Advice on Installing OS 3.9 on an A4000 desktop

jackson312

Country
Sunnyvale CA, USA
Region
California
I am new to the Amiga platform. Instead of walking into the woods without a flashlight, I though I’d post here to see if anyone has some thing I should look out for, or advice.

I have an A4000 (desktop) I bought from someone in Canada (not via EBay). Right now there is a generic OS 3.1 install on a 4 Gig IDE. Drive. I’ve had problems getting stuff like Deneb USB to install and work since there seems to be lots of libraries missing, not to mention the “Installer” which I managed to copy off the ASIM CDFS floppy, but Deneb still complains about it being a older version and old Poseidon will install, the other tools won’t. The XSurf network card won’t install either, so I have no way of getting other software on my machine.

So rather than struggle with OS3.1, I decided to give 3.9 a try.

I have a 3.9 CDROM I bought from Jon Hare and I would like to do a fresh install of it onto the machine.

The machine has 128 Megs of RAM on a Warp Engine 040 and 16 Megs via RAM on the motherboard. The machine has 3.1 ROMs.

I also have an A2091 with 7.0 Roms and the 08 Western Digital Chip on it. I am using that just for an external CDROM. Trying put fit an internal CDROM was a tight fit, so I decided against it. A SCSI one was impossible.

I would like to replace the IDE drive with a SCSI and use the SCSI controller on the Warp Engine for that. I have tons of SCSI disk around since I have a lot of SGI workstations and accessories.

I was planning on using a 32Gig Seagate SCSI drive as the main boot drive. I have an 80 to 50 pin converter. I will jumper the drive to 0 (actually no jumpers).

I’ve heard that I should create a boot partition no larger than 4 gigs (from the beginning of the drive), it is true?

What is the max partition size of OS 3.9? I would want to create a second partition for the rest of the drive.

Any advice is welcome.

Thanks,

Jackson

User1301