PDA

View Full Version : ATX to Amiga cables and ZIP RAM - is anyone interested?



AmigaManiac
14th August 2008, 14:44
Hi all,

I can make ATX to Amiga cables, so that you can power your Amiga 500/600/1200/A4000D/A3000D & CD32 from any standard ATX PSU. I have all the required parts in stock, I just need to assemble :D

You would just plug it into the 20 PIN ATX connector on the PSU, then the other end into your beloved Amiga 8)

Edit: Check out my post regarding ATX to Amiga adapter cables. All the info is there ;-)

I have been thinking about making a special cable to power an Amiga 500/600/1200 from a standard molex (HD & CD-ROM) connector that is free on an existing ATX PSU, that is being used by a PC. This is not just wires like my other cables above - it wouldn't work, as you need the -12V rail. If I get enough people interested in this, I will take the time and effort + spend the $ to bring this to reality[/b] :wink:

Edit: Check out my post regarding ZIP RAM if you need some ;-)

Nathan

tonyyeb
14th August 2008, 19:37
Can you make adapters for ATX to A3000D?

Zetr0
14th August 2008, 21:20
@ultrareliable

Heys there, can you confirm the size of the 20pin Zips you will eventually be offering?

will they be 256k / 512k or 1M ?

as we know 20pin zips are in 4bit so normally you would have to install them in pairs or more commonly quads :)

I am certainly interested in obtaining 2MB worth if they are 256k chips, (thats 8 chips total) :)

AmigaManiac
15th August 2008, 03:10
@zetr0

They are 0.5MB each, selling in lots of four (2MB). Are you after 256k ZIP or DIP packaged RAM IC's/chips? If you can give me a part number, I might be able to obtain them for you, or at least give you a quote ;-)

@tonyyeb

Yes I can make an ATX to Amiga 3000D very easily. I just don't have the MB connector for the 3000D in stock. I can however get some in, in about 7-10 days I am guessing - if you really want one :-) I will sell the ATX to A3000D for AUD$15, as there is a hell of a lot more work involved than the other ATX to Amiga cables (ATX - 500/600/1200/4000). And that price is for up to 2m of cable ;-)

Nathan

tonyyeb
15th August 2008, 08:21
Great stuff. I'm guessing the adapter will work with any ATX PSU? Just need to mod the power switch and move the jumper on the A3000D's motherboard to generate the tick signal? How much including postage to the UK?

AmigaManiac
15th August 2008, 16:07
@tonyyeb

Yes, it will work with any ATX PSU ;-)

I see that you have done your homework! All you have to do is put a jumper/move it on J350 (on your MB), joining pins 2 and 3. That is all you will have to do ;-) I'm not sure about the power switch, as I will hardwire PS-on to ground on the ATX connector, so you won't need a switch. It may be safer to disable it/not use it?

In regards to price, the cable will be AUD$15. Postage/shipping, I won't know until I have made the cable, packed it in its little box, and weighed it. It won't be much though ;-) It will probably be 1-2 weeks until it is made and ready to ship though - as I don't have the A3000 connector in stock (that's what will take time). Making it will only take 1-2 hours (I'm slow :oops:)

Shall I order the parts? :D

Nathan

P.S. You are more than welcome to PM or even e-mail me to keep in touch ;-)

tonyyeb
15th August 2008, 18:23
Hi Nathan

Yes please. I imagine it wont be that heavy? So postage shouldn't be too extravagant!

Let me know when you want payment. I assume paypal is ok (I will cover any fees)?

Thanks in advance

Chris

EDIT: I know of someone else on a forum who might be interested in another of these ATX-A3000D adapters. Do you want me to PM him?

AmigaManiac
15th August 2008, 18:57
@ tonyyeb

It won't be heavy at all :-) Also, I have never charged a "handling" fee, all postage charges are actual, inlcuding the cost of the mailing box that I must buy from Australia Post. They are quite rugged, plus I don't have time to make my own boxes - art & craft :P

I will only want payment when the cable is made, weighed and ready to post ;-) PayPal is the only payment I accept from international buyers. I pay all PayPal fees. They are quite small anyhow, so it's not an issue ;-) That certainly is very kind of you though :-D

I'll order the parts later today, as it's nearly 4am in the Great South Land, and I must retire to bed :shock: <- That's how I look :P

@ edit

That would be mighty nice of you ;-) I have to order the A3000D MB connectors in a minimum quantity of 5, so I will have four more to get rid of :-S

Cheers all,

Nathan

tonyyeb
15th August 2008, 19:35
No probs. PM's sent. Look forward to hearing from you.

All the best

Chris

AmigaManiac
16th August 2008, 09:22
@tonyyeb

I have ordered the parts. My supplier's website had all parts listed as in stock. If that is correct, I should have the parts on Monday afternoon :-D What cable length do you require (so I know how much wire to buy)? I'm gonna go with a black and red wire (insulation colour) colour scheme, as I have always thought that black and red look cool together :-D

Nathan

tonyyeb
16th August 2008, 10:19
I think 70cm will be more than enough... what do you think? Is it too much? Im planning on a tower upgrade in the future so don't want to sell myself short. The ATX PSU will come with quite a bit of length on the mobo connecter.

JLPedro
16th August 2008, 22:48
how much with shipping to portugal (1 adapter for the A600 / A1200)?

AmigaManiac
17th August 2008, 15:16
@tonyyeb

70cm is fine :-) I have no idea as to a good length, as I don't have a MB to check myself. I recommend that you do a little measuring with a tape measure, just for good measure :-P You can't have a power cable that's too long, but if it's too short... :oops:

@JLPedro

Thanks for your interest ;-) I'll make a cable tomorrow, pack then weigh it so I can give you a quote on shipping/postage via air mail to Portugal. The price for an ATX to Amiga 500/600/1200 cable is cheaper than an A3000D cable, as it is a much simpler job, and parts are cheaper :-) Price - AUD$12 for an ATX to Amiga 500/600/1200 cable.

Thanks again,

Nathan

P.S. The price for shipping the above cable via air mail to Portugal will be the same or very similar Worldwide ;-)

AmigaManiac
18th August 2008, 14:55
@JLPedro & anyone interested

I have prepared the required parts and weighed them in the box - just 137g or so :-) I will assemble them at your say so ;-)

Postage/shipping to Portugal & EU via regular air mail is AUD$11.75 (which includes the cost of the mailing box). To the US, it is a little cheaper @ AUD$10.25 (also inc. mailing box).

That quote for postage is actual, no handling fee or any nonsense like that ;-)

You have a PM coming your way JLPedro, with total and payment details if you decide to go ahead with your 2m long ATX to Amiga 500/600/1200 cable.

Thanking you kindly sir,

Nathan :mrgreen:

JLPedro
18th August 2008, 21:39
Payment send, awaiting for the package! :mrgreen:

AmigaManiac
19th August 2008, 17:13
EDIT

Regarding cable thickness & Amps: The four core, cable mentioned below (tidy, grey sheath, 4.5A per core) is not really suitable for a stock A500 - it is adequate, but only just, by a tiny margin. This is not a prudent way to design/use things. It is more than adequate for a stock A600 or A1200 though, with maybe something in the trapdoor etc. So, as this four core cable is cheaper, I will offer A600/1200 cables for AUD$11 each. If you insist on having 18AWG wire, thatís fine, but the price will still be AUD$12.

I realised my error today, and thought I had best clear things up. Working out what thickness of wire one needs for a given current, is so easy, no specialist knowledge is required.

Sorry if I scared anyone! :-P

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

@JLPedro

Righty dokey skip, I have made your cable for your little mod project :-)

My usual cable I use is a 4 core cable, that is well suited to stock Amiga 500/600/1200 (or with small add-ons, like accelerators, and HD's - basically what can fit in, or attached to a stock case). I bought a 100m roll of this cable, that is how I keep prices low. It is only 5mm in diameter, as the insulation is not mega thick like most cables. Even though it appears thin, from the outside each core is rated at 4.5A, more than enough for a stock Amiga.

For your application though, in a tower, I'm guessing that you are gonna have a kinds of hardware hanging off it, up down and all around, much like the people hanging off trains in India at peak hour (which is every hour really :-P) so...

I have used individual strands of standard (that is used in PC's) 18G wire, to make sure that you don't exceed the design limits of my other cable - for safety & functionality. I believe you will be drawing more current than most people. Also, I didn't make it 2m, as that is waaaay too long for your application. I made it 70cm long. Any cable I make for an A3000D or A4000 desktop will have the same specs, just more wires and a different end connector. With my cable, and your gutsy ATX PSU, you should be set ;-)

I have take great care to make the cable well, and will be posting it to you tomorrow ;-) If you look after it, and treat it with care, it, and I, will look after you.

I have taken some photos for you to look at while you are waiting for it to arrive. Read the captions for an explanation. It is 100% safe etc.

@ tonyyeb/Chris

I haven't forgotten about you champ, I'm still waiting for your special A3000 MB connectors. Oh, and thanks for your kind words of support on Amiga.org ;-)

tonyyeb
19th August 2008, 18:34
@ tonyyeb/Chris

I haven't forgotten about you champ, I'm still waiting for your special A3000 MB connectors. Oh, and thanks for your kind words of support on Amiga.org ;-)

No problem. I wasn't expecting a lightening turn around. You had explained well enough about the possible delay. Just give me a buzz when you want paying. I'm in no huge rush.

Cheers

Chris

JLPedro
19th August 2008, 23:00
Looks nice and professional :wink: , glad to be your first customer!

AmigaManiac
20th August 2008, 15:49
@ Chris a.k.a tonyyeb

I received the connectors for the A3000D MB. After I make your ATX adpater cable, I will have four left in stock, if anyone wants/needs one - if so, please let me know, they are not cheap! 70cm is a good length for your application I think. You don't want it too long in the case, getting in the way.

To reiterate on pricing:

Your ATX to Amiga 3000D adapter cable - AUD$15
Postage/shipping to UK via regualr air mail - AUD$11.75 (Inc. mailing box)

Just PayPal me when you are ready - I can send you a PayPal invoice if that is easier for you - just PM me your e-mail addy ;-)

I will be listing my ATX to Amiga adapter cables in the Amiga hardware for sale section, as I have a few A3000D (4 left) and A4000 (9 left) MB connectors in stock. As for A500/600/1200 5 pin sqaure DIN connectors, let's just say I have a lot of them :D

Nathan

AmigaManiac
20th August 2008, 16:37
@JLPedro

Thanks for your comments on my work ;-) Just to let everyone else know, I sent his cable today. And Mr. Pedro, be sure to leave feedback about my cable and your dealings with me etc :-D

You seem like a gentleman, deserving of my time and effort ;-)

Thanks again,

Nathan

tonyyeb
20th August 2008, 20:17
@Nathan

PM sent ;)

Cheers bud!

AmigaManiac
21st August 2008, 04:29
@Chris

Got your PM. You are a good man ;-) I will make the cable for you today, and once I have received the lucre, I will post it a.s.a.p.

I will send you a PayPal invoice now.

Many thanks,

Nathan

tonyyeb
21st August 2008, 08:44
Invoice paid ;)

AmigaManiac
21st August 2008, 10:26
@tonyyeb

Payment received. Thanks for that ;-)

I'll do my level best to find the time to make your cable tonight, so I can post it tomorrow. If not, I promise I'll post it on Monday - three whole days and nights is more than enough time to make one cable, even if it is a 15 strander ;-)

Thanks again,

Nathan

tonyyeb
21st August 2008, 11:51
No rush, bud. Whenever you have time.

Cheers

AmigaManiac
23rd August 2008, 08:41
@Chris (a.k.a. tonyyeb)

I finished your cable last night :-D I decided to use all black wire, and will do so on all future cables, using 18AWG wire. I have hardwired the PS-ON to GND with a red loop of wire, for easy identification. You may simply cut the loop, and fit a switch later if you want. Maybe you could use the case switch? You wouldn't need to solder, just strip, twist and tape for safety :-) I will post a photo of your cable here in a few hours. I will be sending it to you via air mail on Monday morning ;-)

@all

Unless someone wants a cable for a relatively stock A600 or A1200, in which case I will use the 4 core cable in grey sheath (unless they want me to use the 18AWG wire). This cable will be AUD$11

Nathan

tonyyeb
23rd August 2008, 09:08
Hi Nathan

Before you post mine could I add a ATX to A600 cable too?

Thanks

Chris

AmigaManiac
23rd August 2008, 11:19
@tonnyyeb

No problem :-) If it will only ever be used for an A600 or A1200, do you want the AUD$11 cable? Otherwise AUD$12 for a cable with 18AWG wire. Don't PayPal me yet, as I will have to make the cable, then weigh it with the other one. If it all still weighs 0-250g, postage will be the same. If it's over, postage will be an extra couple of dollars or something.

Let me know which wire you want me to use, and I'll get cracking ;-)

Here is the photo of your cable - the black beauty :-D 70cm long (as requested), and an ample 18AWG wire thikness.

tonyyeb
23rd August 2008, 11:52
Which ever is the best quality - ill pay the extra for better stuff. Thanks.

A3000 cable looks great! Thanks bud.

AmigaManiac
23rd August 2008, 12:07
@tonyyeb

Quality of both cables is fine, but the 18AWG is more versatile I suppose. Worth the extra $1 :-)

I'll get in touch in a couple of hours with the payment info etc ;-)

Thanks for your comment on my cable. I'm good at making stuff (art & craft:-P).

Nathan

AmigaManiac
24th August 2008, 04:38
@tonyyeb

I have received the PayPal payment for the extra cable and postage. Thanks for that ;-) I will be posting them to you via air mail on Monday morning, as promised :-)

I made the cable 2m long, as I'm guessing that's what you wanted. It has a red loop of 18AWG wire for the PS-ON to GND. Again, if you ever want to fit a switch, you can just cut the loop and connect it there. I added a cable-tie to the end, holding the loop to the grey sheath - this provides extra strength. There is a lovely photo of the actual cable below ;-)

In regards to to the current rating of the grey sheathed 4-core cable (@4.5A per core), I selected this cable as it was the cheapest I could find, that fits the power requirements of the A600 & A1200 perfectly, and only just the A500. Looking at the bottom of my old A500 brick PSU, it says that it puts out 4.3A on the +5v line, and 1A on the +12v line, and 0.1A (100mA) on the -12v line. So as you can see, it is ok for even the A500 - if only just. I actually tested this cable with my A500, with trapdoor RAM, and running a GVP Impact Series II SCSI HD controller (powered from the Amiga PCB/MB) which also had RAM and a HD installed. The cable remained cold to the touch, and all operations were normal. So if an A500 was stock, with just some trapdoor RAM or something, it should be fine. It would probably even be ok with an external floppy attached. So what I am saying is, even if this cable is not perfectly matched to an A500, it is not dangerous if one were to use it for that. But, just to be on the safe side, I will make any ATX to A500 (and A3000D/A4000D) cables with individual strands of black 18AWG wire ;-) For A600/A1200, this is overkill, even if you have an accelerator installed.

Nathan

tonyyeb
24th August 2008, 09:19
Great stuff. Btw. Either versions of the address should get here ok.

AmigaManiac
25th August 2008, 09:19
@tonyyeb

I have posted your two ATX to Amiga cables today ;-) Let me know that they arrive safely etc.

Thanks for your business mate,

Nathan

P.S. You can contact me any time if you have any issues whatsoever ;-)

JLPedro
27th August 2008, 10:05
Received the cable yesterday very well packaged and protected! Only hade time to test it today, cable is very good looking and works as expected, tried on both my A1200 and A600, perfect. A very nice deal in fact! Thanks Ultrareliable!
The amiga community really needs guys like you, and hope you enlarge you cable variety.

tonyyeb
2nd September 2008, 12:54
Cables arrived yesterday.

Thanks very much, great quality stuff!

Regards

Chris

gavilan
17th September 2008, 05:36
@ultrareliable: i would like to buy from you 2 cables for A1200, 1 for A600 & 1 for A500. Im located in Argentina

Can you tell me please how much would be total, including shipping?

Cheers and congrats for your work!!!

Sebastian

AmigaManiac
17th September 2008, 17:19
@gavilan

Ok, just to confirm, you want:

2x ATX to Amiga 1200 cables
1x ATX to Amiga 600
1x ATX to Amiga 500

Do you want the cheaper cable for Amiga 600 and 1200?

If you want all four cables made with the 18AWG wire (recommended), here is the total:

4x ATX to Amiga A500/600/1200 @AUD$15 each - AUD$60
Air mail to Argentina - AUD$19.60
Total = AUD$79.60

If you want the cheaper & thinner wire 4-core cable, I will have to make one so that I can weigh it, to calculate the cost of postage.

Thanks,

Nathan

gavilan
17th September 2008, 23:38
@Nathan: if things have to be done, lets done the right way! So i will go for the recommended cables...

Just send me an invoice on PayPal and i will gladly send you payment!!!

Cheers

Sebastian

stealth7o2
18th September 2008, 21:13
Sir, if you are still making these, I'd be interested in 2 ATX to A1200 cables..

AmigaManiac
19th September 2008, 09:42
@stealth7o2

I'll be making cables for quite some time my friend, as from memory I have at least 150 Amiga 5 PIN square DIN plugs :shock: Maybe more than that. It has been a while since I aquired this "stash" of super rare Amiga power plugs, so I would have to go and count them to get an exact number, which only I really need to know :-) I also have another 50 of them waiting for me when I could be bothered sealing the deal :-D

Anyhow, if you would like two (2) 1m 18AWG cables, that would be AUD$30 for both of them. If you want the cheaper AUD$12 cables, AUD$24.

Postage via air mail to the Netherlands is AUD$12.15 (which includes the cost of the mailing box). Postage will be the same regardless of what cables you want, as this is the price Australia Post sets for 0-250g :-S

If this sounds good to you, just PM me your e-mail address that you use for PayPal, and I'll send you an invoice ;-)

Thanks for you interest,

Nathan

Adonay
19th September 2008, 10:49
I would be interested in one of those ATX cables . Or maybe 2 .. what psu should i use "know any with good voltages" ? Also i would like the cable to handle more juice than a stock amiga, as my amiga 1200s are a little over original spec. Just think Bppc, Bvision ,hd + delfina soundcard.

AmigaManiac
20th September 2008, 02:51
@Adonay & all

Thanks for your interest :-) The 18AWG thickness cable is more than sufficient for your requirements. I doubt any Amiga 500/600/1200 would ever exceed the AMP rating of this wire, not matter how expanded. The wire I use is rated at 7.5A per wire.

Looking at your profile, I'm not sure if you're from Sweden or Norway :-S *lol* It doesn't matter for quotation purposes, as postage is the same: AUD$12.15 by regular air mail.

The cables I can make & their prices are all found on my other thread: http://amibay.com/viewtopic.php?f=76&t=854 But I'm sure you guys all know that, as Amiga users seem to be quite a clever bunch of people 8) There are photos there too.

If you are still interested, just PM me the e-mail you use for PayPal, and I'll send you an invoice ;-)

Thanks,

Nathan