A4000 (and A3000?) scsi chips and Buster

Tomse

RISK is good
AmiBayer
Joined
Jan 30, 2010
Posts
854
Country
Denmark
Region
Copenhagen
I've seen alot of posts regarding Buster rev 7,8,9,11 etc, and something about some scsi chips replaced..

now, those 2 systems are unknown to me, but I'm about to aquire them..

I know the Buster 11 is probably the best since it's the latest revision (or are there perhaps one newer?) and as far as I know Buster handles the Zorro bus. so.. which revisions are the cut between Z2 and Z3 bus ?
i.e if the rev9 is a Z3 bus, would it be better to hunt for the Rev11 or are changes so small that it really doesn't matter ?

the other is the mention of the SCSI chips.
whats the benefit there ? faster scsi bus (20MB/s rather than 10MB/s ?) or.. ?

and are there other improvements that can be done, should be done ?

while we are at it.
are there any other improvements than replacing denise with super denise for the A2000 ?


Cheers
/Tomse
 

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Posts
10,337
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
Upgraded SCSI chips (version -08 ) only cures spurious lock-ups on the SCSI chain, specially when removable drives are used (like a CD-ROM or a ZIP-drive).
 

AndyLandy

Acceleration!
Treasurer
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Posts
9,898
Country
UK
Region
Southampton
First up, a Super Buster -07, -09 or -11 is no use to you in an A2000. They're only useful in an A3000 or A4000. If you want to do Z3 DMA, you need a -09 or -11. The -11 fixes a few bugs over the -09, and there may be some cards that need the -11 (The A4091 springs to mind) but I'm not sure how much of an issue it is.

For your A2000, there's not much to do other than upgrade Denise; although if you're using a SCSI card, you might want to check the WD SCSI chip on it.
 

amigafan

New member
Banned
Joined
May 31, 2009
Posts
96
Country
Poland
Region
Warsaw
About Buster the detailed information are here
http://www.amiga-hardware.com/showhardware.cgi?HARDID=1454
by Dave Haynie. I think that it answers all your questions.

The SCSI chip in A3000 and A4000T are different.
In A3000 you have WD33C93A (5MB/s). IIRC SCSI-1. The newest revision "08" do not have bugs that are present in the default version used in A3000 "-04" but it isn't faster.

In A4000T there is NCR 53C710 which is faster (10MB/s). This is SCSI-2 called also Fast SCSI.
 

LTAC

New member
AmiBayer
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Posts
2,527
Country
FRANCE
Region
South of PARIS
Upgraded SCSI chips (version -08 ) only cures spurious lock-ups on the SCSI chain, specially when removable drives are used (like a CD-ROM or a ZIP-drive).

I found that the transfer of data between two HDD is more reliable with AM33C93A. With original scsi chip, some transfer failed or stopped. Test with 2 SCSI units (HDD/HDD or HDD/CDROM) in the internal A3000 scsi chain.
 
Last edited:

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Posts
10,337
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
Yes, I know the latest AMD is a full replacement for the original A2901/A3000's built-in controller by Western Digital.

Even the WD33C93 PROTO08 (don't mind the "proto", it is a full chip) is an excelent choice than the buggy 02/04 versions.:banghead:
 
Top Bottom