Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: BPPC 603e repair

  1. #1
    680000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Country
    Nederland
    Region:
    Limburg
    Posts
    21
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default BPPC 603e repair

    Hi all,

    I recently aquired a defective bppc 603e from amibay. It is unknown to the previous owner what was wrong with the card, but clearly was worked on with a heatgun, as the xtal sockets and fan have burn marks.
    The PPC die was damaged too and some of the qfp pins are missing, but I believe they are not connected to anything. There was a short to 3.3 ground and 5V to ground. That pretty much sums up the state of the card.

    I worked on it. it now shows no signs of shorts. It still is missing the PPC, thats on its way.

    I was confident enough the put the BPPC in my a1200 (1d4 with timing fixes). All I am getting is a black screen. The miggy does respond to ctrl Amiga Amiga. Caps led responds too.
    I am using an A600PSU at the moment. Thas seems to hold up the voltage @ a steady 5V, the fan works too.
    CLPDS get hot, really hot after about 30 to 50 seconds after power on. The card was configured for a 060, but I reconfigured it to hold an 040@33mhz. Jumpers and xtal 66Mhz.

    I used the know keys, like a, s, 2, esc, mousebuttons etc.. but that doesn't make any change.

    1: can the a600 psu power the BPPC? Or should I use a beefy ATX psu?
    2: Is it possible that the ROM needs reflashing, or should the a1200 boot anyway?
    3: Should I wait untill PPC is mounted?
    4: I aquired some xtals, like these https://www.budgetronics.eu/nl/quart...12365-10000153. But there is no info on voltage or type.
    5: Will the BPPC start without RAM? And is it picky about this 60 or 70ns, voltage??

    Any help is appriciated!
    Last edited by 680000; 13th February 2021 at 11:07.

  2. #2
    680000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Country
    Nederland
    Region:
    Limburg
    Posts
    21
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default

    Ok, so. The arriving of the PPC CPU is majorly delayed unfortunatly.

    I found correct memory, I had to check many models, but I have 16MB EDO RAM in de BPPC now.
    As mentioned before, there is arround 4.95V on the FAN output and the LT1585. I have 5V oscillators installed and the 68040 installed as well. All CLPD's and the 040 get hot. The CLPD's stop at 69c and the 040 arround 55c.
    There are a few things to check:
    1: A1200 needs a recap
    2: BPPC ROM has been erased. I have no tools to fix that at the moment.
    3: BPPC card does not start without BPPC installed.

    Currently done testing I guess. Waiting for the PPC CPU to make the card whole again.

  3. #3
    highpuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Country
    Sweden
    Region:
    Västra Götaland
    Posts
    645
    Feedback
    122 (100%)

    Default

    I had to use a 4.5A PSU when I tried my BPPC card, else my Amiga would not start. And a re-cap of the A1200 will probably not solve the BPPC issues.

  4. #4
    680000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Country
    Nederland
    Region:
    Limburg
    Posts
    21
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by highpuff View Post
    I had to use a 4.5A PSU when I tried my BPPC card, else my Amiga would not start. And a re-cap of the A1200 will probably not solve the BPPC issues.
    I have a 4.5A PSU connected at the moment.

  5. #5
    Amibayer! timtheloon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Country
    United Kingdom, England
    Region:
    Hampshire
    Posts
    2,978
    Feedback
    168 (100%)

    Default

    With my BPPC I used my Golitah PSU due to the power needed, I found a regular A500 4.5A PSU was not enough especially if a B-vision was attached to the BPPC.

    I now only use my BPPC in my Towered A1200 because of the power required and the heat generated by the card.
    Got too many Amigas, Think I gotta problem


  6. #6
    680000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Country
    Nederland
    Region:
    Limburg
    Posts
    21
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default

    I know, I might need to find a better PSU. Even my ATX psu is not supplying an adequate 5V. I still think this is due to bad caps on the a1200 as well. Thats something I can fix. I still have to wait for the PPC CPU and if the flasrom is gone, I have to find help for that. Than I have done everything within my powers.

  7. #7
    680000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Country
    Nederland
    Region:
    Limburg
    Posts
    21
    Feedback
    2 (100%)

    Default

    I have the PPC CPU installed. That gets warm on boot. Still a black screen and 4.85V on the 5V rail. ROM defect maybe? To low in volts?

Similar Threads

  1. Sold BPPC 603e+, 240MHz PPC, Rev6 68060, Boxed!
    By chucky in forum Amiga
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd August 2017, 17:29
  2. For Sale BPPC 060@50 603e@210 SCSI 128Mb ram
    By zChris in forum Amiga
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 19th October 2015, 16:04
  3. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 13th February 2013, 21:35
  4. BPPC 603e+ & BVPPC questions
    By merlinkv in forum AmiOracle
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10th May 2012, 11:04
  5. Sold or SWAP BPPC 603e+/240 060/50
    By RetroAmi.com.pl in forum RetroAmi.com.pl
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 9th February 2012, 22:06

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •