Amiga 1200 with 8GB CF Whdload - need memory/accelleration card

Deano59

Country
Ireland
Region
Galway
Hi guys - I am an Amiga noob - I recently became the proud owner of a Commodore badged 1200 with 3.0 rom. I only intend to use it for playing games. I bought the 8gbCF drive seperately - it contains AGA, CD32 and ADF files. I think that because it is an 8GB CF drive it will require more memory - I haven't installed it yet as I am waiting for a scart connection to arrive.

A few people on facebook recommended a blizzard but they are anywhere from 260 euro to 460 euro - too expensive at the moment so I need a cheaper alternative to run all these games but I don't want to have to adjust timings - as I don't have a clue what that involves.

Basically I need a cheap solution that will let me play all the AGA, CD32 and ADF files from my CF drive.

Any help greatly appreciated.

CrazyC

Damn these amiga bills keep adding up
AmiBayer
Blogger
Country
UK
Region
Kent
https://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?16681-A1200-accelerator-cards-A-buyer-s-guide is a good place to start.

We cant really discuss prices on here as it would be price driving and a mod would slap me, but keep in mind that the prices you are seeing are currently higher than historically. Prices are set by availability and what people are willing to pay, so go up and down. I think maybe you are also talking about a range of blizzard cards there (although there are always one or two prices on ebay that can simply be ignored as ridiculous). There will be a big price differential between a blizzard 1230 and a 1260. You will NOT need a 1260 for what you are talking about.

I think you are looking for a ram card or a 1220 variant - just check as you may need timing fixes for ACA cards. But have a read of Andy's thread on this stuff.