A2K

Justin

Active member
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Posts
12,176
Country
United Kingdom
Region
UK
well for some unknown wierd reason i bought a faulty A2K,

i stripped it down reseated everything and.....nothing, so i opened the PSU, changed the blown fuse in there and hey presto!! working A2K

now all i have to do is work out what the hell to do with the bloody thing:)

any ideas?
 

davideo

I look like Gizmo
Staff member
Administrator
Staff Moderator
Treasurer
Blogger
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Posts
15,088
Country
UK
Region
Boston, Lincs
Yep - don't bust the bugger :D :D

Dave G :cool:
 

r0jaws

Mondeo Man
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Posts
7,237
Country
UK
Region
Lincolnshire
^^^^ What he said, 2000's are sneaky. ;)

There's always DOS emulation if you fancy it. Ummm, if you like enormous steel boxes, you're onto a winner. :D
There's quite a bit actually, are there any expansions it already or is it vanilla?
 

salaxi54

Incoming ASROC!
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Posts
3,864
Country
GREECE
Region
Athens
Well, for starters, you now have one of the really big-box Amies which means that you could utilize the case for any sort of computer platform modding! (this babe takes at least one full-size mobo and a smaller one with some work)
And you could also attempt to create magic using a jigsaw; be the first to fit an A2000 mobo in an A1200 case! :LOL:
Jokes aside, it is one of the models that have a wealth of expandability options...
 

fitzsteve

Retired Slacker
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Posts
19,999
Country
UK
Region
Sevenoaks
Get a nice Blizzard 2060 and Pimp it out :D

Ok maybe you have to mortgage your house but it'll be a damn fine A2000 (y)
 

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Posts
10,337
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
Upgrade it to the point you have a faster Amiga than your A1200. Then use it under the monitor as a raiser.

Put a KVM and use it as an archive server for all your Amigas!

Install Amix (requires a C= A2630) and wonder how Workbench is better.

Rip the innards and use the case for your PC (sacrilege!).

Install a Mac Mini inside and install MorphOS. People will be puzzled.

Locate a Blizzard 2060, steal one of the four PPC prototypes there exists in the world and runs OS4.1 on it. 1Mb of chip RAM out be enough.
 

Slayer

New member
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Posts
718
Country
New Zealand
Region
Dunedin
You have 1 brick of a growing stack. Mine is up to 10, or is it 11. Which is still higher and dwarfs my stack of 12 A4000s. LOL.

BIGGER is Better!
 

matt020

Finger lickin' good
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Dec 20, 2009
Posts
685
Country
Australia
Region
Western Australia
I have added to my A2000 all the good stuff I couldnt afford when I owned one as a teenager.

An 030, big hard drive, lots of memory, an optical drive, I love it...

such a beautiful big machine, like a classic car....
 

Attachments

  • a2kkk.jpg
    a2kkk.jpg
    6.9 KB · Views: 1

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Posts
10,337
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
^
|
Exactly like a classic car: lots of heavy iron surrounding the soul of it.:D
 

AndyLandy

Acceleration!
Treasurer
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Posts
9,898
Country
UK
Region
Southampton
I have added to my A2000 all the good stuff I couldnt afford when I owned one as a teenager.

An 030, big hard drive, lots of memory, an optical drive, I love it...

such a beautiful big machine, like a classic car....

I think the A2000 is more of a transit van than a car. Still a classic though! :)
 
Top Bottom