Amiga RGB to SCART cable

Templar

In Finem Vobis Videtur De Christiana
VIP
Joined
Aug 1, 2008
Posts
9,699
Country
Hellas
Region
Cydonia
I've seen a lot of those hanging around for a couple of years now, but I want to hear your experiences first. Is it any good? Do you have the same quality in picture/colors/animation as like the 1084S monitor?

Is it worth to try it?
 

AndyLandy

Acceleration!
Treasurer
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Posts
9,898
Country
UK
Region
Southampton
Depends on your TV set, but since it's the same RGB signal as you feed into a monitor, the quality should be about the same.
 

xc8

A>_
AmiBayer
Joined
May 9, 2009
Posts
482
Country
UK
Region
Birmingham
The amiga input of the 1084S is just an analog RBG input.
I am using SCART with the CM8833 and used at the past with it at some 14inch TV sets (Sony and Philips), the result was the same (all of them were CRT).


Chris
 

Templar

In Finem Vobis Videtur De Christiana
VIP
Joined
Aug 1, 2008
Posts
9,699
Country
Hellas
Region
Cydonia
And what about the games? I've heard that there are problems because of the scanlines?

And what resolutions can you get? The same as the 1084S monitor?
 

xc8

A>_
AmiBayer
Joined
May 9, 2009
Posts
482
Country
UK
Region
Birmingham
And what about the games? I've heard that there are problems because of the scanlines?

And what resolutions can you get? The same as the 1084S monitor?

Same resolutions of course, on the 14' TV sets/cm8833, as I used/use 14' CRTs..

Where do you want to connect your Amiga? on TFT/LCD monitor(TV) ? I ve heard that some LCD's drop some frames so ... you understand.


Chris
 

Templar

In Finem Vobis Videtur De Christiana
VIP
Joined
Aug 1, 2008
Posts
9,699
Country
Hellas
Region
Cydonia
I was hoping to connect my A1200 via an LCD TV monitor, waiting for the new production run of Indivision AGA to appear.
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
@ Phantom

The 1084S will show Video signal if you hook up a VHS Video to it. All it is is a small TV without the Tuner.

If you have any Display Device with SCART, it will give you true a RGB display. The quality of the display depends on the Quality of the Display Device you are using.

TC is the man to ask about this really. ;)

Kin
 

xc8

A>_
AmiBayer
Joined
May 9, 2009
Posts
482
Country
UK
Region
Birmingham
@Phantom,

You don't need to buy an Amiga->Scart cable, you can build it by yourself (if you know basic soldering), as the 23pin connector is a bit rare, you can buy the just the Scart and one female 9pin. Just to connect it with the current video cable.

Chris
 

Templar

In Finem Vobis Videtur De Christiana
VIP
Joined
Aug 1, 2008
Posts
9,699
Country
Hellas
Region
Cydonia
I have "midnight" at soldering.:roll:
 

xc8

A>_
AmiBayer
Joined
May 9, 2009
Posts
482
Country
UK
Region
Birmingham
Don't except better (higher) resolutions using a scart.
Also, note, you 'll need a TFT/LCD monitor for the Indivision AGA not a TFT/LCD TV set.

Chris
 

Templar

In Finem Vobis Videtur De Christiana
VIP
Joined
Aug 1, 2008
Posts
9,699
Country
Hellas
Region
Cydonia
Yes, I'm aware of that. I had an Indivision but I sold it. Don't ask me why. (n)
 

Jaymz

Member
AmiBayer
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Posts
207
Country
UK
Region
Bucks
Don't except better (higher) resolutions using a scart.
Also, note, you 'll need a TFT/LCD monitor for the Indivision AGA not a TFT/LCD TV set.

Chris


What if the lcd tv has a vga in?
 

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Posts
10,337
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
Some LCD TV sets accepts the RGB 15kHz signal through the VGA port, which make them (almost) perfect multisync monitors.

All you need is the silver adaptor or equivalent.

Examples of the devices:
attachment.php
adamon001.jpg
 

Tomse

RISK is good
AmiBayer
Joined
Jan 30, 2010
Posts
854
Country
Denmark
Region
Copenhagen
to do a little brush-up on this post.

I recently bought a amiga-rgb to scart cable (with the new specs, meaning there are a few resistors on different connectors, to tell the tv how the signal is 4:3 instead of 16:9 etc)

But using this cable gives 2 different, but both bad, images on my TV.
One is gray, and the other is out of sync.

Have any of you had the same kind of problems on new TV's ?

and yes, too am still waiting for the next shipment of the indivision aga :-/
 
Top Bottom