A600 Project

spatuluk

Country
United Kingdom
Region
Leeds
Hi all!

I thought I'd create a thread about my newly acquired A600. Why? Coz I'm a noob, and I thought I'd give a noob-eye view of trying to modernize an Amiga after having forgotten almost everything about Amigas, and not being very aware of new developments or techniques.

So, chances of this ending in disaster are quite high! :roll:

First off, here is the A600 that is involved:

15606177404_f1968d6fc2_o.jpg

In daylight, it doesn't look too yellowed! It powers up, and I get the Kickstart 2.05 insert disk animation, but I can't tell if the keyboard works because...

16227780742_1f0a38ef37_o.jpg

...there's no floppy drive! :p I knew there was no floppy drive when I bought it, altho I kind've hoped there'd be case clips and motherboard screws. hmph!

So, onto the plan:
  • Find some screws for the motherboard
  • Fit a Gotek floppy emulator
  • Fit an A604N chip memory expansion
  • Upgrade the Kickstart ROM to 3.1 (it's currently a 37.300)
  • Fit a CF - IDE hard drive thingy
  • Apply some retr0bright to the case and keys, followed by armorall
  • Replace the case clips with something. Velcro? Hinges?
  • Buy either fast memory, a Vampire, a Furia, or an Indivision.

It's a fairly simple plan, really!

The screws were easy to find, and the A604N, 3.1 ROM, and CF-IDE adaptor are all in the mail. I need to find time to get to a branch of Sallys to get some peroxide for the retr0bright. I live near one, but their opening hours are the same as my working hours. :(

The Gotek floppy emulator

The Gotek was the first decision I made, so I ordered it ages ago, along with a cable for flashing the Cortex firmware. The author reckoned it was a simple process to flash the Cortex firmware! He was wrong.