22:47
  4. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 9th August 2015, 20:03
  5. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 13th August 2013, 10:51

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •