A600 Annoying disk drive issue

dougal

Active member
AmiBayer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Posts
2,352
Country
Malta
I've had this nagging issue with the disk drive on my A600 ever since I can remember.

Here goes:

Drive secured to the casing with the two screws on the rear right of the A600 and when a disk is inserted all I get is Click... Click and then the HDD loads up. :(

Drive WITHOUT the screws securing it to the casing and it works fine. :huh:

In both cases the drive will be secured using the single larger screw that secures it to the motherboard.

Fixed: Beware of the TABS of the upper shield! - When I had removed the upper shield years ago I did not bother putting the tabs back down. Seems the one under the disk drive was causing the problem. :Doh:
 
Last edited:

Arnie

New member
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Posts
544
Country
UK
Region
Leicester
Sounds like something is not aligned properly. The drive/casing could be out of shape. Have you another floppy drive to test with?
 

dougal

Active member
AmiBayer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Posts
2,352
Country
Malta
Only A500 drives so nope. I'm not gonna remove the one from my A1200.

I'll take another look at the drive over the weekend.

Sounds like something is not aligned properly. The drive/casing could be out of shape. Have you another floppy drive to test with?
 

roy_bates

resistance is futile!
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Posts
8,387
Country
england
Region
birmingham
is there a mechanical part that gets snagged on the case or anywhere else when the screws are tightened?

some of these drives have an open end you can see the flywheel...maybe something mechanical gets jams when the screws are in?
 

BLTCON0

Math inside
AmiBayer
Joined
May 7, 2011
Posts
2,221
Country
Hellas (Greece)
Region
Chania, Crete
some of these drives have an open end you can see the flywheel...

Chinon FZ-354 and TEAC FD-235F drives were supplied with an extra metal base for this, the Panasonic JU-253 didn't require one IIRC. Not sure about other brands being used on the A600/A1200 (Mitsumi/Epson maybe?).
 

ChrisUnionNJ

We Will Never Forget..
Joined
Jun 28, 2010
Posts
3,749
Country
USA
Region
Union,NJ
That sounds like something is getting tweaked
a bit try just backing off on one screw at a time
till it works right..
 
Last edited:

dougal

Active member
AmiBayer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Posts
2,352
Country
Malta
Here are a couple of pics of the drive

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/06/05/86d30615bdf1221b60b450efd9c279d6.jpg[/IMG
[IMG]http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/06/05/e7181e1dd72b2915a34a226619c25dab.jpg
 

dougal

Active member
AmiBayer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Posts
2,352
Country
Malta
29d056234971be746ceb2e8fd72b17ed.jpg
 

dougal

Active member
AmiBayer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Posts
2,352
Country
Malta
22b55f02f6ba4ece082c32b081882e17.jpg


- - - Updated - - -

Sorted.... You wouldn't believe what it was.

It was the TAB for the upper shield of the motherboard. I had removed the shield ages ago and i left the TAB up which was pressing against the drive.

Pushed it down and it works perfectly with all the screws in place and all.
 

roy_bates

resistance is futile!
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Posts
8,387
Country
england
Region
birmingham
awesome,great stuff

knew it had to be something mechanical.

- - - Updated - - -

some of these drives have an open end you can see the flywheel...

Chinon FZ-354 and TEAC FD-235F drives were supplied with an extra metal base for this, the Panasonic JU-253 didn't require one IIRC. Not sure about other brands being used on the A600/A1200 (Mitsumi/Epson maybe?).

i cant remember the drive make exactly either, but i have seen some that has the thin plate cover missing on the under side of the drive sometimes.
 
Last edited:
Top Bottom