PDA

View Full Version : I think I f*&$%ked up badly



jvdw007
5th October 2011, 19:26
Received my brand new Indivision ECS today. Got head over heels about getting it set up. I soon realised that the ACA630 was in the way, by a small amount. I then got the bright spark idea of filing away a bit of the edge of the ECS circuit board, right by the VGA connection, so I can make it fit.

Now, the problem is that I did not test it beforehand, ie removing the ACA630, to see if it worked, but let me put it this way, it's not displaying anything ECS-related to me. I still get my regular Denise display on the Co-Ax cable out to my telly, but nothing comes up on my LCD monitor. I have tried two different VGA cables, and two different LCD monitors.

I've added pictures to show what I did :oops: Sorry if they're not very clear..

Please tell me: Did I destroy it or if it can be fixed!! :Doh::Doh::Doh:

StrontiumDog
5th October 2011, 19:44
It looks like you've filed away one of the tracks leading to the black socket

If you can find out where the track originally went, perhaps you can solder a wire to make the connection

moijk
5th October 2011, 19:46
Out of couriosity, why would you want to go crazy on the indy ecs? Mine fits perfectly with the a603, adapter to allow diskdrive and aca630? and it fits even more perfectly if you got the a604 adapter.

fitzsteve
5th October 2011, 19:47
That looks pretty bad, you've filed away where the VGA connector goes through the PCB/Tracks. Maybe it can be fixed with jump wires?

Merlin
5th October 2011, 19:54
Ouch! :wooha:

Has anyone got an Indivision ECS that is not currently in use, that could maybe buzz out the socket connections, to the nearest component to each pin of the socket with a multimeter?

It's definitely jumper wire time and your warranty has gone right down the gurgler....

jvdbossc
5th October 2011, 19:59
Maybe just ask Jens ... He should be able to tell you how to jump wire.. the whole thing is ill fitting if you ask me... lovers and haters, I still cant believe how respected fellow members say this is fitting... I just cannot find out myself nothing is fitting properly if you ask me... but some positive voices are selling by now so...:o

I am not a real fan of this type of setup but mine works like this

this is my way:

not perfect but it works the a 604 is of course probably better, but after investing this money, it goes to a stop ...

http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/1293/jvb7515pz.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/443/jvb7515pz.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)


http://img510.imageshack.us/img510/7479/jvb7516.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/510/jvb7516.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)

---------- Post added at 18:59 ---------- Previous post was at 18:59 ----------


Ouch! :wooha:

Has anyone got an Indivision ECS that is not currently in use, that could maybe buzz out the socket connections, to the nearest component to each pin of the socket with a multimeter?

It's definitely jumper wire time and your warranty has gone right down the gurgler....


On top no circuit to be seen...

Merlin
5th October 2011, 20:03
It's a double -sided board, Jurgen; if I had one, I'd be buzzing the connections out myself...:(

alexh
5th October 2011, 20:04
Is it an optical illusion or in the first photo is the Indivision one pin too far to the right on the A603?

Looks lined up on photo 3.

jvdbossc
5th October 2011, 20:04
It's a double -sided board, Jurgen; if I had one, I'd be buzzing the connections out myself...:(


I cut tire ribs I have a sound problem with that one anyhows :roll:

fitzsteve
5th October 2011, 20:09
Mine fits 100% without issues, with Kippers adapter:

http://i294.photobucket.com/albums/mm105/fitzsteve/IMG_1953.jpg

Cheap and perfect solution :thumbsup:

http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=18733

Merlin
5th October 2011, 20:14
@ jvdw007

Some advice; don't touch it, put it down and walk away from it slowly... then have some patience, while we try to rescue you from a very expensive mistake.

Kawazu
5th October 2011, 20:21
Those pictures will haunt my dreams forever :wooha:

Merlin
5th October 2011, 20:36
This thread maybe needs a "Graphic Content" warning on it.....

/Merlin orders some Mind Bleach for kawazu...

jvdbossc
5th October 2011, 20:37
fitzsteve: I believe you mate, but I hate the idea of using a second party method, to solve something that should fit in first place, nothing personal my friend.:thumbsup:

I cannot get beeps in the surrounding area, I even have some track dammage, but it is still working...:bowdown:

Sorry for this :o:oops:

The tracks are so small I would not attemp to solder it.

Anyhow a picture maybe somebody has an idea this is my board and still working..

http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/8011/jvb7519.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/707/jvb7519.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)

Merlin
5th October 2011, 20:51
@ Jurgen

/Outhouse-Rat-O-Vision On.....:ninja:

If you look closely to the right of the resistor packs at the bottom of the board, there is a track that leads to a connection just below where the legend 'C10' is written, just to the right of C24. That links to pin 4 of that socket (looking right to left with the red as Pin 1) and the track from pin 4 goes right around the edge of the board.

I'm certain that he's filed through that track and it will need a jumper wire from that via to pin 4. There may be others, but I'll need to see the other side of the board...

Edit: Has anyone got some links to hi-res pictures of this board?

Kawazu
5th October 2011, 21:12
http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/4032/img0411mod.jpg

Merlin
5th October 2011, 21:16
I'm not 100% about this, but there does appear to be another track on the other side of the board that runs around the edge and (possibly) connects to a via marked V3.

Without some hi-res pictures I can't help much further, although I reckon that some 'ghetto modding' with some jumper wires may get this working again.

jvdw007
5th October 2011, 21:29
Haha excellent. I'm loving it all. Was it all worth it.. still, no :wooha:

Anyway, I got out my big 'un (erm) and took some high res photos to see if this helps.

PS. I only noticed the lines after the filing occurred and it wouldn't boot up..
And I'm sorry to say, but I tried for a good 10 mins before I decided to file it, as it simply did not fit with the ACA630 in place. The chip actually protrudes slightly out underneath the ACA's heatsink on top and it's this that stopped it from going in properly.
1. If I tried fitting the ECS after the A603 was plugged in, the ECS would not fit into the pin sockets due to ACA blockage.
2. Fitting the ECS to the A603 and then try squeezing it into the Amiga expansion slot amounted to the same deal.. no fit due to blockage.
This is why I resorted to filing..

However, I did not expect any lines to be right on the edge.. 'Spensive lesson learnt..

jvdbossc
5th October 2011, 21:37
I'm not 100% about this, but there does appear to be another track on the other side of the board that runs around the edge and (possibly) connects to a via marked V3.

Without some hi-res pictures I can't help much further, although I reckon that some 'ghetto modding' with some jumper wires may get this working again.


This is probably solvable, but I do not see how right now... The tracks you mentioned I scratched carefully. But not giving up my personal board, it is so fragile...:oops:

---------- Post added at 20:37 ---------- Previous post was at 20:35 ----------


Haha excellent. I'm loving it all. Was it all worth it.. still, no :wooha:

Anyway, I got out my big 'un (erm) and took some high res photos to see if this helps.

PS. I only noticed the lines after the filing occurred and it wouldn't boot up..
And I'm sorry to say, but I tried for a good 10 mins before I decided to file it, as it simply did not fit with the ACA630 in place. The chip actually protrudes slightly out underneath the ACA's heatsink on top and it's this that stopped it from going in properly.
1. If I tried fitting the ECS after the A603 was plugged in, the ECS would not fit into the pin sockets due to ACA blockage.
2. Fitting the ECS to the A603 and then try squeezing it into the Amiga expansion slot amounted to the same deal.. no fit due to blockage.
This is why I resorted to filing..

However, I did not expect any lines to be right on the edge.. 'Spensive lesson learnt..

I did see two lines before deciding not to cut it... Anywhow Jens should help you... He knows his customers... Ask friendly problably he solves this for you..

jvdw007
5th October 2011, 21:48
Thanks for all the help guys, and jvdbossc :thumbsup:

The tracks are insanely tiny and I'm not really good at soldering as it is..

Trust my enthusiasm and excitement to destroy my enjoyment ..

Anyway I'll email Jens and see what he says..

salaxi54
5th October 2011, 21:51
I think it really is solvable. First thing i'd do is this:

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/INDY1.jpg

But we still need to see a better picture from the other side of an "untouched" board, cause there probably are more tracks damaged...

Merlin
5th October 2011, 21:52
Got it! :thumbsup:

The second track runs around the edge and connects from pin 4 (reading left to right) to a via just above where it reads U13 on the board.

If some fine wire (e.g. Kynar) could be jumpered to these two vias from the socket pins, it won't look pretty, but it may just fire up again.

Anyone care to give a second opinion on my diagnosis?

Edit: @ Salaxi - thanks, that's exactly what I was thinking.....

bebek
5th October 2011, 21:55
If you need help I can wire it back, small job.

Merlin
5th October 2011, 21:57
If you need help I can wire it back, small job.

This is what I love about the community on here; everyone rallies around to help.

:thumbsup:

salaxi54
5th October 2011, 22:01
I wouldn't mind doing it as well. But i must stress that we need a very fine pic of the original, from the top side. Gotta spot what/if anything else is cut.
I'd do it for shipping charges only of course.. :thumbsup:

SpodSpod
5th October 2011, 22:14
Huge thumbs up to the collective awesomeness of Amibay, and massive huge massive thumbs up to my good friend JVDW for a cracking hatchet job :thumbsup::thumbsup:

jvdw007
5th October 2011, 23:00
Thanks for the support there old spuddy :lol:

And I agree, thanks a million to all those that have helped in figuring this all out.

Thanks to both Bebek and Salaxi54. You guys are super!
Bebek, seeing you live down the road from me, I thought if you would be so kind to accept my offer to wire it up for me... I'll send you a PM for more info as I simply don't trust myself to do the soldering :whistle:

---------- Post added at 23:00 ---------- Previous post was at 22:22 ----------

BTW, this thread seems to be getting an insane amount of views.

I think this calls for nomination of modder/idiot of the year or thread of the year :thumbsup2:

alexh
5th October 2011, 23:03
Got my vote :thumbsup:

AmiNeo
5th October 2011, 23:03
Not an idiot, you just didnt think. But bare in mind for the future, those tracks on circuit boards arent just there to make them look pretty :lol:

StrontiumDog
5th October 2011, 23:05
@ jvd

We already thought of that :D

So far, only one contender this year ... so we closed the poll early and awarded it to you - congrats! lol

http://www.amibay.com/showpost.php?p=219645&postcount=16

PymerOne
5th October 2011, 23:05
Goodluck everyone!!!
Nurse this baby back to health.

Grtz, PymerOne

jvdw007
5th October 2011, 23:19
@ jvd

We already thought of that :-D

So far, only one contender this year ... so we closed the poll early and awarded it to you - congrats! lol

http://www.amibay.com/showpost.php?p=219645&postcount=16

Thanks! I'd like to thank... (or complain about the lack of..)


Not an idiot, you just didnt think. But bare in mind for the future, those tracks on circuit boards arent just there to make them look pretty :laugh:

Pwetty lines... So pwetty.


Got my vote :thumbsup:

Thanks buddy! I'm on a winning streak!

jvdbossc
6th October 2011, 05:09
You can have as many as you want, I am not up for this job, but I can provide better pics in nikon raw if you like.. Nothing beats a decent camera:roll:

I do not have a decent macro lens, Amiga is costing me to much :lol:

http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/6161/jvb7526.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/101/jvb7526.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)


http://img64.imageshack.us/img64/4713/jvb7525.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/64/jvb7525.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)





I think it really is solvable. First thing i'd do is this:

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/INDY1.jpg

But we still need to see a better picture from the other side of an "untouched" board, cause there probably are more tracks damaged...

ChrisUnionNJ
6th October 2011, 06:15
Ya just can't let your rush to get it installed get the better or you have
to really visualize it before you do it I even have dreams on repairs
I am working on from computers to cars,it may take a month to get
it sometimes but worth the wait..:nuts:

:coffee:

protek
6th October 2011, 07:41
I even have dreams on repairs
I am working on from computers to cars

I call those sleepless nights. :lol:

Looking at jvdbossc's pictures the track on the component side seems to trail a long way along the card edge but can't tell for sure.

salaxi54
6th October 2011, 07:50
Thanks for the pics Jurgen!
This is what i suggest for the top side of the pcb:

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/INDY2.jpg

Hope all goes well!

Merlin
6th October 2011, 08:45
:thumbsup:

That's what my 'Outhouse-Rat-O-Vision' spotted in the earlier photos.

Thanks, jvdbossc and Salaxi54. :bowdown:

jvdw007
6th October 2011, 09:57
Yeah thanks a million guys..

I'm posting it off to Bebek today and hoping he can work some magic with it.

And next time I get new kit.. TAKE IT AWAY FROM ME FOR 24 HOURS :lol:

jvdw007
6th October 2011, 12:37
Bebek, sent you a PM there. Parcel posted out to you today.. Please work some magic :thumbsup:

ChrisUnionNJ
6th October 2011, 17:01
I don't think you have any worries it looks fixable with jumper wire's :thumbsup:

:coffee:

Merlin
6th October 2011, 18:41
@ Bebek

We want lots of "Ghetto fix" -style pictures of the repair, OK?

;)

bebek
7th October 2011, 14:26
I have recieved board, must say: well done :thumbsup: . Anyway, had a quick look. Visible damage: two tracks gone and shorts between layers on the edge - very rough cut. Will have some time during the weekend and update.

Merlin
7th October 2011, 14:39
/Merlin hands out the popcorn.... :popcorn:

chiark
7th October 2011, 16:05
I have recieved board, must say: well done :thumbsup: . Anyway, had a quick look. Visible damage: two tracks gone and shorts between layers on the edge - very rough cut. Will have some time during the weekend and update.
Ouch, those shorts sound like fun.

Fingers crossed that the short hasn't meant that a track elsewhere has burnt out, or component overdriven, otherwise that could be a real swine to find.

Shift over Dave, and share out the popcorn.

jvdw007
7th October 2011, 18:56
Thanks once again Bebek. Holding thumbs on this..

In the meantime, gimme some of that porcorn! :whistle:

bebek
7th October 2011, 22:10
:( it looks like Indi is not with as anymore ... I think these shorts between layers were fatal. I have connected both lines, cleared shorts on the edge and blank screen of death ... May she rest in peace ...

---------- Post added at 22:10 ---------- Previous post was at 21:55 ----------

:mad: Were all these people watching with popcorn ready ??? D...n it, a good audience nowadays is hard to find.

jvdw007
7th October 2011, 22:19
That is a bit of sad news. R.I.P. Indy.. You will be sorely missed... :sad:

On the plus side.. I anticipated this eventuality, and (without my wife knowing :lol:), I went and purchased an A604 and another Indy ECS last night.. Got it today and just put it in the A600 and my god, the A604 is WAY nicer (and smaller) and I didn't kill anything!!!

Thanks very much for your effort Bebek. The popcorn is now finished :unsure:

...

bebek
7th October 2011, 22:22
Fine, I can not keep it longer. It is repaired :D. Works like a charm.

Sorry I did not have blue wire ... . I have put some pcb lacquer so it should keep wire on the board. Is ready to send back on Monday (maybe tomorrow but can not promise, my boy is 2 tomorrow :lol:)

It was nice to see how it work as I do not have one.

salaxi54
7th October 2011, 22:25
Now there, someone's lying? I almost spat the popcorn while reading it was MIA! :lol: Anyway, i do hope all went well, and that owner didn't actually have to purchase a second unit.. Please enlighten us!

fitzsteve
7th October 2011, 22:26
Fine, I can not keep it longer. It is repaired :D. Works like a charm.

Sorry I did not have blue wire ... . I have put some pcb lacquer so it should keep wire on the board. Is ready to send back on Monday (maybe tomorrow but can not promise, my boy is 2 tomorrow :lol:)

It was nice to see how it work as I do not have one.

Awesome work Bebek :bowdown:

jvdw007
7th October 2011, 22:27
Oh you B*"$stard!!!!:lol::lol::lol:

That's excellent news! Now how do I explain THIS to the wife? :p
Hey, now I could do dual display... hmm, now there's a plan.. OR it can go into my Amicade.

Don't suppose one could leave feedback for repairs on Amibay? That would be quite a good idea IMO..

fitzsteve
7th October 2011, 22:36
I guess a mod could move the thread to the services section?

http://www.amibay.com/forumdisplay.php?f=147

Then feedback can be left for bebek :)

bebek
7th October 2011, 22:39
Too much effort, no need for that. Thanks guys.

johnim
7th October 2011, 22:44
great job bebek :thumbsup:

Merlin
7th October 2011, 23:08
Fine, I can not keep it longer. It is repaired :D. Works like a charm.

Sorry I did not have blue wire ... . I have put some pcb lacquer so it should keep wire on the board. Is ready to send back on Monday (maybe tomorrow but can not promise, my boy is 2 tomorrow :lol:)

It was nice to see how it work as I do not have one.

Wow, I was totally spot on with my diagnosis!! :blink:

*shocked*

Awesome stuff, Bebek!! :bowdown::bowdown::bowdown:

Edit: How about I move this to Photo Booth, maybe in the Legendary Threads part...??

Discuss.....

gazcbm
8th October 2011, 00:26
Edit: How about I move this to Photo Booth, maybe in the Legendary Threads part...??

Discuss.....

Why's it not already in the legendary threads? :) Great work guys!

jvdw007
8th October 2011, 00:53
As I may have previously mentioned..N00b blunder of the century IMO :stupid

moijk
8th October 2011, 09:59
This thread had some amazing plot twists!

jvdbossc
8th October 2011, 10:10
:grouphug: Looks like Bebek did a very nice job. Comunity effort of the year award :D

Merlin
8th October 2011, 11:10
This thread gets a well-deserved move to the Legendary Threads of the Photo Booth section.

bebek
8th October 2011, 11:32
Thanks a lot guys, I am trully honoured to be in first legendary thread. I know that jvdw007 is a star here but still :roll: . I am happy it works now.

Cosmos
8th October 2011, 11:47
you rock:thumbsup:


And now :pint:for everybody !!

Merlin
8th October 2011, 13:13
Thanks a lot guys, I am trully honoured to be in first legendary thread. I know that jvdw007 is a star here but still :roll: . I am happy it works now.

I think everybody in this thread helped, by just rooting for a good result for jvdw007 and by radiating pure awesome in your direction; with all of that awesome travelling through the ether, you simply couldn't fail.....:D

AmiBay... powered by pure Awesome since 2007.......:thumbsup:

ChrisUnionNJ
8th October 2011, 16:41
Fine, I can not keep it longer. It is repaired :D. Works like a charm.

Sorry I did not have blue wire ... . I have put some pcb lacquer so it should keep wire on the board. Is ready to send back on Monday (maybe tomorrow but can not promise, my boy is 2 tomorrow :lol:)

It was nice to see how it work as I do not have one.

Great Job there bebek!!!:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:


This thread gets a well-deserved move to the Legendary Threads of the Photo Booth section.

We should have a Legendary N00b Photo booth..:lol::lol::lol:

:coffee:

jvdw007
13th October 2011, 11:22
Hi again all..

Just wanted to give a huge thank you to Bebek for his work on the Indy ECS :bowdown:

It arrived on monday evening and I got to test it last night and it works perfectly. And since I bought another one in the interim (as I thought this one was a goner), I now have a spare A603/Indy ECS/A600 mobo for my Amicade project (Amiga in an arcade cabinet).

Rest assured I won't be hacking PCB's again anytime soon. :whistle:

chiark
13th October 2011, 12:13
Beer definitely owed!

And, for the love of all things retr0, hang up the file :D

I do like a happy ending

ravard
11th June 2012, 01:46
Ok, this was a great read. I am putting together my first 1200 project and this is definitely a lessons learned type of thread!